Customer Reviews for

The Lincoln Myth (Cotton Malone Series #9)

Average Rating 3.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fast paced and exciting! I received an advance reader edition o

Fast paced and exciting!

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Publishing Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

4 Stars

This is the ninth book in Steve Berry's Cotton Malone Series. Generally, I like to read...
Fast paced and exciting!

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Publishing Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

4 Stars

This is the ninth book in Steve Berry's Cotton Malone Series. Generally, I like to read books that are part of a series in order. I jumped into this series on this book which is the ninth book in the series. There is a part of my brain that screamed "NO" and wanted me to first go back and read the 8 prior books in this series before starting this book but I ignored it and moved ahead. This book reads just fine as a stand alone novel in my opinion. There were a few points in the book that I had wished I knew some of the back story regarding character relationships but it was not necessary to enjoy this book.

This was a very fast paced and exciting book that was focused on a mystery that began early in our nation's history. This book had a large focus on the Mormon church, both past and present. There is a mystery surrounding a document that could endanger the United States as we know it today at the core of this novel. This mystery stretches back to the men involved in writing the Constitution, Abraham Lincoln, and Brigham Young to name a few.

Cotton Malone was one of many major characters in this novel. Cotton is a retired Magellan Billet agent who is asked to do a favor for his former boss. He agrees and is pulled into something larger than he expects. His girlfriend, Cassiopeia Vitt, has also been recruited to the cause without Cotton's knowledge. The story plays out in several settings with no shortage of action or suspense.

I found that I enjoyed this book quite a lot. It was fast paced and exciting with tons of action. I also enjoyed the parts of the novel that had a historical setting. Since this book is a work of fiction, I read the book assuming all of the historical parts of the book where nothing but fiction. I did enjoy the author notes at the end of the book that did explain which parts of the book might have a basis in actual history and which parts were fabricated to fit into the story.

Overall, I found this to be a well written book. I would recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys a quick moving mystery full of action. This was the first book that I have had the chance to read by Steve Berry and I look forward to reading other works by this author in the future.

The great enemy of truth is very often not the lie - deliberate, contrived and dishonest - but the myth - persistent, persuasive, and unrealistic.

-John F. Kennedy

posted by Caroles_Random_Life on May 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment! This book was very tedious to read and I

What a disappointment! This book was very tedious to read and I only finished the whole book because I couldn’t believe that Steven Berry would write such mind-numbing story.
I have read all the other “Cotton Malone” novels that Mr. Berry published and I found each ...
What a disappointment! This book was very tedious to read and I only finished the whole book because I couldn’t believe that Steven Berry would write such mind-numbing story.
I have read all the other “Cotton Malone” novels that Mr. Berry published and I found each one to be exciting, thrilling, and a page turner. Unfortunately this book does not follow suit. Instead, you get a detailed “religious instruction” lesson about the Latter-day Saints. I, however, did not buy this book for that purpose. I bought this book to be entertained and that did not happen.
If you decide to purchase this book, I would give you one suggestion. If, like me, you know very little about the Mormon Church, then before you start reading the “Lincoln Myth” go online to Wikipedia and read information about the History of the Latter Day Saint movement. I suggest this because if you understood the history of the Mormons, the names of their Prophets, and how the hierarchy of the church is organized you might find this book less tedious to read.
Oh, and be aware that you will find one of the characters in the “Lincoln Myth” who can see and talk to a dead Mormon prophet who appears above his head… what a stupid and ridiculous These many “conversations” between them were boring and waste of my time to read. I guess Steven Berry had to fill the pages of his new book with something, and he just ran out of ideas which would create a thrilling, adventure story for his fans to read. What a disappointment.

posted by 11545651 on June 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced and exciting! I received an advance reader edition o

    Fast paced and exciting!

