Customer Reviews for

The Light Between Oceans

Average Rating 4.5
( 1495 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(853)

4 Star

(419)

3 Star

(135)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

214 out of 240 people found this review helpful.

Tom Sherbourne finds peace as a light house keeper on a seclude


Tom Sherbourne finds peace as a light house keeper on a secluded island after the brutality he witnessed in war. The routine and distance helps him sort out his emotions and brings him peace. He couldn’t imagine sharing his life with anyone until he marries Isa...

Tom Sherbourne finds peace as a light house keeper on a secluded island after the brutality he witnessed in war. The routine and distance helps him sort out his emotions and brings him peace. He couldn’t imagine sharing his life with anyone until he marries Isabel and she makes their rock feel like home. Their secluded life has its share of happiness but heartbreak soon sets in after several miscarriages making the seclusion feel suffocating for Isabel. When a boat washes up in their little world carrying a dead man and a living baby, life seems to take a wonderful turn. Isabel has never been happier but Tom is plagued with unease and when a trip back to the mainland brings troubling facts to light he yearns to do what is just.
An emotional rollercoaster doesn’t begin to describe what it felt like to read this. With each page I questioned what I had felt while reading the previous page. The characters are amazingly real with such humanity that I wanted to talk to them or yell at them. There are a couple of characters that I hated to love and one that I loved to hate so that made it very hard to decide where I stood with each individual story line. I have no complaints about this one. I am already recommending it and will continue to do so for a long time to come.

posted by shayrp76 on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

59 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

I read this book in a day, interesting and compelling story, fai

I read this book in a day, interesting and compelling story, fair character development.

posted by 2060674 on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Amazing!

    Great book, beautifully written. In a time where Fifty Shades of Grey and other such rubbish get rave reviews it's nice to read a book worthy of the accolades it has received. I am looking forward to more books from this author.

    142 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Fairly easy read, but worth it!

    I had a hard time putting it down. Characters were pretty well developed and the author does a decent job of taking you to a different place in time. I'd love to visit Janus for a month or so.... just the idea of it being just you and the wind and sea; like you are part of something, another world entirely. One can dream.

    48 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Haunting Novel

    This is a novel I think I may have to read again--I can't quite get it out of my mind. Stedman is a lovely writer; for such a complex story and set of characters this is a rather slim book, for which I'm grateful. I'm sick of overblown novels that needed to be cut at least in half.

    "Oceans" is a grown up, beautifully written story with complex characters. It shows the too often painful consequences of getting what we so desperately want and choices made in the name of love.

    ***The language is lyrical, almost poetic at times. This is not a fast-paced tale for the first 120 pages or so; indeed, at times it tends to drag a bit. BUT when Lucy is discovered and her origins revealed--this becomes taunt and heartbreaking.

    ***While it's impossible not to feel for Tom, Isabel is a harder character to embrace and it wasn't until the last 100 pages that I really did--then the parallels bewteen Isabel and Hannah, their plights and precarious emotional states, converge beautifully. These are two women at odds yet constantly shifting places in the same heartbreaking dance.

    ***The only element, besides the momentary places of slowness is Lucy's eventual situation--[SPOILERISH]--her terror and refusal to accept Hannah is incredibly vivid, yet her final acceptance of Hannah seems to be wrapped up too vaguely and quickly after the more detailed prior events. That did not ring true or balanced for me.

    But this is a novel that if you stay with it--gives you lovely rewards, a story where the characters' ultimate motives can be discussed for a long time. i think it's worth the read and discussion afterward.

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting story! I thought it started out a little slow

    Very interesting story! I thought it started out a little slow and it took a few chapters for me to really get into it. But as the story progresses I really found myself thinking about the story quite often and wondering how these families were going to move forward. Towards the end I absolutely could not put it down. Very Good!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Poetic

    When I read this book, I played each role in my mind. I wanted to judge the other characters who weren't me..but when I read the book as all of them separately, I realized I couldn't really choose, hate or love anyone of them. I can simply understand.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    I enjoyed this book very much. The characters show depth and re

    I enjoyed this book very much. The characters show depth and realistic emotions, responses, and reactions. It truly took me to the island and into the motivations behind the actions. It made me question what I would do in that situation, and how does one guage what is morally right and for whom?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    You will love this,if you like feel good reading.

    The story takes place over a number of years. Each person is well developed and you feel like you know them. You laugh and you cry and I enjoyed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpected Gem

    This book was such an unexpected gem. I am so glad I decided to pick it up. I was a book that left me continuing to think of the characters long after the last page. It pulled at my heart throughout the story and it was hard not to feel sadness for every character in a different way. I think the point the author tried to convey was that there may not always be a clear right or wrong way to deal with something, even in the end I don't think there could possibly be a way to have each character completely happy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Good read

    .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    One of the best books of 2012

    This is a thoughtfully written, tender and heartbreaking story. It raises a question as old as time: What makes a family? The author doesn't pull any punches and delivers a powerful ending about lives destroyed yet ultimately saved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Intriguin

    This is the first book that's ever made me cry! I could totally relate to Isabel and how much she loved her baby! Only a mother can relate to those deep-seeded feelings!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Loved it!!

    I couldnt put it down!! It was a compelling story that left you feeling deeply for every character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    A Wonderful story!!! You will fall in love with Tom, Isabel, and

    A Wonderful story!!! You will fall in love with Tom, Isabel, and Lucy and You will laugh and cry with them, too. And poor Hannah, what a
    terrible blow life dealt her. Descriptions of life on an island tending a light house are interesting. It was a whole different era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    You think you know what will happen

    A good read- you are drawn into the story and the people within

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Great Story

    One of the best books I have read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Beautifully written and a compelling read all the way to the las

    Beautifully written and a compelling read all the way to the last page!  I ordered this book then let it sit on my shelf for a year.  As a mother of five I wasn't sure I'd enjoy the dilemma of a baby washed ashore and cared for by a childless couple, who "harbor" the secret from the child's potential actual family.  But this author has a gift for words and surprisingly the story is told from the perspective of a man, not the mothers.  You'll love the bits of history entwined in the novel, the picturesque description of the southwest edge of Australia, and the meticulous care and pride dedicated to the job of the lighthouse keeper.  I can't wait until this author crafts another compelling read; well done!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Highly recommend

    This novel will make you think and will haunt you long after you read it. Is this a just world? Can people be forgiven? How much emotional pain can a person endure? Can you right a wrong? How resilient are children to change? Can you regain something you've lost? As a mother, this is a heart-wrenching story with a cathartic resolution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Good read

    The premise of this book was unique and, despite having an idea that it will go wrong, inspires the reader to keep moving. The description of the island and lighthouse were also very interesting. I enjoyed it very much and recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    The book is beautifully written with many memorable lines. I was

    The book is beautifully written with many memorable lines. I was a bit let down about mid-way, but am SO glad I didn't give up on it. The last portion of the book is most compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Excellent book, loved it!

    I read this book for my book club. Couldn't put it down. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22