BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lock Artist

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good locked "box" mystery

Although he is silent and has been mute since a traumatic incident back in 1990 when he was eight, Mike Smith has become the "Golden Boy" box man as he can open any safe. He realized his skill as a proficient box man when he was seventeen years old. Since his ability ...
Although he is silent and has been mute since a traumatic incident back in 1990 when he was eight, Mike Smith has become the "Golden Boy" box man as he can open any safe. He realized his skill as a proficient box man when he was seventeen years old. Since his ability as the Lock Artist of choice he has been in demand by criminals who need his talent.

Mike has spent nine years in prison for his artistic safe breaking skills. However even as his prime client in Detroit must never be angered or else, Mike meets and falls in love with Amelia. A throwback to a gentler romantic time, Mike vows to keep his beloved safe from perils he imagines that lead him into a deadly multimillion-dollar con that requires him to escape a locked box murder.

As Alex McKnight takes a winter's break, fans will enjoy Mike Smith's biographical fictional mystery; as he relates his tale to an enthralled audience. The story line is fast-paced especially after Mike moves past lock breaking 101 and 102 as the antihero begins to get into deep trouble with his mob peers after falling in love. Fans will relish his escapades as ironically he must extract himself from a locked "box" mystery.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

It is true that the story is well written and draws you in. However, I have never read a book that used the 'F' word so many times. Good story, but could have done without the language and the gore.

posted by 6155263 on November 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Disappointed

    It is true that the story is well written and draws you in. However, I have never read a book that used the 'F' word so many times. Good story, but could have done without the language and the gore.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good locked "box" mystery

    Although he is silent and has been mute since a traumatic incident back in 1990 when he was eight, Mike Smith has become the "Golden Boy" box man as he can open any safe. He realized his skill as a proficient box man when he was seventeen years old. Since his ability as the Lock Artist of choice he has been in demand by criminals who need his talent.

    Mike has spent nine years in prison for his artistic safe breaking skills. However even as his prime client in Detroit must never be angered or else, Mike meets and falls in love with Amelia. A throwback to a gentler romantic time, Mike vows to keep his beloved safe from perils he imagines that lead him into a deadly multimillion-dollar con that requires him to escape a locked box murder.

    As Alex McKnight takes a winter's break, fans will enjoy Mike Smith's biographical fictional mystery; as he relates his tale to an enthralled audience. The story line is fast-paced especially after Mike moves past lock breaking 101 and 102 as the antihero begins to get into deep trouble with his mob peers after falling in love. Fans will relish his escapades as ironically he must extract himself from a locked "box" mystery.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    This is a great book! I loved it!!

    This is a great book! I loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Great book. It's been a long time since I've read something that

    Great book. It's been a long time since I've read something that demands I read more instead of leaving it with my stack of other half-read books.
    There is a lot of violence/foul language, but I was easily able to look past it and it didn't interfere at all with my enjoyment of my book, contrary to other reviewers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    It was ok but...

    I agree with another review on this book, it was good jowever the profanity, cussing, and gore i however do not think was neccessary

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Well crafted story

    The story is told with a number of flashbacks about a young man who learns to open all kinds of locks and safes. There is some horrible event in his past that took away his ability to speak. As he learns about more complicated locks and is sucked into crime, he meets a young woman and fall in love. Between mistakes by his criminal employers and a persistent FBI agent following him, it is in doubt if he will have a chance to understand his past and build a relationship with the young woman.

    Described this way, it sounds like a mixed up plot, but Hamilton makes it work well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    I enjoyed this book far more than I expected. I hate to provi

    I enjoyed this book far more than I expected. I hate to provide too much detail about what I enjoyed because there's always uncertainty in a good story's narrative arc and you don't want to ruin the next readers sense of suspense. I read between 10-15 novels/year and this is my favorite over the past 18 months.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    This is a book that I grew to love. I thought it was a bit slow

    This is a book that I grew to love. I thought it was a bit slow in the beginning, not really catching my attention but after I hit a certain point I had to know what happens next: How he ended up where he did, what horrible event caused him to never speak again and of course everything Amelia! The book kept me guessing. I thought I figured it out and where it was going but I was so very wrong. I was revoltingly pleased with the ending. The author played with my emotions on this one. Well written, great read. I recommend to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Draws you in and absolutely won't let go

