Customer Reviews for

The Lincoln Myth (Cotton Malone Series #9)

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

Another great story by Steve Berry! The Lincoln Myth takes you on twists and turns through Europe and the US. What will happen next between Cotton & Cassiopia and Stephany & Danny? Like the new Magellan Billet agent, Luke. Will we see more of him?

posted by BarbT1 on May 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment! This book was very tedious to read and I

What a disappointment! This book was very tedious to read and I only finished the whole book because I couldn’t believe that Steven Berry would write such mind-numbing story.
I have read all the other “Cotton Malone” novels that Mr. Berry published and I found each ...
What a disappointment! This book was very tedious to read and I only finished the whole book because I couldn’t believe that Steven Berry would write such mind-numbing story.
I have read all the other “Cotton Malone” novels that Mr. Berry published and I found each one to be exciting, thrilling, and a page turner. Unfortunately this book does not follow suit. Instead, you get a detailed “religious instruction” lesson about the Latter-day Saints. I, however, did not buy this book for that purpose. I bought this book to be entertained and that did not happen.
If you decide to purchase this book, I would give you one suggestion. If, like me, you know very little about the Mormon Church, then before you start reading the “Lincoln Myth” go online to Wikipedia and read information about the History of the Latter Day Saint movement. I suggest this because if you understood the history of the Mormons, the names of their Prophets, and how the hierarchy of the church is organized you might find this book less tedious to read.
Oh, and be aware that you will find one of the characters in the “Lincoln Myth” who can see and talk to a dead Mormon prophet who appears above his head… what a stupid and ridiculous These many “conversations” between them were boring and waste of my time to read. I guess Steven Berry had to fill the pages of his new book with something, and he just ran out of ideas which would create a thrilling, adventure story for his fans to read. What a disappointment.

posted by 11545651 on June 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Fantastic

    Another great story by Steve Berry! The Lincoln Myth takes you on twists and turns through Europe and the US. What will happen next between Cotton & Cassiopia and Stephany & Danny? Like the new Magellan Billet agent, Luke. Will we see more of him?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Fast paced mystery/history thriller!!

    Another great mystery/history thriller by Steve Berry. Cotton's love interest throws throws him for a loop! a real page burner!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    As always,a great thought provoking story from a history master,

    As always,a great thought provoking story from a history master, Steve Berry.  Numerous twists in Europe and America.  Excited to see what is next for Cotton, Cassiopia, Stephanie and the Daniels family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Fantastic

    I couldn't wait to start this latest Cotton Malone book! I found to very exciting and a definite page turner. I also learned a few little know facts about our history and it give you a few thoughts to ponder. Can't wait for the next in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Another successful weaving of history and fiction

    Steve Berry's latest novel is yet another successful weaving of history and fiction. Following the exploits of Cotton Malone and the other fascinating characters only makes me wish Mr. Berry could continue his series at a faster pace. Of course, having read all previous Malone adventures, I eagerly look forward to Cotton's next enterprise.

    This book is for one who loves a good mystery and appreciates the mix of history with superb creative writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    I Don't Want to Finish this Book!

    This is another page-turner about my man, Cotton Malone. It is written by one of my fav novelist, Steve Berry.
    That could almost sum up my review, because those two characters are an awesome pair. However, The Lincoln Myth has more folks that stop in to help Steve & Cotton. Miss Vitt, Stephenie Nell, Edwin Davis and Danny Daniels ( president in last of second term ). We know the support characters to differing degrees. Mr. Berry shows the reader a little more of these individuals' personalities.
    The main new folks are very well developed! The Senator is quite intellgent but - well just not right. Salazar is down right nasty. The Prophet is surprising. Luke and Katie are young, not very experienced but show us how wisdom can start to be shown even at an age younger than previously thought.
    Now I've had my say about the people in the latest ' Cotton Malone ' mystery. But to rate the novel is a different matter. A professional writer and English professor I'm not, however, an Op-Ed reader I am albeit a pro no. This is a book I didn't want to put down! I literally could not turn the pages fast enough. I just wanted to see what came next. Then... I realized I almost wanted to stop reading my novel! If I continued, I'd get to the end. I would know how The Lincoln Myth finished, but then the story woukd be over. It may sound unusual but I did & did not desire to read to the conclusion. Steve Berry may, and I repeat may, have used a few too many trite expressions and verbage that he brought from other novels. If that is the only generalized complaint that I can point out, then there isn't much I can do besides read on. Thank you Mr. Berry and Cotton & friends!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Steve Berry at his finest...

    If you're a history buff you will appreciate this fiction that has historical background. Cotton Malone is up to his neck in action and suspense while leaning new facts about his Cassiopea. See how the fast actions of our heros preserve the foundation our Country was built on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Timely with the 150th anniversary of the Civil War

    It is a provocative subject - the possibility of a state being able to secede from the union. The suspense bounces between the Constitutional Convention, The Civil War and current times. This is the first Steve Berry book I have read but definitely intend to read the prior 8 in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This is a GOOD read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    A must read

    This book gives an interesting insight into the Civil War and certain little know aspects of our Constitution combined with a page-turning story of what could well have been. I always enjoy Steve Berry's books because of the historical "what ifs" built into great stories. Especially illuminating is his writing at the end of each novel separating fact from fiction. (Think of what our situation might be today if Lincoln had not prevailed)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Excellent book

    I really enjoyed this book as I do all of Steve Berry's works

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Vacation Read!

    I have read the prologue and am eager to start in .... but bought it for vacation flight reading to and from Hawaii next month .. so am hoarding it away until then!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    Fantastic! This is another one of those novels that moves fast f

    Fantastic! This is another one of those novels that moves fast from start to finish leaving you as exhausted as the characters. And yet Mr. Berry doesn't skip any detail ensuring a plausible storyline mixed with actual events. I can hardly wait to see what he has in store for us readers next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    As usual, Steve Berry has come up with a great read. Finished i

    As usual, Steve Berry has come up with a great read. Finished it last night on my Nook.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great, great, great!

    As with all Steve Berry books, I couldn't put it down. He always makes me question history. Can't wait for the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2