Customer Reviews for

The List

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Sample of the book

I have read the book already.Since there is no sample i am giving you one.This about 8 of 9th-12th grade girls being judged prettiest to ugliest before homecoming.As you keep on reading the book,the events get harsher and harsher.I would recommend girls ages 12-18 (7th...
I have read the book already.Since there is no sample i am giving you one.This about 8 of 9th-12th grade girls being judged prettiest to ugliest before homecoming.As you keep on reading the book,the events get harsher and harsher.I would recommend girls ages 12-18 (7th-12th grade) should read this.If you are 11 (6th grade) and you really want to read it you must stay focused throughout the book.THATS ALL I AM GOING TO SAY PEACE HOMEDOGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 2729635 on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Good book but absolutely horrible ending. I loved this book righ

Good book but absolutely horrible ending. I loved this book right up until the last paged. It ended abruptly and incomplete. Prepared to be left disappointed, confused, and irritated.

posted by 5662030 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Sample of the book

    I have read the book already.Since there is no sample i am giving you one.This about 8 of 9th-12th grade girls being judged prettiest to ugliest before homecoming.As you keep on reading the book,the events get harsher and harsher.I would recommend girls ages 12-18 (7th-12th grade) should read this.If you are 11 (6th grade) and you really want to read it you must stay focused throughout the book.THATS ALL I AM GOING TO SAY PEACE HOMEDOGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    49 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Sample

    Please put a sample!

    43 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Harsh, But Realistic View of the Life of An Average High School Girl

    3.5 stars

    The collective PEOPLE always say that high school years are the best ones of your life, but I think we’ve all come to the conclusion that that statement is far from true for most people. For a select few, high school is four years of amazingness, but for most, it’s just a set of years that are good, or okay, or bearable. For others, it’s Hell. Siobhan Vivian’s The List explores a week in the life of eight different high school girls – some popular, some not. Their ages range from 14-17/18 and their social groups come to mean nothing. Absolutely nothing when THE LIST is released and four girls are crowned as being gorgeous and four others are ostracized and deemed the pinnacle of ugly at their high school.

    Vivian’s take on such a cruel act is told with realistic voices and saddening honesty. It’s in human nature to feel pain, but it should not be human nature to inflict it upon others…but it seems that it is. High school can be beyond cruel and The List highlights how superficial and judgmental it can be. Vivian presents readers with eight girls and eight different perspectives, so, while quite an ambitious undertaking, it does fall short at times.

    It’s impossible to adequately flesh out eight main characters in 300 pages, so I was okay with some characters sticking out more than others. I even felt a connection to some of them, but I wish there was more to the plot. I also wish the adult characters had more of a role in the entire situation; especially the principal who was involved from the moment the list went up. Instead, she has a couple of scenes with some stern glares and empty threats.

    Despite all that, The List is still a quick read that shows how hard high school life can be and how objectified women, no girls, can be. The ending is a bit abrupt and leaves so many loose ends, but I still enjoyed the overall story. The ugly girls, the pretty girls, the popular girls, they all have something in common: they’re insecure, they’re self-conscious, and they want to be accepted even when they pretend they don’t. It’s a universal story that all young women can relate to.

    39 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Good book but absolutely horrible ending. I loved this book righ

    Good book but absolutely horrible ending. I loved this book right up until the last paged. It ended abruptly and incomplete. Prepared to be left disappointed, confused, and irritated.

    29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    A little confusing but otherwise a fabulous book

    I just read it and it was good but he end was alittle confusing it is a good book but to many different people some times i got really confused on who was who cuz theres 8 different piont of views i had to keep going back and look at the picture of the list to see who was talking but other wise it was a great so you should read it even though there is no sample

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    This is an amazing read. The ending seemed like it could be left

    This is an amazing read. The ending seemed like it could be left open for a sequel. If it was I'd most defiantly would buy it!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    As a high school girl I connected to this book so much. It doesn

    As a high school girl I connected to this book so much. It doesn't matter if your the popular cheerleader or the nerdy bookworm, everyone will relate to this book. High school can be a horrible place and this book showed it. I especially liked how eating disorders were precieved in the book. The author really got into the heart and soul of a girl who just wanted to be skinny. Not that she already wasn't.Everyone girl will relate to this book and will find something they love about it. If anything the ending was a bit adrupt and left me a little dissapointed but, I highly recommend this book to any teenage girl out there.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Yes!

    This is one of my favorite books ever!!!!! I really recomend it to people that like gossip!!!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Pretty Good

    This book was really good, but then I got to the last page. It was just ended. I felt that the story was incomplete. However, it was left open to a sequel. I really hope there is a sequel, but if there is not one, I will feel like I just wasted my time. This book is also a little confusing. I had to keep going back and looking at the picture of the list. Overall, this book was OK and a good read. I would reccomend this for 12-16 year old girls.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    SPOILER ALERT

    Hahaha they all die!!!!!!!!hehe just kidding just kidding calm down and get a new pair of pants tehehehehe:P

    8 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    great read!!!!

    I couldn't put the book down. Several pov's so you were defenitly never bored. A lot of people commented on the ending negativly but I found it perfect, it really showed the deeper meaning of the book. Does have heavy language andsome innapropriate refrences so you'll have to be the judge if you can handle that. But overall fantastic, impossible to put down. Buy this book you won't regret it!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    The moment I saw this book at a bookstore I can't stop reading i

    The moment I saw this book at a bookstore I can't stop reading it. A must read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    ?

    There is no sample...

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    All the characters were not every interesting. This book was fil

    All the characters were not every interesting. This book was filled with superficial causes and too many plots going on one book. It was confusing at times. 

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Ok

    I guess it's good for a shallow, teeny-bopper book, but it's not for me. My better instincts told me that I wouldn't like it, but I went against them anyway. I got through it really fast, but I found the characters pretty superficial and one-dimensional. Also, I feel that the book was too limited in the time frame and not limited enough in the amount of points of view to get enough development. The thing I probably hated most is that the book's main focus is beauty and ugliness, and there is almost no physical description on any of the characters besides hair color! My favorite part was the quote by Henry David Thoreau before the story even started: "The perception of beauty is a moral test."

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Really good book! Cant put it down!

    Really good book! Cant put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Umm ending.

    The ending is very abroubt and when i was on the last page....i didnt realize it was the last page...
    I think there should be a sequel

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Best book

    Oh i forgot to put in my other review that........... THERE BETTER BE A SEQUEL(i think its called that) BECAUSE I WAS VERY SAD WHEN THIS BOOK ENDED BECSUSE I WAS HOPING FOR more and sorry for caps..... read it you wont regret it!!! :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Amazing!

    Totally thrilling, didn't see that ending coming! <3

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Awesome book!!

    I LOVE it!!!
    Best book ever.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6