Customer Reviews for

The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

Alexander McCakk Smith writes some of the most interesting and fun to read books I have ever read. Some times sad, but in the end everything comes out and you can't believe the book is at the end.

posted by pugsnhugs on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Delightful Book!

If you enjoy reading about other cultures and other countries, then you should definitely read Alexander McCall Smith's series about a woman detective and her assistant in Botswana. The latest book, The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection is full of interesting charac...
If you enjoy reading about other cultures and other countries, then you should definitely read Alexander McCall Smith's series about a woman detective and her assistant in Botswana. The latest book, The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection is full of interesting characters, mystery and humor and wisdom .

posted by 17440410 on April 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Alexander McCakk Smith writes some of the most interesting and fun to read books I have ever read. Some times sad, but in the end everything comes out and you can't believe the book is at the end.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    I love this series...wish they would bring it back to tv...Jill

    I love this series...wish they would bring it back to tv...Jill Scott was an exceptional actress playing Mma Ramotswe.....plus i looked forward to watching it every Sunday night @ 8.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    A Lovely Read

    I first started reading the No. 1 Ladies' Detective back in the summer of 2010, shortly after the HBO show of the same name aired on television. A lot of you already know that I have a wee obsession with all things Africa so this series is my little escape to Botswana when I read it.


    When I read this back in June, it had been a whole year since I had opened one of the books in this series and I was starting to miss Mma Ramotswe and the other colourful characters that Alexander McCall Smith so artfully writes into his novels.


    When ever I read the series I feel like I'm coming home and this novel was no different from the others in that aspect. For me, I have certain authors that I resort to reading when I'm in a certain mood and when I read this one I needed a good old fashioned comfort read.


    In this latest installment in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency we are once again brought into the comforting embrace of Mma Ramotswe. In this book I got to meet up with my old friends Mma Makutsi, Phuti Radiphuti, Rra Matekoni and his faithful assistants at the garage he owns as well as being introduced to Mma Ramotswe's hero Clovis Anderson.


    I know many people say that these books shouldn't be classed as mysteries because the "case" Mma Ramotswe solves are often pretty trivial but for me I just love the feeling these novels give me. This time around the mystery was close to home as one of Rra Matekoni's assistants is put in a delicate situation in which Mma Ramotswe, Mma Makutsi and and Clovis Anderson get on the case and try to rescue him!


    This one turned out to be even better than the previous book in the series which surprised me because I thought the series had peaked at the time I read the last one so I was pleasantly surprised to find that that was not the case. This one still had the homey feeling that all the novels have but it was nice to see the different characters backstories evolve because less face it after a certain amount of books in a series things can become a little stagnant. For me this one actually turned out to be the best book in the series (besides the first one) in my opinion and was certainly the most enjoyable. I can't wait to read the next book.


    I think the direction the author has taken with the book is one that readers will like. At least I hope other do because I really did. If you haven't read the series and want a unique reading experience I highly suggest reading this series.
    *I revieved a copy of this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my FREE and HONEST review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I was in no way compensated for my review.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great series

    Delightful - just like the rest of the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Delightful as Always

    I'm never disappointed with these books. I began with book one and each and everyone has been fun to read. It's not necessary to read the previous ones to enjoy this but it is an advantage to follow these entertaining characters from their beginnings and follow them through the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    First of all, I have not yet read the book so I am, in essence,

    First of all, I have not yet read the book so I am, in essence, judging the book from the knowledge I have. I have read all 12 of Mr. Smith's books so far, and I have savored each and every one. His writing is superb and expresses true love for the friendly and diverse country of Botswana. I hope to be able to read his newest book, the 13th in the series, very soon. I also want to express gratitude to Barnes and Nobles for their thorough review and extensive excerpt. This is one of the many reasons why you (B&N) are by far my favorite book store.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection is the thirteenth in th

    The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection is the thirteenth in the Number 1 Ladies Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith. In this instalment, Mma Ramotswe and Mma Makutsi find themselves investigating not for clients, but rather, for themselves and their friends. Precious and Grace are delighted to find that Clovis Anderson, author of their much-consulted bible, The Principles of Private Detection, is visiting Botswana and decides to stop in for a chat. Precious uses the opportunity to get his advice on a troubling situation affecting her dear friend, Matron of the Orphan Farm, Mma Potokwani. It seems the Orphanage Board has decided to institute changes which Mma Potokwani feels will be detrimental to the orphans, and her dissension is to cost her her job. In an uncharacteristic move, the usually forthright matron retreats to her lands: is this the end for Mma Potokwani? Fanwell, the irreproachable apprentice at Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors, reluctantly agrees to help an old acquaintance and finds this decision has unforeseen serious consequences. While Mr J.L.B. Matekoni and Mma Ramotswe give him their full support, a surprisingly resourceful Charlie demonstrates unexpected loyalty and comes to the rescue. And newlyweds, Grace and Phuti, find that building a house can be complicated, especially when the builder is not completely honest. As always, the lives of our favourite Gabarone residents keep the reader engrossed; their dialogue, especially that of Mma Makutsi (and her shoes!) provide many light moments; the courtroom scene is pure farce; we discover the origin of Grace’s obsession with shoes; we learn more about Fanwell’s background; Grace’s musings on physical and mental comfort are worth consideration, as is the concept of the guilt-free sofa; Mma Ramotswe’s inner monologue is full of gentle philosophy and it was a lovely surprise for the reader to meet the much-quoted (and apparently very human) Clovis Anderson. Another delightful novel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    A Delightful Book!

    If you enjoy reading about other cultures and other countries, then you should definitely read Alexander McCall Smith's series about a woman detective and her assistant in Botswana. The latest book, The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection is full of interesting characters, mystery and humor and wisdom .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Enjoyable read that goes by too fast

    Charming series, fun to read. Always ends too quickly and I wish it the story hadn't ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Easy Read

    I really like the No1. Ladies' Detective Agency series. It is an easy and fun read. Just right for summer days at the beach or just when you want a good light mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Lily

    I wanna join this class lairs are really cool!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    To roy

    Read res four

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Reccomended

    A fun book to read. Like all of Mcall Smith's books, well developed characters. Sometimes the story drags, but lots of good local color and plausible plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    You Finally Get to Meet the Famous Clovis Anderson

    This book is as enjoyable as the previous 12 in the series with the addition of "meeting" Clovis Anderson we've all read so much about in the previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Good

    As entertaining as usual .........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    As always, a great book!

    I love this series! Not only is it a great detective series, it is also a wonderful series that shows true human warmth and humility. I hope there is soon another book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    The intrepid Mma Ramotswe does it again. She uses her sharp min

    The intrepid Mma Ramotswe does it again. She uses her sharp mind to and her kindly compassion for others to help solve her cases. With this series, McCall Smith guarantees a great read every time!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Another hit in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series

    For fans of the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, the latest novel will not disappoint. Alexander McCall Smith has added another delightful novel to the series.

    I can feel myself adopting the pace of life in Botswana as I read these novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    The usual delight

    I wouldn't miss one of these! This one is more of the basic decency, wisdom, and kindness of Botswana, with a few crooks (who would be considered minor in the US) to give the ladies something to do besides drink tea. A delightful escape.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Chesterfield Academy

    9th grade

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3