Customer Reviews for

The Lifeboat

Average Rating 3.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A gripping tale of survival

An explosion on a luxury liner sends passengers scrambling for lifeboats. Grace and several other passengers overcrowd a lifeboat where they remain adrift for many days. Treacherous ocean storms, death, hunger, and thirst plague them, forcing life and death decisions an...
An explosion on a luxury liner sends passengers scrambling for lifeboats. Grace and several other passengers overcrowd a lifeboat where they remain adrift for many days. Treacherous ocean storms, death, hunger, and thirst plague them, forcing life and death decisions and sacrifices. And after all the bittersweet, life and death situations ended, Grace ultimately finds herself on trial for her life, sending the reader swirling into conflict once more.

With highly detailed, fast paced writing, the author literally made me feel as if I was on that boat. I suffered through the poignant moments, the desperation, and the unfailing determination to survive by the heroine. The Lifeboat had scenes that were so poignant, so tragic, it gripped me from start to finish. This is a story that will make you feel as anguished as the passengers. An unusual, fascinating novel of historical fiction. Absolutely enjoyable!

posted by Mirella on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Sending out an SOS

The book starts in a lifeboat, we know nothing about the passengers or how they came to sail on the ill fated ship we come to know as the Empress Alexandria. I found the writing offered lots of trivial details but failed to reveil their relevance to the predicament, th...
The book starts in a lifeboat, we know nothing about the passengers or how they came to sail on the ill fated ship we come to know as the Empress Alexandria. I found the writing offered lots of trivial details but failed to reveil their relevance to the predicament, the survival, or the rescue of those on the lifeboat. I finished the book feeling disapointed about buying this book and the time I lost reading it.








posted by 10256564 on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It

    loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It did not disappoint!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A gripping tale of survival

    An explosion on a luxury liner sends passengers scrambling for lifeboats. Grace and several other passengers overcrowd a lifeboat where they remain adrift for many days. Treacherous ocean storms, death, hunger, and thirst plague them, forcing life and death decisions and sacrifices. And after all the bittersweet, life and death situations ended, Grace ultimately finds herself on trial for her life, sending the reader swirling into conflict once more.

    With highly detailed, fast paced writing, the author literally made me feel as if I was on that boat. I suffered through the poignant moments, the desperation, and the unfailing determination to survive by the heroine. The Lifeboat had scenes that were so poignant, so tragic, it gripped me from start to finish. This is a story that will make you feel as anguished as the passengers. An unusual, fascinating novel of historical fiction. Absolutely enjoyable!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Author Charlotte Rogan wisely starts her story in the middle of

    Author Charlotte Rogan wisely starts her story in the middle of the action. Readers meet Grace Winter, twenty two, a bride of ten weeks, and a widow for almost 6 weeks. Grace is being escorted from the courtroom, where she is on trial for murder. As her attorneys lead her to a nearby restaurant for lunch, a rain storm opens up and Grace greedily stands in the downpour, allowing her mouth to open and swallow up the drenching rain, much to the embarrassment of her lawyers. This prologue tells us so much, and yet so little. What Rogan as brilliantly done is make us want to know more.

    Whew! Let me start by saying that I read this in two sittings. Over two days. I was so hooked on Grace Winter that my "real world" was put on "pause" so I could read this brilliant first novel! I won't give anything away that the publisher doesn't reveal in the synopsis or prologue.

    We know that Grace and others do survive the explosion and subsequent sinking of the luxury liner, the Empress Alexandra, taking place two years after the loss of the Titanic. We know some in her lifeboat do not survive. What we will find out - is who and why some do not survive.

    As we meet the passengers in the over crowded lifeboat, we see the struggle for life over death. And of death to bring life.

    Break out author Charlotte Rogan has crafted a story so simple, but with so many layers that you are hypnotized by its telling.

    Not a miss step that I could find in this story, and I will add that I think it's interesting that we know a lot more about the women passengers than we do about the men. Rogan gives us what we need as far as character development. Not too much, just enough to care and to keep us turning the pages.

    A HUGE 5 out of 5 stars!!

    This e-galley was provided to me by the publisher through NetGalley and that in no way affected my honest review.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful book with great characters and an amazing story. loved

    Wonderful book with great characters and an amazing story. loved it!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Sending out an SOS

    The book starts in a lifeboat, we know nothing about the passengers or how they came to sail on the ill fated ship we come to know as the Empress Alexandria. I found the writing offered lots of trivial details but failed to reveil their relevance to the predicament, the survival, or the rescue of those on the lifeboat. I finished the book feeling disapointed about buying this book and the time I lost reading it.








    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Starts out great.....

