Customer Reviews for

The Lifeguard

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I love this book. It started off really slow, but got more inter

I love this book. It started off really slow, but got more interesting as the book went on.

posted by 4492849 on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I have mixed feelings about this book. It started off slow with

I have mixed feelings about this book. It started off slow with Sirena being shipped out to her aunt's while her parents separated. The first half of the book is her worrying over what life will be like when she goes back to not one home but two split between her parent...
I have mixed feelings about this book. It started off slow with Sirena being shipped out to her aunt's while her parents separated. The first half of the book is her worrying over what life will be like when she goes back to not one home but two split between her parents. That part was a little dragging for me but then Sirena becomes stalkerish over the lifeguard, Pilot and things started to get uncomfortable. She buys a new bikini to wear at the beach so that he notices her over his girlfriend and steals a painting of him at an art gallery that was painted by a local artist, who just so happens to be her friend. She went from being a normal teenage girl to crossing over to creeper'ville. She didn't act like any 17 year old I ever knew. Yeah, maybe I took the photo of my high school crush(turned sweetheart, now husband) from yearbook club when they were just going to throw it away but I never stole anything of his. I just thought that some of the things that she did and thought were a bit far fetched and shallow to me.

However, once she almost dies she seems to calm down some and that was when I really got invested in the story. That is when you find out that Pilot is a shaman and that he can heal people. The two of them start to become really close and he opens up a little bit more.

posted by Book_Sniffers_Anonymous on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book. It started off really slow, but got more inter

    I love this book. It started off really slow, but got more interesting as the book went on.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have mixed feelings about this book. It started off slow with

    I have mixed feelings about this book. It started off slow with Sirena being shipped out to her aunt's while her parents separated. The first half of the book is her worrying over what life will be like when she goes back to not one home but two split between her parents. That part was a little dragging for me but then Sirena becomes stalkerish over the lifeguard, Pilot and things started to get uncomfortable. She buys a new bikini to wear at the beach so that he notices her over his girlfriend and steals a painting of him at an art gallery that was painted by a local artist, who just so happens to be her friend. She went from being a normal teenage girl to crossing over to creeper'ville. She didn't act like any 17 year old I ever knew. Yeah, maybe I took the photo of my high school crush(turned sweetheart, now husband) from yearbook club when they were just going to throw it away but I never stole anything of his. I just thought that some of the things that she did and thought were a bit far fetched and shallow to me.

    However, once she almost dies she seems to calm down some and that was when I really got invested in the story. That is when you find out that Pilot is a shaman and that he can heal people. The two of them start to become really close and he opens up a little bit more.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Hannah

    OMG!!!!!! This was one of the best books that i have ever read anf i have read a lot of books. I really recomend reading this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Fantastic summer read

    This is not a normal summer romance, it is so much more. The yound characters go on thier own emotional adventure, while keeping you completley glued. Have a box of tissues handy! This is a brillant book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    great beach read!

    Really loved this book. It's not just a summer romance book...there's a whole other side to it - it's much deeper than all these other summer romances I've been reading. It's about a girl going through a lot of changes one pivotal summer and meeting an extraordinary guy but then there's a whole super natural side - pretty amazing. Definitely recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Its lyndsay

    The boy on the front cover is CUTE!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Read My Life Next Door

    Never even read it but if ur lookibg for a hot and steamy (not erotic though) romance read my life next door! Its da bomb diggidy! :D

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    i loved reading it. i couldnt but it down 

    i loved reading it. i couldnt but it down 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    AMAZING. When I first bought it, I thought it would be one of th

    AMAZING. When I first bought it, I thought it would be one of those typical summer love storys that all end the same. This is the complete opposite! It is so good and not like any other book I've ever read. I'm not gonna lie, the beginning is really slow and boring, but once you get going you won't be able to stop!!! I finished it in like two days. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    I loved this book but I really want to know how the relationship

    I loved this book but I really want to know how the relationships work out and what happens......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    I love this book!

    I read the book for a school project and I fell in love with it. It's a really great read, especially for people who are into love stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    I loved this book!!!!

    I loved this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved this book! I loved how pilot connected with her. Please write a sequel or i will die!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    I honestly thought this book was just going to be a summer fling

    I honestly thought this book was just going to be a summer fling book. Just a hot guy gets the hot girl and they live happily ever-after, I was totally wrong. I loved the book, it was so much more than what I was expecting which is always nice. I guess maybe I liked it so much becuase all I was expecting was a high school love book I got so much more out of it, and the ending is really good so read it and find out what happens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Eh

    I liked the story of this book but it was very disorganized and didnt fully explain many parts of the plot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    So I guess this could be categorized in the paranormal genre, bu

    So I guess this could be categorized in the paranormal genre, but it
    really reads more like a YA Contemporary Romance. The gifts Pilot has
    are not as much paranormal as mystical, and the focus of the story is on
    the development of his relationship with Sirena and not the Mystical
    gifts. That being said, I really did enjoy this story. This story is
    in no way a typical YA book. There are a lot of elements that makes it
    stand out from others and that is a VERY good thing! The characters
    are so easy to connect with and you fall a little in love with all of
    them by the time it is over. Sirena's relationship with Antonio was on
    of my favorites. I just think that Antonio is that grandparent you want
    to have. The relationship between Sirena and Pilot was believable and
    utterly sweet. I think there is just generally a new depth to the
    emotions I got as a reader from this book. I look forward to reading
    more by Deborah Blumenthal in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Pretty good book.

    I loved this book. The only problem is that i tought the girl was a bit weird. But other than tht AMAZING<3 the ending was sad. (Cant say what happens) The ending brought tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    The lifeguard

    Was a little slow at first but totally worth it! The ending was GREAT. I really want there to be a sequel! Tha would be soo wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Lifeguard was a wonderful surprise. When I saw the cover of

    The Lifeguard was a wonderful surprise. When I saw the cover of this novel I thought it was going to be a sweet, chick-lit romance about a gorgeous lifeguard saving a beautiful girl, falling in love, and so on....But wow! Don&rsquo;t let the cover fool you. The storyline is on the eerie side of the supernatural. Deborah Blumenthal gave me a powerful, unique story with a ghost, shaman, a beautiful romance and so much more. Blumenthal&rsquo;s style of writing in the third person pulled me into this story and wouldn't let go. I finished this novel in one day and I want more of Sirena and Pilot's beautiful story.


    Sirena is almost seventeen, and her parents are going through a divorce, which she&rsquo;s not thrilled about. She is sent to stay with her aunt Eillie in Rhode Island for the summer while her mom and dad sales their house in Texas. Sirena knew this divorce would bring changes, but it was just the beginning of the changes for Sirena&rsquo;s life. When she meets the gorgeous lifeguard Pilot, he will change her whole world. A world of ghosts and the shaman healers, and the mysterious boy she destined to love.


    The Lifeguard is the kind novel that I found myself saying, I wasn't expecting this deep of storyline and with Sirena and Pilot's hot and cold romance and the supernatural, The Lifeguard is definitely a book I would recommend as a surprising, great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2