Customer Reviews for

The Lightning Thief: The Graphic Novel (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series)

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Quick, Fun Read

The graphic novel stays mostly true to The Lightning Thief. Of course some artistic liberties were taken but the graphic novel stays more true to the book than the movie did. A few scenes were cut, like the bit with Medusa and the end was different from the original boo...
The graphic novel stays mostly true to The Lightning Thief. Of course some artistic liberties were taken but the graphic novel stays more true to the book than the movie did. A few scenes were cut, like the bit with Medusa and the end was different from the original book but it worked well, so all in all- it's very good.

posted by Medea-Ariadne on October 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I haven't read it yet but I plan to. The movie was absolute garb

I haven't read it yet but I plan to. The movie was absolute garbage, they totally wrecked my fave book of all time, but I think the graphic novel will be better. I read the red pyramid graphic novel and it was really good. my brother really likes graphic novels so I'll...
I haven't read it yet but I plan to. The movie was absolute garbage, they totally wrecked my fave book of all time, but I think the graphic novel will be better. I read the red pyramid graphic novel and it was really good. my brother really likes graphic novels so I'll probably by this for him. Rick Riordan, if you ever read this, your books are amazing and your son Haley's Son of Magic story totally rocked!

posted by 5219280 on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Quick, Fun Read

    The graphic novel stays mostly true to The Lightning Thief. Of course some artistic liberties were taken but the graphic novel stays more true to the book than the movie did. A few scenes were cut, like the bit with Medusa and the end was different from the original book but it worked well, so all in all- it's very good.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    I haven't read it yet but I plan to. The movie was absolute garb

    I haven't read it yet but I plan to. The movie was absolute garbage, they totally wrecked my fave book of all time, but I think the graphic novel will be better. I read the red pyramid graphic novel and it was really good. my brother really likes graphic novels so I'll probably by this for him. Rick Riordan, if you ever read this, your books are amazing and your son Haley's Son of Magic story totally rocked!

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review by AcesMommy

    I like this graphic novel. Aside from the movie that helped in seeing first hand on what you read, this one actually stuck more to the story line of the book. Some parts were altered but did not ruin the story. Very nice art work.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    The monsters, the Greek gods, camp half blood. The lightning


    The monsters, the Greek gods, camp half blood. The lightning Thief by Rick Riordan is about a boy named Percy Jackson who is the son of Poseidon is being accused for stealing Zeus’s lightning bolt. Now Percy must return the lightning bolt before the summer solstice or there is a possibility of being a World War Three. On Percy’s mysterious journey he has to fight gods, creatures, and other weird people like Aunty Em. In my opinion Percy Jackson and the lightning thief would be a great recommendation if you like mysteries, adventure, and fighting between human and Greek Gods you should get this book as quick as you can. In my opinion the Lightning thief is a great book because it has adventures, mysteries, and fighting between human and Greek Gods.



    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for Teens Read Too

    Percy Jackson is twelve years old, has been kicked out of every school he's ever gone to, and is seen as quite a troublemaker. With ADHD and dyslexia and a reputation for trouble following him wherever he goes, Percy has learned to not get too attached to any one school, set of friends, or teachers, for that matter. Yancey Academy has been no different, except for two things. His best friend, Grover, and his Latin teacher, Mr. Brunner, seem to really care about him. While on a school field trip, Percy has quite the bad day. He almost drowns Nancy Bobofit, the school bully; gets attacked by Mrs. Dodds, the math teacher; and then gets told by everyone that there never was a teacher named Mrs. Dodds at Yancey academy. Confused and mistrusting of the two he had come to call friends, Percy grows distant and ends up getting kicked out of yet another school. After the last day, Percy and Grover get onto the city bus to go home. While there, Percy sees three old ladies cutting a piece of yarn. Grover freaks out and asks Percy to wait for him while he runs into a store. Percy ignores him and heads home. Through a series of bad choices and a fight with a foul-tempered, monstrous beast, Percy's mom appears to be killed and the two boys end up at Camp Half-Blood. If monsters aren't enough to take in, Percy finds out his father is Poseidon, the god of the sea, and that his uncle, Zeus, is demanding that Percy return the master lightning bolt by Summer Solstice or he'll be destroyed and another World War will begin. His only hopes are Grover and a smart-aleck girl named Annabeth. Can Percy find the master lighting bot and save everyone's skin, or will the gods start a war bigger than anything anyone has seen before? A great graphic novel adaptation of the original THE LIGHTNING THIEF book. The illustrations are wonderful. The novel is fairly true to the original book; the plot remains intact and is, therefore, well-written. The characters are true to their natures and are well-developed. Readers who are fans of Rick Riordan, action-adventure, fantasy, graphic novels, and mythology will all enjoy THE LIGHTNING THIEF: THE GRAPHIC NOVEL.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    ; Percy Jackson finds out he¿s the son of a Greek god, gets