    A childhood trauma, central to the story in all ways, keeps the the pages turning just as fast as you can read them. I'm usually apprehensive when it comes to reading stand-alone novels by an author of a critically acclaimed series, especially one I enjoy so much. In this case the Alex Mcknight stories. But no worries here, as Steve Hamilton has written an altogether original and engaging book about a young man trying to find his way in life. The trials and travails the protagonist Michael endures would daunt most, yet he faces them without the ability to speak a single word, a condition caused by the tragedy of his childhood. There are thugs and evil-doers who all want a piece of michael by way of coercing his almost magical talents of picking locks and cracking safes. His only weapons against these people are his love of a young woman and his natural gift of drawing. On the surface,the circumstances of the story The Lock Artist sound a bit odd, but in reality they only serve to demonstrate Mr. Hamilton's talent as he has seamlessly woven together a believable and captivating tale that's hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    This is one of my favorite books.

    This is one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    A unique and smart story. Not his recurring character but a comp

    A unique and smart story. Not his recurring character but a compelling and original main character nonetheless. If you're a fan of SH, you'll like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    not his best...

    not one of steve hamilton's best....could not get into it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Unusual Character

    Held my attention. Easy reader and a memorable character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Amazing

    Amazong. Keeps you hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    At first it was a little slow, but as soon as the first job, i c

    At first it was a little slow, but as soon as the first job, i couldn't put the book down.
    I love how interesting Mike is; how he is a selective mute. This adds so much curiosity to the plot.
    It's mainly a "Guy's Book" but i feel some women would enjoy as well.
    Some parts made my jaw drop and other parts had my eyes glued to the paper.
    GREAT READ!
    Thanks, BP 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Time-Locked part three: "Doctor! Long time no see!"

    Next thing I knew, we had landed in London. There was a satisfying noise as my TARDIS landed. I jogged from the center console to the door. My ship had camoflaged itself as a telephone booth. I leaned on it and waited for about ten seconds. The Doctor was quite a bit taller than me, maybe 6' 1" at the most. "Doctor! Long time no see!" I smiled. "How'd you manage to get here?" He asked. "It's a long story, lots of trial and error. Breaking, hacking, stealing..." I waved my hand dissmissively. "Anyway, my name's Nebulae." I stuck out my hand. He took it. "Good to see you again." He grinned. "Likewise." I laughed. A girl about the same size as me stepped foreward. She had brown hair and big brown eyes. "I'm Clara Oswald." She smiled, sticking out her hand. "Nebulae Eleskade." I nodded, taking her hand and shaking it. "She's my companion." The Doctor explained. "Always girls?" I laughed, raising an eyebrow. "No, there've been a couple, like Amy and Rory." He looked serious. "What do you do now adays?" I asked. He shrugged. "I just bounce around." "So, you're a traveler?" I laughed. "Yeah, actually." "I've always wanted to do that..." I trailed off, looking at the ground, my cheeks hot.
    "I think I'll go get some shut-eye..." I turned and slipped inside my TARDIS. After I had closed the doors, I slid to the floor with my back on the closed door. I guess I had forgotten how much I love that man.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I didn't find that this was one of my favorite reads, however, i

    I didn't find that this was one of my favorite reads, however, it wasn't the worst that I've ever read either. I felt like the story was a little long
    and drawn out and believe that a lot of it could have been omitted and still not take anything away from the story. Had that been the case,
    I may have enjoyed it a little more.

    I usually don't mind the story jumping back and forth through time, but for some reason, I found it slightly difficult to follow with The Lock
    Artist. For as much story that was there, I still felt like I didn't know enough. I did enjoy the story coming from Michael's perspective, but
    didn't care for the drastic jumps in time. Sometimes it was difficult to tell what part of Michael's life he was talking about and for it to make
    sense with everything else that has happened. 

    There were not many likable characters, if any in this story. I find it hard to even want to follow the characters if you have difficulty enjoying
    reading about them, which ended up being the case with most of this book's characters. I don't feel like we weren't educated enough on
    Michael to feel like you could have a relationship with his character. I felt like there were many things left to the imagination. I do feel like
    Michael was a unique character, but I found myself easily getting aggravated with him!

    I just feel like the story never really truly connected with Michael, the main character and I just could not feel like I was invested with the
    story or characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Very Intense book!

    Couldn't believe how good of a book this was until I read it! I've never read anything that had so much feeling and intensity than "The Lock Artist"!! Great job Steve Hamilton!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

      

      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6