Customer Reviews for

The Lock Artist

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good locked "box" mystery

Although he is silent and has been mute since a traumatic incident back in 1990 when he was eight, Mike Smith has become the "Golden Boy" box man as he can open any safe. He realized his skill as a proficient box man when he was seventeen years old. Since his ability ...
Although he is silent and has been mute since a traumatic incident back in 1990 when he was eight, Mike Smith has become the "Golden Boy" box man as he can open any safe. He realized his skill as a proficient box man when he was seventeen years old. Since his ability as the Lock Artist of choice he has been in demand by criminals who need his talent.

Mike has spent nine years in prison for his artistic safe breaking skills. However even as his prime client in Detroit must never be angered or else, Mike meets and falls in love with Amelia. A throwback to a gentler romantic time, Mike vows to keep his beloved safe from perils he imagines that lead him into a deadly multimillion-dollar con that requires him to escape a locked box murder.

As Alex McKnight takes a winter's break, fans will enjoy Mike Smith's biographical fictional mystery; as he relates his tale to an enthralled audience. The story line is fast-paced especially after Mike moves past lock breaking 101 and 102 as the antihero begins to get into deep trouble with his mob peers after falling in love. Fans will relish his escapades as ironically he must extract himself from a locked "box" mystery.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

It is true that the story is well written and draws you in. However, I have never read a book that used the 'F' word so many times. Good story, but could have done without the language and the gore.

posted by 6155263 on November 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good locked "box" mystery

    Although he is silent and has been mute since a traumatic incident back in 1990 when he was eight, Mike Smith has become the "Golden Boy" box man as he can open any safe. He realized his skill as a proficient box man when he was seventeen years old. Since his ability as the Lock Artist of choice he has been in demand by criminals who need his talent.

    Mike has spent nine years in prison for his artistic safe breaking skills. However even as his prime client in Detroit must never be angered or else, Mike meets and falls in love with Amelia. A throwback to a gentler romantic time, Mike vows to keep his beloved safe from perils he imagines that lead him into a deadly multimillion-dollar con that requires him to escape a locked box murder.

    As Alex McKnight takes a winter's break, fans will enjoy Mike Smith's biographical fictional mystery; as he relates his tale to an enthralled audience. The story line is fast-paced especially after Mike moves past lock breaking 101 and 102 as the antihero begins to get into deep trouble with his mob peers after falling in love. Fans will relish his escapades as ironically he must extract himself from a locked "box" mystery.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    This is a great book! I loved it!!

    This is a great book! I loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Great book. It's been a long time since I've read something that

    Great book. It's been a long time since I've read something that demands I read more instead of leaving it with my stack of other half-read books.
    There is a lot of violence/foul language, but I was easily able to look past it and it didn't interfere at all with my enjoyment of my book, contrary to other reviewers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Well crafted story

    The story is told with a number of flashbacks about a young man who learns to open all kinds of locks and safes. There is some horrible event in his past that took away his ability to speak. As he learns about more complicated locks and is sucked into crime, he meets a young woman and fall in love. Between mistakes by his criminal employers and a persistent FBI agent following him, it is in doubt if he will have a chance to understand his past and build a relationship with the young woman.

    Described this way, it sounds like a mixed up plot, but Hamilton makes it work well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    I enjoyed this book far more than I expected. I hate to provi

    I enjoyed this book far more than I expected. I hate to provide too much detail about what I enjoyed because there's always uncertainty in a good story's narrative arc and you don't want to ruin the next readers sense of suspense. I read between 10-15 novels/year and this is my favorite over the past 18 months.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    This is a book that I grew to love. I thought it was a bit slow

    This is a book that I grew to love. I thought it was a bit slow in the beginning, not really catching my attention but after I hit a certain point I had to know what happens next: How he ended up where he did, what horrible event caused him to never speak again and of course everything Amelia! The book kept me guessing. I thought I figured it out and where it was going but I was so very wrong. I was revoltingly pleased with the ending. The author played with my emotions on this one. Well written, great read. I recommend to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Amazing

    Amazong. Keeps you hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    At first it was a little slow, but as soon as the first job, i c

    At first it was a little slow, but as soon as the first job, i couldn't put the book down.
    I love how interesting Mike is; how he is a selective mute. This adds so much curiosity to the plot.
    It's mainly a "Guy's Book" but i feel some women would enjoy as well.
    Some parts made my jaw drop and other parts had my eyes glued to the paper.
    GREAT READ!
    Thanks, BP 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Time-Locked part three: "Doctor! Long time no see!"