    ; Percy Jackson finds out he’s the son of a Greek god, gets blamed for stealing a lightning bolt he knew nothing about, and fights creatures he thought were myths. Best for older, action-loving kids, this book offers nonstop adventure and terrific exposure to Greek mythology. For me, this book was a fantastic, fast-past adventure. I was eager to read the next book.
    "Once I got over the fact that my Latin teacher was a horse, we had a nice tour, though I was careful not to walk behind him." For Percy, a wisecracking 12-year-old with ADHD, discovering his teacher is really a centaur is just another clue that the Greek gods are alive, well, and causing all kinds of mayhem in modern-day America. Accused of stealing Zeus's master lightning bolt, Percy must prove his innocence while battling a Minotaur and a host of other celestial thugs. Along with all the mayhem, he seems to find a crush with the gorgeous Annabeth. Along the journey Annabeth, and his best friend Grover go with him, unwilling to say no.
    This book is one of the most fascinating books about Greek mythology. Rick Riordan has done an amazing job with writing and finishing this book up, while still leaving suspense that’ll make you ready for next. His story line and characters jump out at you and gets you into the story.
    This book was a fantastic, fast-past adventure. I was eager to read the next book. Greek mythology has been made into a fun, exciting story.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    E

    BEST BOOK EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I have not read this yet, but I just ordered it. I'm hoping it

    I have not read this yet, but I just ordered it. I'm hoping it sticks more to the book than the AWFUL movie did. I'm hoping to get a better idea of what some of the scenes described in the book actually look like. If this one is good, I'm going to order the Red Pyramid graphic novel. Rick Riordan is one of my favorites authors. His second series based off of Percy Jackson is also very good.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    WHAT THE!

    um i have not read this yet but the cover looks way messed up PERCY LOOKS LIKE HE'S ON STEROIDS! why not a nice manga like james patterson is doing with Daniel X ? graphic novels always go totally sketchy. the gods and other would look SO cool if they were manga-tized

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Best book

    It was awesome i wish they had done the mudusa and other things but it was amazing its more like the book. In the movie they skiped the bridge. So this was a one up. MUST READ

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Pretty good, could have been better. It pains me to give anythi

    Pretty good, could have been better. It pains me to give anything related to Percy Jackson only three stars--but I feel like it's honest. I thought the illustrations were pretty good and that it followed the story pretty well--but I feel like they cut a few really important things out. They cut out the Medusa adventure--which is important for a lot of reasons, plus, it relates to how Sally Jackson got rid of Gabe Ugliano. They didn't tell the whole story about Sally getting rid of Gabe either--and it would only have taken another page or two. The Medusa adventure is probably the most memorable in the book (not to mention it would have been cool to see it illustrated). Otherwise, I definitely enjoyed the book and found it really entertaining. I just feel like it lacked depth--especially for the average retail of about ten dollars. However, I am definitely happy I have it and don't regret buying it. And, I definitely recommend it to anyone who loves Rick Riordan's books as much as I do. Of the Percy Jackson graphic novels, The Titan's Curse is the best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Best book ever

    Best book EVER but the movie was total GARBAGE btw rick riordan if your reading this want to thank u for all the AWESOME books u have written and please write more percy jackson!!! -------::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    I really like the Percy Jackson series.  Great drama and suspens

    I really like the Percy Jackson series.  Great drama and suspense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    Percy Jackson

    Everybody looked wierd. Otherwise, it was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    This book is about a young, sixth-grade boy going through everyd

    This book is about a young, sixth-grade boy going through everyday life at Yancy Academy. But, that will soon change. When on a field trip, Percy is attacked by Ms.Dodds and was accused of stealing Zeus' possession.
    After this, Percy and Grover escape to Camp Half-blood and meet Annabeth, daughter of Athena. Percy goes to see the Oracle and learns of the prophecy. And so, Percy, Grover, and Annabeth are ste on their journey to retrieve Zeus' possession before the Summer Solstice.
     I loved this novel. It's very interesting and uses multiple Greek myths. The way that Rick Riordan mixed Greek mythology with modern culture, shows how ancient myth can be put into modern living. I also love the details, and imagery Riordan puts into the settings and characters.
     And I love how the action in the story is well described and are filled with suspense. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Great but 4th one better:)

    Love it (::::::::::]:::::::::::::::>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    I really liked the first book and finding there's graphic novels for a lot of book series I either started reading, have yet or want to read. Basically Lightning Thief in GF form. And well, it was good-ish, but good. The art wasn't bad, but I don't know could of been better but at the same time I still kind of like it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Five Stars

    Best. Book. Ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    This is a nice book

    This is a nice book but its time for the 3ed one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    XX

    Best book ever what u should rick rioardan if your reading this is try to convince disney to make a heroes of olympous movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3