Customer Reviews for

The Lifeboat

Average Rating 3.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A gripping tale of survival

An explosion on a luxury liner sends passengers scrambling for lifeboats. Grace and several other passengers overcrowd a lifeboat where they remain adrift for many days. Treacherous ocean storms, death, hunger, and thirst plague them, forcing life and death decisions an...
An explosion on a luxury liner sends passengers scrambling for lifeboats. Grace and several other passengers overcrowd a lifeboat where they remain adrift for many days. Treacherous ocean storms, death, hunger, and thirst plague them, forcing life and death decisions and sacrifices. And after all the bittersweet, life and death situations ended, Grace ultimately finds herself on trial for her life, sending the reader swirling into conflict once more.

With highly detailed, fast paced writing, the author literally made me feel as if I was on that boat. I suffered through the poignant moments, the desperation, and the unfailing determination to survive by the heroine. The Lifeboat had scenes that were so poignant, so tragic, it gripped me from start to finish. This is a story that will make you feel as anguished as the passengers. An unusual, fascinating novel of historical fiction. Absolutely enjoyable!

posted by Mirella on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Sending out an SOS

The book starts in a lifeboat, we know nothing about the passengers or how they came to sail on the ill fated ship we come to know as the Empress Alexandria. I found the writing offered lots of trivial details but failed to reveil their relevance to the predicament, th...
The book starts in a lifeboat, we know nothing about the passengers or how they came to sail on the ill fated ship we come to know as the Empress Alexandria. I found the writing offered lots of trivial details but failed to reveil their relevance to the predicament, the survival, or the rescue of those on the lifeboat. I finished the book feeling disapointed about buying this book and the time I lost reading it.








posted by 10256564 on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    An Unreliable Narrator Tries Too Hard to Be Reliable

    The novel starts out well enough - very Titanicesque. Fallen socialite is rescued by a dashing rich man who secretly marries(?) her and takes her on a doomed honeymoon. Ship sinks. 32 are forced to fight for survival on a lifeboat. And that is about all the reader can be sure of. Our dear Grace is obviously hiding something throughout the novel, causing the reader to doubt everything. While it's kinda fun at first, for me it ends up getting annoying. Had I written such a novel, I would have used several 1st person narrators - for varying perspective.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Kept waiting for something to happen...

    There seemed to be many underlying plot lines which were never developed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Disappointing.

    I bought this book due to the high ratings in People. I regret the waste of my time. Boring.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    The story started out strong and grabbed my attention, the middl

    The story started out strong and grabbed my attention, the middle was weak and the end was a total flop. I was very disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Fizzler

    The story was very engaging in the beginning, but became slow midway through. Anticlamactic ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Dry

    Very dry and hard to get into

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    An OK read

    Not the page turner i hoped but it was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Interesting story

    Great storyline about a ship explosion and survivors aboard a lifeboat. She hooks you in with a sub storyline that there may be more underneath and that the main character is hiding some info. And then it ends. Just like that. Very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Difficult to read because it was saturated with too many names a

    Difficult to read because it was saturated with too many names and too many details of the lifeboat people's minute issues, this one was a very slow read for me. I had to take notes and mark pages until I was driven to distraction. Once I realized what I was doing, and found I was reluctant to pick the book up to try to get through it, I knew it wasn't one I could recommend to my readers. Sad to say, because I really wanted to know how this one ended. I; however, ended up skimming to find out, eventually. I have to give this book barely a 3 star rating. Not a strong recommendation to you at all unless you're into too many details that don't seem to matter in the larger picture.


    While I can understand when a book needs to set the scene for us, and to give some insight into characters so we get to know and understand their psychological make ups and spirits, "The Lifeboat" was just too drawn out and specific to be a good read. Charlotte Rogan missed the mark in that her characters weren't interesting enough to keep a reader moving along. I found myself thinking, "But, I already know that about Mrs.Grant. She's bossy and over-bearing. I don't have to hear it ten times over!" She had me at "hello," but she lost me at about the 4th chapter. Am I being redundant? See what I mean?


    The premise of the story is a good one, and had there been more of the meat of the story up front, I would have loved this book. It would have worked, I think, if the book had had more of a flip-side; that is, if the ending had been more prevalent at the beginning of the book. Too bad her editor didn't suggest that...
    What's going on with editing these days, anyway???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2