    Next thing I knew, we had landed in London. There was a satisfying noise as my TARDIS landed. I jogged from the center console to the door. My ship had camoflaged itself as a telephone booth. I leaned on it and waited for about ten seconds. The Doctor was quite a bit taller than me, maybe 6' 1" at the most. "Doctor! Long time no see!" I smiled. "How'd you manage to get here?" He asked. "It's a long story, lots of trial and error. Breaking, hacking, stealing..." I waved my hand dissmissively. "Anyway, my name's Nebulae." I stuck out my hand. He took it. "Good to see you again." He grinned. "Likewise." I laughed. A girl about the same size as me stepped foreward. She had brown hair and big brown eyes. "I'm Clara Oswald." She smiled, sticking out her hand. "Nebulae Eleskade." I nodded, taking her hand and shaking it. "She's my companion." The Doctor explained. "Always girls?" I laughed, raising an eyebrow. "No, there've been a couple, like Amy and Rory." He looked serious. "What do you do now adays?" I asked. He shrugged. "I just bounce around." "So, you're a traveler?" I laughed. "Yeah, actually." "I've always wanted to do that..." I trailed off, looking at the ground, my cheeks hot.
    "I think I'll go get some shut-eye..." I turned and slipped inside my TARDIS. After I had closed the doors, I slid to the floor with my back on the closed door. I guess I had forgotten how much I love that man.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Very Intense book!

    Couldn't believe how good of a book this was until I read it! I've never read anything that had so much feeling and intensity than "The Lock Artist"!! Great job Steve Hamilton!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Steve Hamilton scores again.

    Another excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Amazing!

    This the best book I have ever read in my life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Absolutely Riveting

    A story with a secret that is very intricately revealed as each chapter swings between past and present. What a powerful book! I wanted so badly to know the secret however I intentionally did not rush through it. Reading a few chapters a day gave me time to think about the story, and ponder the reason for this mute young man.

    The events that shaped his life were nothing like I could have imagined - Something else that makes this book so interesting. Since reading this I now look at old storefronts differently, wondering what might really be going on behind the dirty glass and disarray.

    There are few books that I re-read. This one I want to save for a day where I can read it front to back with no interruptions, and savor it once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Draco

    Smiles. But twhat will u we th time cones?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Excellent writing: characters, plot

    Intrically plotted, well written. Ending is full of hope. I would love for this to be a series. I want to read Mike's next chapters in his life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    My intro to Hamilton

    I'd never heard of Steve Hamilton when I picked up this novel. The premise was intriguing and I was hooked by the writing style very quickly. It can be hard to find anything different and this book was, happily so. I went back to read his other books, the Alex McKnight series, and ending up having more admiration for The Lock Artist. Why? A writer who change change his voice and come up with a new feel to his work is rare. IMHO, this shift often makes for better work when they return to a previous character. Hamilton is not gimmicky, which I highly respect. His plots built gently with an organic logic. Give him a try, you'll be glad you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Great story, excellent piece of work!

    ?..& I'm not even finished yet! No regrets if you jump into this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Awesome

    What a great story. Stayed up all night to finish it. Definitly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    great book

    The story draws you in and you want to know what will happen next. The main character is mute because of childhood trauma so you imagine some terrible scenario but when you'll finnaly find out what happened to him it's even worse.
    I recommend it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just wow

    Michael is easily one of my top two favorite characters of all time. Amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3