    It started out great, very engaging, and I was immediately interested in the story. As the story continues, it seems like the author lost interest. The end is awkward and disappointing.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Enjoyable

    This book took two days to read. I found the story to be somewhat historical and u feel u are in the life boat trying to survive.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Compelljng talif surviv e Compelling tale of survival

    This debut is a thought-provoking page turner that will have you wondering how far you would go to survive--and how far one should go. Not ti be missed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    An Unreliable Narrator Tries Too Hard to Be Reliable

    The novel starts out well enough - very Titanicesque. Fallen socialite is rescued by a dashing rich man who secretly marries(?) her and takes her on a doomed honeymoon. Ship sinks. 32 are forced to fight for survival on a lifeboat. And that is about all the reader can be sure of. Our dear Grace is obviously hiding something throughout the novel, causing the reader to doubt everything. While it's kinda fun at first, for me it ends up getting annoying. Had I written such a novel, I would have used several 1st person narrators - for varying perspective.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Enjoyable

    An enjoyable read from start to finish.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    This book was a real waste of time and money. The characters nev

    This book was a real waste of time and money. The characters never developed, they were wooden with no depth, the it was hard to differentiate between them. Opening was weak, and by the final chapters when you got to the the trial part you really didn't care how it ended because the characters were dull and all too much alike. The bigger moments in the book were lost, too much detail was given to "thoughts" that really just rambled on. Sorry, but this book was a read dud. Would not recommend to anyone when so many other good books are out there to read. Sad disappointment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Interesting

    Interesting idea for a book, but i couldnt connect w the characters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Kept waiting for something to happen...

    There seemed to be many underlying plot lines which were never developed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Lifeboat By Charlotte Rogan In the summer of 1914 Grace Win

    The Lifeboat
    By Charlotte Rogan

    In the summer of 1914 Grace Winter is on her way across the Atlantic with her new husband to meet her new in-laws. Though in the middle of the voyage there is a mysterious explosion that leaves the ship she was on at the bottom of the ocean, with half of the lifeboats engulfed in flames people rush to the ones remaining only to realize that the plaque stating a capacity for forty passengers is a lie, if they are to survive others must perish but how does one decide such a thing?

    This was such an interesting novel it starts with a trial and you have no clue as to what the trial is for except that it had to do with the main character’s time spent trapped on the lifeboat. The events that occur during this book bring a strange light to the survival instinct. The author manages to write a beautiful and terrifying novel without using ghosts or goblins but simple human behavior and survival instinct. This is definitely an interesting read as the survivor’s minds begin to become the true monster of this story the more immersed we become with the tale. I just wish there had been more to the epilogue but that is simple greed on my part.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Painful!

    Painful read with few moments of excitement.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    With as many depths as the sea, The Lifeboat is a multifaceted j

    With as many depths as the sea, The Lifeboat is a multifaceted jewel of a debut novel. This is no flimsy story following the opportunistic marketing trend that seems to currently crowd the library book shelves. The Lifeboat stands alone and shatters the mold to create a worthy novel for those readers who may crave a psychological realistic examination of the dark side of human nature with a fictional disaster as the perfect catalyst.


    The reader will be drawn immediately to Ms. Rogan’s ability to capture the late Edwardian era with her attention to research, dialogue and description. With only a few words, the reader will be transported and captivated by the narrator Grace Winter, who reminded this reviewer of the cunning and tragic Lily Bart from Edith Wharton’s beautifully crafted The House of Mirth. The characters were multidimensional and represented a cornucopia of human personalities and emotions from the passive-weak heartened to the paranoid and detached, and finally to the cunning and manipulative. Historical details were evenly dispensed throughout and added to the well constructed imagery, a dose of ancient theories are sprinkled in that may surprise the potential reader and finally add a minute touch of religion (but not overly preachy or intrusive); everything falls into its own niche and equals to a perfect consistency.


    In the end, I was extremely surprised with my response when I reached the final page. I honestly loved it and highly recommend The Lifeboat. Even with the greatest literary works, there were a few wanting or bothersome particulars that normally would cause me to deduct a star but The Lifeboat supplied me with the major morsels I crave when I invest my time and attention in a Historical fiction novel. The book ultimately caused reflection, stayed with me days after and illustrated sublime research pertaining to major and minute historical details (that are usually frustratingly overlooked by new authors) and that is what warrants 5 stars. I look forward to reading more from Ms. Rogan and hope she stays in the Edwardian era or researches the Victorian period for her next work, her voice and talents can certainly carry either.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Disappointing.

    I bought this book due to the high ratings in People. I regret the waste of my time. Boring.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    The Lifeboat

    The story line was great, but there was things I could not get past. The main thing was the characters because there was so many of them I could not keep them straight in the beginning. I eventually made a list so I could keep track since several people were bound to die and I wanted to make sure I knew how many people were left. There was at least 12 characters without offical names. Plus I had to reread over parts because I could not figure out what it meant in several places. In all it was hard for me to get through because I was confused probably because of the main characters mental state was all over the place. Not to mention the time line kept jumping. In all it was true to its plot in how the characters interacted and a new twist to a survival story in the main character ending up on trial.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Just ok

    This book was good for the first 2/3, but then it changed and the author seemed to write about things that i felt were not related to the main topic of the plot. Many unanswered questions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    The story started out strong and grabbed my attention, the middl

    The story started out strong and grabbed my attention, the middle was weak and the end was a total flop. I was very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7