Customer Reviews for

The Light Keepers: a YA Epic Fantasy - Prequel to the ShadowLight Saga

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    A Must Read Prequel!

    This intriguing prequel to the ShadowLight Saga reveals a bit of the history and inner workings of the mind of the mysterious warrior maiden Astrid, also known as Swan later in the story. We get to see her in a completely different and unexpected light in this action-packed and detail-rich short story. It gives wonderful insights into her relationship with her mother and her struggle with a seductive, evil force that hunts her: The Shadow.

    A MUST READ for fans of The ShadowLight Saga and lovers of romantic, richly crafted fantasy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    A great introduction and a full story on its own. The characters

    A great introduction and a full story on its own. The characters are really interesting. I especially loved the lead character Astrid. It's emotional yet exciting and intriguing and hints at some interesting magic and swordplay to come. I'm going to read the first book in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    A young girl , Astrid, is take into hiding by her mother. Her mo

    A young girl , Astrid, is take into hiding by her mother. Her mother has seen a prophecy that Astrid guard her people against the shadowland. "The shadowwalk is a dark and evil thing." It calls to her and she can't seem to sing her song of protection. Before she can go to the man in her dreams she needs to protect not only herself, but him as well. This was a great beginning to what seems like going to be a great series. The series would be a wonderful read for any child who loves fantasy. Sword fighting and girl power what could be better? Find out if Astrid learns her heart song and is able to find her love before it's too late.  SBM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    This is one of my Kindle freebie grabs that I half-heartedly ope

    This is one of my Kindle freebie grabs that I half-heartedly opened out of desperation thinking I had nothing but time to lose. The result was me gripping my Kindle, debating how soon I could get the rest of the story.



    The plot:

    This is a brief book that still boasts sword fights, magical intrigue, and deeply rooted mysteries. I found myself enjoying it far more than I expected to and whizzed through the brisk plot in no time at all.



    The characters:

    We do see some of Astrid’s mother and her mother’s protector, who is also Astrid’s teacher. However, the main focus is undoubtedly on Astrid. Astrid has many frustrations, mostly about her inability to speak and her lack of understanding just what it is her mother and mother’s protector are preparing her for. It was easy to understand why she got so angry, even if it was also easy to see why they pushed her mentally and physically. I don’t usually find rebellious characters sympathetic, but I adored Astrid and I was very eager to read Bonded.



    A plunge into a fantastical world based on Norse mythology complete with dark lords, mystery, and lots and lots of sword fights. I highly recommend this series and am eagerly awaiting the third installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Fun read if you're cool with women dependant on men for happiness.

    I was hooked from the first paragraph and excited to read this and maybe the series... until the book called some guy the girl's destiny and savior from her unhappy, restrictive life. Ugh. Couldn't read another sentence. Hopefully that is the beginning of the character's journey and she overcomes that crappy set of beliefs. The series is well spoken of. Maybe I will try one of the real novels instead of this novella, but honestly it just made my blood run cold. If my nieces wanted to read this I would finish it before giving them my opinion, but I have no interest in finishing this on my own when there are readily available books with strong female leads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Excellent writing!! Jmm44

    Keeps you reading till it's over--then you hope you can keep going to see MORE of the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    No text was provided for this review.

    No text was provided for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2