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Publishing Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    4 Stars

    This is the ninth book in Steve Berry's Cotton Malone Series. Generally, I like to read books that are part of a series in order. I jumped into this series on this book which is the ninth book in the series. There is a part of my brain that screamed "NO" and wanted me to first go back and read the 8 prior books in this series before starting this book but I ignored it and moved ahead. This book reads just fine as a stand alone novel in my opinion. There were a few points in the book that I had wished I knew some of the back story regarding character relationships but it was not necessary to enjoy this book.

    This was a very fast paced and exciting book that was focused on a mystery that began early in our nation's history. This book had a large focus on the Mormon church, both past and present. There is a mystery surrounding a document that could endanger the United States as we know it today at the core of this novel. This mystery stretches back to the men involved in writing the Constitution, Abraham Lincoln, and Brigham Young to name a few.

    Cotton Malone was one of many major characters in this novel. Cotton is a retired Magellan Billet agent who is asked to do a favor for his former boss. He agrees and is pulled into something larger than he expects. His girlfriend, Cassiopeia Vitt, has also been recruited to the cause without Cotton's knowledge. The story plays out in several settings with no shortage of action or suspense.

    I found that I enjoyed this book quite a lot. It was fast paced and exciting with tons of action. I also enjoyed the parts of the novel that had a historical setting. Since this book is a work of fiction, I read the book assuming all of the historical parts of the book where nothing but fiction. I did enjoy the author notes at the end of the book that did explain which parts of the book might have a basis in actual history and which parts were fabricated to fit into the story.

    Overall, I found this to be a well written book. I would recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys a quick moving mystery full of action. This was the first book that I have had the chance to read by Steve Berry and I look forward to reading other works by this author in the future.

    The great enemy of truth is very often not the lie - deliberate, contrived and dishonest - but the myth - persistent, persuasive, and unrealistic.

    -John F. Kennedy

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2015

    Must Read

    I'm a huge Steve Berry fan and his Cotton Malone Series is the best. I love how he takes historical references and inputs them into present day. A book that is a great read that you don't want to put down. I have the entire series and like to re-read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting historical fiction!

    As usual, a blend of actual and fictional history woven into a fast-paced tale of murder, greed and possibly the end of the United States of America!
    It is a good thriller about the American civil war and the history of the Mormon's and the events surrounding these 2 entities. I once again, could not put it down for long and was up till midnight finishing it. Love a good book and this was one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    Highly recommend.

    Steve Berry has created yet another interesting adventure with Cotton Malone. Contains lots of info about the Mormon religion, much of it factual. If you've liked Berry's previous books you'll enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Lincoln Myth by Steve Berry "The greatest enemy of tru

    The Lincoln Myth by Steve Berry

    "The greatest enemy of truth is often not the lie - deliberate, contrived and dishonest - but the myth - persistent, persuasive and unrealistic." John F. Kennedy.

    This book is based on the Lincoln myth. When you mention President Lincoln to an American, the first thing that comes to mind is the emancipation of the slaves. But the truth is rather different: "My task is to save the Union. I would save it the shortest way under the Constitution. If I could save the Union without freeing any slave, I would do it." Abraham Lincoln 1862.

    The Senior Mormon US Senator from Utah, Thadeus Rowan is plotting to get Utah to secede from the US. The senator has done his homework. Apparently at the start of the US Civil War, President Lincoln made a deal with Brigham Young: Young would stay out of the war, guarantee access of the Union to the Western Sates, and Lincoln would leave the Mormons alone. To seal the deal, Lincoln gave Prophet Young a document in which it was proven that states are allowed to secede. A document that has been passed down by each US President since George Washington. The Mormons have kept it safe, but Rowan, who's in line to become the nest Mormon Prophet, has a different idea.

    One of Rowan's lieutenants, Apostle Josepe Salazar has kidnapped an agent from The Magellan Billet. Cotton Malone is recruited by his prior boss, Stephanie Nelle to try to save him Aided by President Daniel's nephew and rising star in the Billet, Luke Daniels, they arrive too late at the scene. Salazar has killed the agent. But there is an added surprise, Cassiopeia Vitt, Malone's girlfriend, is with Salazar. Apparently she and Salazar courted each other when they were young and unbeknown to Cotton Malone she was recruited by Nelle to spy on Salazar. Cassiopeia was not told of Malone's involvement. Bad blood results when Cotton sees her lover making out with Salazar, and when Cassiopeia learns Malone has been involved.

