BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Life of Elizabeth I

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Easy to Read Author

If you like to read history but have trouble finding readable authors, look no further. Alison Weir is one of the most engaging writers of the Tudor period in England that I have ever had the pleasure of coming across. This fascinating, in-depth, and easy to follow port...
If you like to read history but have trouble finding readable authors, look no further. Alison Weir is one of the most engaging writers of the Tudor period in England that I have ever had the pleasure of coming across. This fascinating, in-depth, and easy to follow portrayal of one of the most complex and daring queens in English history is a must read. I recommend it not only to history buffs but also to any female who feels inspired by strong women ahead of their time.

posted by swift__cat on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wa not a very good account of Queen Elizabets statesmanship.

For 500 page you see Elizabeth has chacing men and getting hysterical. Weir believed the sources that saw her as nothing but a female.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Easy to Read Author

    If you like to read history but have trouble finding readable authors, look no further. Alison Weir is one of the most engaging writers of the Tudor period in England that I have ever had the pleasure of coming across. This fascinating, in-depth, and easy to follow portrayal of one of the most complex and daring queens in English history is a must read. I recommend it not only to history buffs but also to any female who feels inspired by strong women ahead of their time.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The best bio on Elizabeth I

    This is by far the best and most detailed biography on Queen Elizabeth I. Alison Weir has obviously done a tremendous amount of research and writes in a way that completely engrosses the reader, making them feel as though they are actually there. Elizabeth I is one of the most well known monarchs, but few really know that much about her. She had a very unique life from the start, born a princess and heir to the English throne before being practically disowned after her mother was executed by her father, she was then reinstated into the line of succession thanks to one of her many step mothers, only to fear for her life again when her sister "Bloody" Mary became queen. Elizabeth I was an interesting, intelligent, independent woman who was full of contradictions. Most of the people around her tried to take advantage of her but she was usually savvy enough to realize this. This is not a light read, but with the amount of information, and Weir's writing style, the reader is left wanting more. Alison Weir is arguably the "go to" person for Tudor history, and she does not disappoint with "The Life of Elizabeth I."

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An extraordinary person

    I actually love the book but...it could have been so much better, I did not like the vast number of colloquialisms in the writing style and did not like especially the laundry list reporting of character and personality traits, nor thos describing physical appearence. Far too much needless and meaningful detail. I doubt seriously that the good queen or anyone else went without bathing every three or days which is still common in a number or rural areas across Europe and Britain. Most of the rural, impoverished types have still taken great pride in being and presenting themselves reasonably clean. I also did not particularly like the way Mary, Queen of Scots, was portrayed and the author has apparently never talked to one that has been captured by an opposing armed force and imprisoned. It is a warrior's code that he will make every effort to escape and aid others to escape. Why should someone just accept imprisonnment and any kind of treatment. The fact is that she came as a supplicant, was imprisoned for 18 years, and legally murdered. What really gets me is how men of honor could be so foul and cicious in planning her elimination. She had become an intolerable political burden that had to be disposed of and they did. Queen Elizabeth did prove one thing: she had learned her lessons well in growing up and she knew, that as a female, she always must hold out the possibility of marriage and a heir but she also knew that if the happened, her life as Queen was over. They would have deposed her in favor of the heir and a male regency. She Knew that and she played the game masterfully until it no longer mattered. One thing that should be remembered. Mary's claim to the right of succession was correct and had been validated by Henry VIII when he saw the possibility of unifying England under Her and Edward. Does anyone believe that Henry was so stupid he did not understand just where she stood in succession rights? People say that the Salic Law did not apply and the is strictly true in the inheritance of land but is it true in Consecrated and annointed coronations where the new King has to be crowned and annointed by the priest or Bishop ? If it did not matter, why the importance and stress on Dynastic marriages in the first place. Last point, your character and reputation never belong to you. It belongs to those people in the community who will define you as they have others heard you are. It may or may not be true and you do have a chance to rebut it but you can do everything possible in a lawful and legal way and stil be defined by your neighbor as a lunatic. Just a thought I do love the book and have already read it three times. Perhaps the next edition will be cleaner. One lst points: the author used the word prevarication (lie) on many occasions when I thought she might have meant procrastinate. She certainly did that she she vacillated many time over whether to do or not do a certain thing or just play it out until is was forgotten. It is a good book and you will feel that you got your money's worth.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    The Virgin Queen

