Customer Reviews for

The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1745 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(811)

4 Star

(550)

3 Star

(218)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

A Pleasant Surprise

I bought this title as a bargain book having no prior experience with this author. This turns out to be a great read, with suspense, danger, courtroom drama, and a plot full of twists and turns. The characters are drawn well and the narrative is crisp without being sh...
I bought this title as a bargain book having no prior experience with this author. This turns out to be a great read, with suspense, danger, courtroom drama, and a plot full of twists and turns. The characters are drawn well and the narrative is crisp without being shallow. Very satisfying and right up there with the best from Turow and Diehl.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good plot

This was a reasonably good book; I am really turned off by use of the f-word, and though it wasn't excessive in this book I just don't see the need to use it. I would rather have gotten it as a library book.

posted by 10160513 on October 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1764 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 89
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    A Pleasant Surprise

    I bought this title as a bargain book having no prior experience with this author. This turns out to be a great read, with suspense, danger, courtroom drama, and a plot full of twists and turns. The characters are drawn well and the narrative is crisp without being shallow. Very satisfying and right up there with the best from Turow and Diehl.

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Superb!

    This was so well done, you hated the characters and loved them at the same time! It delved into the gray areas of the legal profession as a whole and of course nothing is ever easy or perfect. I read a lot of (ashamed to admit) legal-type mysteries but this was one of my favorites from a sheer fun perspective.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    My first Michael Connelly book what a thrill

    I have read so many books and I can not believe how good this book was I can't stop talking about it to my friends. If it had been a movie I'd been on the edge of my seat. Never a dull moment. I really do hope that he does more of Mickey Haller stories. I will be reading all his other books as well. I can't say enough about this. When I first started reading this book I was so excited when I read he was going to Lancaster court because that is where I lived so I was really getting into that and then the story just got so good.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Lincoln Lawyer is Continental! It's excellent!

    I recommend any book by Michael Connolly. I've read them all and very few authors keep me on the edge of my seat like he does. I have yet to read one of his books that I wished I hadn't. I buy each as soon as it comes out. You won't regret reading anything by this author.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Don't drown all the lawyers!

    The Lincoln Lawyer is a tightly plotted novel of intrigue and suspense. It's fast reading that keeps you engrossed with no false twists or convenient endings. I liked it a lot.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the movie

    Fabulous book. I read it before the movie came out and have read all of the Mickey Haller series books. You can't go wrong with any of them. Michael Connelly is a great author. Can't wait for the next Mickey Haller book...until then I have been getting to know Harry Bosch, another great series from Connelly.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Great Book - Great Suspense!

    Everytime I do a review of a Connelly book, I say the same thing - this man is not capable of writing a boring or bad novel. Like Harry Bosch, Mickey Haller is definitely flawed, but knows and learns life's lessons along the way. Haller going through the trial and playing the 'cat and mouse' game was great. I thorougly enjoyed Mickey's character and can't wait to buy 'Brass Verdict'. I've read all Connelley's books - he never disappoints.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Worth the read.

    I haven't seen the movie, but after reading the book I'll probably get the movie. I really like the author's writing style. He made it a very comfortable read. Will be checking out more the of Mickey Haller Series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    good plot

    This was a reasonably good book; I am really turned off by use of the f-word, and though it wasn't excessive in this book I just don't see the need to use it. I would rather have gotten it as a library book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great book

    One of the best books i'v ever read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Liberi

    Meh.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    This is one of those rare times when I picked up the book after

    This is one of those rare times when I picked up the book after I saw the movie. And I'm glad I did. At once, the first person narrative of this lawyer that conducts his business in the back of a Lincoln while traversing Los Angeles grabbed me and didn't let go. As much as I liked the movie, the book impressed me so much I went on to read two more books in the series. Connelly is in top form throughout, and you owe it to yourself to read at least this one book of his and see whether you want to join him in any of his other stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Good story!

    I really enjoyed the authors writing style. The story moved along nicely with good twists and turns to keep the reader interested. I would definitely buy another one of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Check it out

    Very good book. Very easy read, might keep you up all night. Hard to put down. Ending is not what you think, you will be suprised. Recommend this book its really a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Great Legal Read and highly recommend

    This was an action packed story line from start to finish. There were a couple of twist and turns that I did not expect or see coming, but was great additions to the story line. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    How long is this old book going to clutter up Spot Light

    And books under three dollars? No where does it say it was the first book of a long series that wont become a tv law and order spin off.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. I have only read a couple of books by this author but this one has raised my interest in reading more. Good, fast paced story with a few interesting twists

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Michael Connelly has not just one new fan -- he has the staff in my office, now, too!

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers Favorite

    Defense attorney Mickey Haller represents the scum of the earth, the forlorn and the disparaged. Once in a while, he catches a break and gets an a-lister as a client. Things that seem too good to be true are usually like this case. It isn't long before Mickey Haller finds himself in a web of deceit that only gets darker and closer to home. Soon he finds himself in a race to get ahead of the game, no matter what the stakes.

    Michael Connelly has done an amazing job creating a story that is so life-like that in a matter of moments I found myself completely enthralled in the next twist. Only after I had listened to the entire 10 cd audio book did I learn that the author has created a series with Mickey Haller. I was overjoyed!

    Adam Grupper's voice comes through the speakers so true to character - you know, the one with the dark coat and hat who takes no flack. As he assumes other characters, he does so just enough to make the distinction but not distract from the story.

    Not only did I listen to this every moment I was in the car, I brought it in to work with my laptop and listened while doing simple paperwork. The days went by so quickly, my co-workers turning now and then to see why I was chuckling at the great one-liners or sucking in air in surprise.

    Michael Connelly has not just one new fan -- he has the staff in my office, now, too!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Connelly is at the top of his game.

    Michael Connelly quickly creates such vivid and interesting characters, then spins the story so fast that it becomes difficult to put his books down. I've read all of his books and while I wasn't excited with the idea of a story about a lawyer or a courtroom drama, I knew Connelly would not let me down. He exceeded my expectations. I'm amazed at how quickly Connelly is able to get new books out and hope he keeps up his current pace. The way he weaves characters through different books, I look forward to Mickey Haller meeting Harry Bosch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Boooo yaaa

    CAAAAAA SHHHAAAA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1764 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 89