Customer Reviews for

The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1745 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(811)

4 Star

(550)

3 Star

(218)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

A Pleasant Surprise

I bought this title as a bargain book having no prior experience with this author. This turns out to be a great read, with suspense, danger, courtroom drama, and a plot full of twists and turns. The characters are drawn well and the narrative is crisp without being sh...
I bought this title as a bargain book having no prior experience with this author. This turns out to be a great read, with suspense, danger, courtroom drama, and a plot full of twists and turns. The characters are drawn well and the narrative is crisp without being shallow. Very satisfying and right up there with the best from Turow and Diehl.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good plot

This was a reasonably good book; I am really turned off by use of the f-word, and though it wasn't excessive in this book I just don't see the need to use it. I would rather have gotten it as a library book.

posted by 10160513 on October 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 550 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Worth the read.

    I haven't seen the movie, but after reading the book I'll probably get the movie. I really like the author's writing style. He made it a very comfortable read. Will be checking out more the of Mickey Haller Series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Good story!

    I really enjoyed the authors writing style. The story moved along nicely with good twists and turns to keep the reader interested. I would definitely buy another one of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. I have only read a couple of books by this author but this one has raised my interest in reading more. Good, fast paced story with a few interesting twists

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Great Read and fun to read. Well written Michael

    Great read. Bought it started it finished it. Couldn't put it down. Wanted to know what was next. I am certainly recommending this book as a great read. Not a 5 star because of a couple of issues that I felt were just a little to unbelievable but the 4 rating is certainly enough to recommend the book. Enjoy !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Great read

    Great read! Highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    So good!!!!

    Such a good book, lots of unexpected twists. Couldn't put it down, all I wanted to do was finish it! Definitely recommend!! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Good read,if you like John Grisham, you'll like this book.

    Bought it because it was on sale, read it because it was good. Once started, this book was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    This older, 360 page book was made into a movie and is a reread for me.

    This book cost about $3.00. It is around 360 pages long. The Lincoln Lawyer is one of the author's earlier works. It was on the best seller's list and has been made into a movie, which was also very good. This novel was very well edited, has likable characters, as well as a few well written scumbags, there is some cursing, violence, murder, ( not very graphic) sex ( not very detailed) no religion and lots of suspense. I enjoyed this book immensely, the first time I read it, I really liked the movie and the reread was well worth my time. This is a lawyer/ murder mystery and suitable for both men and women. I would say 16 year olds could read this, I am just not sure they would want to.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great read

    Characters are well developed and the story moves at a rapid pace. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    I read the book and then saw the movie and it was so good. Very

    I read the book and then saw the movie and it was so good. Very few books turned into movies do no do the book the justice it deserves, but this one did. So glad to have been exposed to Michael Connelly. Will look for more of his writings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    !!

    As always (I think), the book is way better than the movie. All connelly books are great, esp the harry bosch novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    If you like Law and Order, this is the book for you. This novel

    If you like Law and Order, this is the book for you. This novel starts off slowly, but quickly picks up as Louis Roulet is accused of aggravated assault and attempted rape. Connelly has great imagination and can really keep you hooked at the end of a scene. At the end of each chapter, I would always be wondering what would come next. I would predict what would happen, but because of all the unexpected turns, my prediction would be wrong. Basically, reading this, I was on the edge the whole time. You would not know what to expect through the whole novel because so much happens. There are many unexpected turns that it keeps you wondering! The part that got me fixed was when Roulet threatened Haller’s family. It even made me scared for Haller and his family. I would definitely recommend this if you like crime or thrilling books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    Reading the whole series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Great character. Should be a TV show.

    I had forgotten the movie, and the details slowly came back but didn't spoil the reading of this book. Very entertaining characters and good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    try it you'll enjoy it

    i enjoyed the lincoln lawyer a lot.......fast moving and holds your interest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Better than the movie!

    I bought this because I had recently watched the movie version of this book. I thought the novel was better than the movie, though I couldn't stop picturing Matthew McConaughey as the main character. (Which isn't necessarily a bad thing) ;)

    The book is well-written and gives you an inside look at the daily ins-and-outs of the legal world.

    I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Lincoln Lawyer Mickey Haller Series Book One By Michael Conn

    The Lincoln Lawyer
    Mickey Haller Series Book One
    By Michael Connelly

    Mickey Haller is a criminal defense attorney whose client list ranges from bikers and prostitutes to drunk drivers and drug dealers. One day a bail bonds man who is “on his Christmas list” calls him up with what they call a franchise case, a person who can pay your high fees and a trial that will subsequently drag on, but when Haller takes on the case of the innocent rich kid supposedly attempting to murder a prostitute, he may get more than he had bargained for. What happens when the client in question turns out to be truly evil?

    The main character is not your ordinary sleazy lawyer, but a man with two ex-wives whom are still a part of his life, a daughter, and compassion for the so called criminals he defends even if they are guilty. The way the author not only has his main character feel compassion for the criminals he defends but you soon find yourself having the same empathy. The main character seems to be rounded out by the cast of this novel, taking him from an almost despicable man to one whom you care for in the end. Not only does Michael Connelly do a brilliant job with his cast of characters but he also had a storyline so full of twists and drama that this is a remarkable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Lincoln Lawyer

    Great book fast paced and made me want to see the movie. I cant imagine the terror of defending someone that tnreatens my family my kids. I wkuld have went with both bands on a barrel of a gun for death ti, we part. Excellent eritten a d believable charaters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Mickey Haller doesn’t have any superpowers that I’m

    Mickey Haller doesn’t have any superpowers that I’m aware of, but he does have an unorthodox office, and more than a few demons of his own. He’s strong when the pressure’s on, and he has unique contacts that serve him well. He’s a fighter without the gloves or the baggy shorts.

    The plot twists are well-crafted, and the writing practically punches up off the page. It’s an in-your-face read with an in-your-face main character that doesn’t manage to let go. With a Lincoln featured prominently in the novel, enough action to leave you satisfied, and a strong man to hold it altogether, it’s MANfiction worthy of the name. If you liked the movie, you need to read the book. Even if you didn’t like the movie, but you like legal thrillers, you’ll want to read this book. Because Michael Connelly knows how to write a good thriller.

    Robert Downs
    Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigators

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 550 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28