    After watching the films Elizabeth and Shakespeare in Love, I was hooked on the life and times of The Virgin Queen. Thus, I ran to the book store to find anything I could read to learn more about this fascinating woman. This book illustrates the her ups and downs and triumphs as Queen, and what she went through trying to maintain her religon. I especially liked the family trees given to trace her lineage. Allison Weir's description of Elizabeth's Coronation made me feel as if I were lined on the streets watching it for myself. And, how she describes what Elizabeth went through, as a devout Protestant, at the hands of the Catholic Preists made me shiver. It was brilliantly written, so much so, I read it twice! Excellent!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Wa not a very good account of Queen Elizabets statesmanship.

    For 500 page you see Elizabeth has chacing men and getting hysterical. Weir believed the sources that saw her as nothing but a female.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    It Hath Great Detail

    I'd been meaning to read this book for years, and finally got to it this month. It is an exhaustive - and at times exhausting - biography jam-packed with minute details about the personalities and relationships of Elizabethan court life. So, be forewarned - this is not really a history of the Elizabethan Era or the English Renaissance. A little less of who said what to whom on what day, and more of the broader picture, would have been welcome.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Even Elizabeth Would Have Been Confused

    I made the mistake of reading historical accounts by Antonio Fraser before reading Weir. Ms. Weir simply jumps around too much and even contradicts the accounts of events. In addition, as a researcher I like Fraser's citations within the text. Weir does not do this.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Reads like a novel

    and I learned so much about the fascinating life of this strong woman! It is easy for a book that covers so much material to verge on the deathly boring, but this is not the case here. Weir does a remarkable job in portraying Elizabeth's inner turmoil and outer pleasures by re-creating her court and lifestyle. An excellent read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Must have

    Like all of her historical books, Allison Weir excels in the historical biographies. This should be on every historians shelf.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    I learned a lot

    about Elizabeth and history of her suitors, I initially did not know this will be a biography and when I realized it I was a little upset because I don't really like to read biography especially 600 pages of it, however book turned out to be pretty interesting even though I still believe it could of been like 100-150 pages shorter because through out the book some of the stuff becoming repetitive.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love Alison Weir

    This is the 4th book I've read by Weir and like the others its great! It has so much information about Elizabeth. I feel I got alot of insight to the person that she was. I didn't know much about Elizabeth before I picked up this book. I never knew she was so vain and attention hungry. I hate what she did to Mary Queen of Scotts. I read this book after reading about Mary and I'm still on Marys side! Elizabeth to me had no regard for anyone but herself. Then again if I was queen....maybe I would to. I would recommend this book for a great bio read. Ms Weir can write so that you don't want to put the book down no matter what!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Wow

    I like how it is listed in the "2.99" and under but its 9.99. Makes sense...>.<

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Boring

    If you want every detail and no story then you might enjoy. I couldnt finish it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Fluff

    I have been a student of Elizabethan History much of my life. This author ignores everything that Elizzabeth did and was concentrating only on the marriage issue. Even fictional accounts that I have read have been more comprehensive

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Weir: England's Biographer

    Weir is one of the best writers of English history of this generation. Her heavy reaserch and flowing prose weave history of one of the world's greatest nations, and its personalities, into readable enjoyment. If you haven't, give her a try! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    Geez...Get Married Already!

    I was absorbed in this book. I like Tudor history. It's very descriptive...some times too much. It seems these people were so obsessed with her becoming a wife. Now I know why she and I never got married! It's exhausting at times. But, it is a good book. Not an easy read but great history. Now onto my Stephenie Meyer vampire books....

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

     I AM MUKARRAMA ZAHID MALIK..FROM SAUDI ARABIA , 11 YEARS OLD. I

     I AM MUKARRAMA ZAHID MALIK..FROM SAUDI ARABIA , 11 YEARS OLD.
    ITS A VERY LESS INFORMATION 
    PEOPLE, LIKE ME CAN BE IN A SITUATION IN WHICH THEY WOULD NEED 1 QUESTION OR POINT!!!!!!
    .......................................................................THANK YOU N I  THINK U UNDERSTAND MY POINT..................................................................................

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Love!

    I could read this book over and over! I am a huge Alison Weir fan and she definitely doesn't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Decent read

    This book was interesting, but a little hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Reads like a text book.

    Not what I expected. No story or plot. I tired of it after a while and gave up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3