Customer Reviews for

The Lifeboat: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A gripping tale of survival

An explosion on a luxury liner sends passengers scrambling for lifeboats. Grace and several other passengers overcrowd a lifeboat where they remain adrift for many days. Treacherous ocean storms, death, hunger, and thirst plague them, forcing life and death decisions an...
An explosion on a luxury liner sends passengers scrambling for lifeboats. Grace and several other passengers overcrowd a lifeboat where they remain adrift for many days. Treacherous ocean storms, death, hunger, and thirst plague them, forcing life and death decisions and sacrifices. And after all the bittersweet, life and death situations ended, Grace ultimately finds herself on trial for her life, sending the reader swirling into conflict once more.

With highly detailed, fast paced writing, the author literally made me feel as if I was on that boat. I suffered through the poignant moments, the desperation, and the unfailing determination to survive by the heroine. The Lifeboat had scenes that were so poignant, so tragic, it gripped me from start to finish. This is a story that will make you feel as anguished as the passengers. An unusual, fascinating novel of historical fiction. Absolutely enjoyable!

posted by Mirella on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Sending out an SOS

The book starts in a lifeboat, we know nothing about the passengers or how they came to sail on the ill fated ship we come to know as the Empress Alexandria. I found the writing offered lots of trivial details but failed to reveil their relevance to the predicament, th...
The book starts in a lifeboat, we know nothing about the passengers or how they came to sail on the ill fated ship we come to know as the Empress Alexandria. I found the writing offered lots of trivial details but failed to reveil their relevance to the predicament, the survival, or the rescue of those on the lifeboat. I finished the book feeling disapointed about buying this book and the time I lost reading it.








posted by 10256564 on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    I had to make myself finish this book as I am a person who start

    I had to make myself finish this book as I am a person who starts something, has to finish it even if it's grueling. This story drags on and on with no action and boring summaries of situations being stuck on a lifeboat. Boring is the only word I can think of after I read this book. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Fascinating! Well worth reading.

    I wasn't a fan of the main character, and not every question is answered, but over-all I loved the entire idea of the book. I love what-would-I-do kinds of books. The story is very compelling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Fizzler

    The story was very engaging in the beginning, but became slow midway through. Anticlamactic ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    STOP!!

    Why do people write books as a review? Just say whether you liked it or not PLEASE!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Good start but...

    Disapointing ending. Felt disconected and rushed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Great read

    Couldn't put it down. It reflected the truth on the human mind and what we could be capable of in the struggle of life and death. Which charector would you become

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Dry

    Very dry and hard to get into

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    An ok read not a compelling book

    An ok read not a compellinbookg

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Selected for our Book Club

    I didn't really enjoy reading this book, but at our book club meeting we had one of the best discussions we've ever had on a book. Rogan covers issues about morality and other provocative themes. She uses good description and vividly develops her characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    A little slow, but a good story.

    The book is a slow read, but the underlying story is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Fell apart at the end

    A good read that had me waiting for answers...that never came. Subtle hints at mysteries never resolved. I wanted more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Made me think about it afterwards.

    This book was quite thought provoking, and well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Great for book club discussion

    Read this book for our book club and couldn't put it down. Only gave it 4 stars because I thought the ending was completely unrealistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    One of the best I've read in a long time!

    Riveting. I had a difficult time putting it down. I'm a fan of a nuanced and multilayered narrative style. This book did not disapoint on many levels. You can read a synopsis elsewhere but I especially loved how the story was told through a combination of present day, 1st person narration along with Gracie's recollections of what had occured in the life boat and in the months leading up to her marriage. Easily recommendable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    An OK read

    Not the page turner i hoped but it was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    so well written.  I read it in 1 day.  Could not put it down

    so well written.  I read it in 1 day.  Could not put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Good book

    Enjoyed this both even tho it was a bit predictable...Good description of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good read

    Kept me reading once I got into it. Gave a good idea of how people feel when forced into a lifeboat awaiting rescue. There's mystery about the people, mental challenges, spiritual challenges, physical challenges depression, and personality conflicts between leaders and followers. I'd recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Interesting

    I cannot believe how many bad reviews this got. I really liked it. I do not read prologues until i finish a book and i am realky glad i did Do not read the prologue first. It gives too much away i am looking forward to another book by vharlotte. Rogan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    This book is shockingly similar to a 1957 Tyrone Power movie cal

    This book is shockingly similar to a 1957 Tyrone Power movie called Abandon Ship (or Seven W
    aves Away.) As I was reading I knew this was all too familiar. Howdisappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8