    Set in Copenhagen, Salzburg, Washington DC, Des Moines, Salt Lake City and the State of Utah, the plot moves rapidly to unveil a fact that has been discussed rarely: according to this book, James Madison kept a log of the discussions of the Continental Congress - who were responsible for the writing The Constitution - in which it becomes clear that the Founding Fathers thought that states had the right to secede. In their ratification votes to approve the new constitution, Virginia, Rhode island, and New York specifically reserved the right to secede. A separate document was signed - in which it was stated that states had a right to secede - but kept separate from the final draft. This document was given to President Washington to do as he saw fit. it was passed from President to president until Lincoln gave it to Young.

    President Daniels uses Stephanie to infiltrate the Senator's inner circle and pass bad intelligence. As Rowan and Salazar are ready to hold a vote for secession, they all are lead to the Rhoades Gold mine near Salt Lake. Daniels and the current Mormon Prophet, Charles R. Snow, have decided some of the people in possession of this knowledge of secession must be eliminated to preserve the Union. Clearly, both Salazar and Rowen need to go - but Cassiopeia, in failing to save Salazar, turns her frustration into anger against Cotton.

    The Union is saved, but Rowan and Salazar are killed which causes a split between Cotton and Cassiopeia.

    Told from the third person point of view, Berry is a master at narrating scenes from more than one point of view. A wonderful thriller and, for those of us who love his work, another great read. The only problem with the work is that at times, the research drowns the action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    Recommended

    I was a little unclear when reading all the historical parts and their true significance about the Civil War. I read the Cotton Malone series because of all the European locations they take me and this one did not disappoint. I like that Cotton has "fessed up" to his true feelings for Ms. Vitt; to himself anyway.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Interesting discussion about our founding fathers, Lincoln's dec

    Interesting discussion about our founding fathers, Lincoln's decisions, and the Constitution.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Lincoln Myth was my first experience with Steve Berry and th

    The Lincoln Myth was my first experience with Steve Berry and the Cotton Malone series. I enjoyed it, but wasn't blown away. The mormon storyline was very interesting. The story moved rapidly and Cotton Malone is a solid character. I didn't care at all for Cassiopia. Not sure if she is always like this or if this was a turning point for her character. I'll pick up some of the earlier stories and give them a try. Any Suggestions on where to start?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    not too bad.

    slow read. ok story. sort of a drag

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Fascinating Book

    Of all of Steve Berry's books this one is the most fascinating so far. I find the subject totally educational and am enjoying the intrigue, as well as the characters that are familiar and comfortable to read about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    rcommended

    good enough for 4 stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Awesome read

    Love the way Mr. Berry mixes fact with fiction and comes up with an entertaining story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    This is my first Cotton Malone book. I was unsure what to expect

    This is my first Cotton Malone book. I was unsure what to expect and can now not wait to get my hands on more in this series.    Living in Illinois, I am always intrigued by books that tell stories of Abraham Lincoln and his presidency.  The Lincoln Myth tells a tale that is not what I would normally think of when talking of Lincoln and his history.   I loved the history shared in the story along with the fiction thrown in to keep me fully entertained.    The story was face paced and never let me put it down. 




    Religion is a tough topic.   To choose to put the Morman religion front and center intrigued me.  The Morman faith is not something I am very familiar with so I was constantly making notes to be checked out at a later date so that I could get the entire story surrounding what was being told.   




    I found the author notes at the end of the story to be extremely helpful and enjoyed reading them to find out what was fact and what was fiction along with getting the rest of the history on some of the locals and items found through The Lincoln Myth. 








    I am anxious to read more from Steve Berry.  This is a book I will definitely recommend especially to history buffs. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2