Customer Reviews for

The Loners (Quarantine Series #1)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I have two sons- one of them a teenager. I was just bemoaning th

    I have two sons- one of them a teenager. I was just bemoaning the fact that there's a point at which boys seem to stop reading. Say around age 9-12. Why? To some extent, they run out of stuff to read. There is just not enough fiction being published that's appealing to teenage boys. So, they don't read and because they don't read, nothing much gets published that teenage boys will like. Because it won't sell, because teenage boys don't read. Kind of a big circular mess, actually. I'm mentioning this because if you have a teenage boy at home who is a reluctant reader, this is the book for him. In fact, this would be my 2012 pick for Reluctant Male Readers.

    However, I think the very things that boys will like about this book are things that (some) parents may have problems with. For starters, it's violent. Not just violent, but it contains very graphic violence. Second, there are sexual situations. For me personally as a parent, I find violence and sex in books less offensive and troublesome than in movies, TV, and video games. There's something about having a visual image that's more disturbing and video mediums lack the ability to convey the thought processes going on in a character's head. That whole gratuitous sex and violence thing that I think is common in movies, TV, and video games and is actually relatively rare in YA books.

    There are two major things that are appealing in this book. The first is a must for teenage boys- that something is always happening. This book is well-paced and there are constant twists, turns, and action. The plot consistently moves forward. As a parent, the thing I most liked about the book was the relationship between the two brothers- David and Will. I have two sons and my husband is one of four boys- three of them even went to high school at the same time. I found the relationship between David and Will to be both real and touching. The authors really captured the love/hate/competition thing that brothers- especially those close in age- seem to have.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿m pretty sure that the expression on my face while reading thi

    I’m pretty sure that the expression on my face while reading this book was pretty much mouth wide open with eyes bugged out.  Quarantine: The Loners by Lex Thomas was not at all what I had expected!  While I was expecting a story about infected students hunting down the survivors riddled all throughout the school and infecting them as well, what I found was something much worse, and in a way, even more frightening.

    David Thorpe thought that the worst thing about going back to school (senior year for David, and new high school student for Will) was facing a party incident gone wrong and facing the music.  Will Thorpe is just happy to be starting high school.  But when David’s teacher pretty much self-combusts in front of him, followed by an explosion that causes the school to crumble all around him, David, his brother, and the surviving students of McKinley high’s lives are forever changed…and not necessarily for the better.

    Turns out, the students are all infected with a virus that basically makes them very deadly to any adults.  Just being in the vicinity of one of them will cause them suffer a horrible death.  A virus so awful, that the students themselves are susceptible to it once they are of age.  The only light at the end of the tunnel is surviving until “graduation day”, where they are tested and if the virus is no longer found, they are granted their freedom to the outside world.  And so the military have quarantined them all in their high school, dropping off their food and rations via helicopter from atop the school into an open courtyard (very Hunger Games-esque).  The students are free to grab what they need and do what they need to survive.

    Unfortunately, a very real Lord of the Flies scenario plays out and the students start breaking apart into groups forming tribes of their very own.  Survival of the fittest really becomes important when it comes to staying alive.  The jocks have formed an uber strong tribe that pretty much rules the “land”, with the cheerleaders as their female counterpart.  Things slowly become less than perfect when the race for food turns into a deadly match.  Food and goods are bartered amongst the different tribes, and a new community is born.

    Unfortunately for David and Will, David’s violent outburst at a party makes him numero uno on the leader of the jocks’ (Sam) hit list.  And his brother, Will, is not safe, just by association.  With bounties being placed on his head, and his need to survive and protect his brother, David is constantly looking over his shoulder, and lurking in the shadows.  Questions of who to trust and who not to trust constantly in his head, it seems that David’s days are numbered, and when he’s gone, who will protect Will?

    Craziness!  This story was complete craziness.  I was surprised time and time again, and blown away by the violence and imagery found in the pages.  The author(s) did an amazing job in describing the chaos that happens inside the school.  They instilled fear while reading through the pages.  I was constantly worried for David and his brother, Will.  I wondered when Sam would finally get the vengeance he has been yearning for, time and time again.

    I couldn’t get over the fact that these every day students turned into these savage beasts that had a “who no mercy” mentally towards each other.  I can’t even begin to imagine how things would be if this type of incident really did happen.  And the twists and turns that came up time and time again were insane.  Once I thought that things just couldn’t get any worse for these kids, and o.m.g situation happens and I’m blown away once again.

    What did bother me was David’s little brother, Will.  I couldn’t stand his attitude at times, and I was annoyed with his hate for his brother.  I mean come on!  Can’t he see that his brother is doing all he can so that he’ll live!  Even if it means his own life! ARGHH!  You would think that in such a dire situation that having your brother…your blood…with you to try and survive this ordeal would bring you closer.  Nope, Will didn’t want to have anything to do with it, and that chip on his should only got bigger and bigger!

    All in all, Quarantine: The Loners by Lex Thomas was a very entertaining read that took me away to a savage and cruel world that only lived in my nightmares.  Fans of The Hunger Games and Lord of the Flies type reads will devour this read.  I for one, cannot wait to start reading book 2 in this series and see what craziness will ensue this time!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    I haven't finished the book yet, but from what i have read so fa

    I haven't finished the book yet, but from what i have read so far is it is such a good book. can't wait for summer 2013 for the second one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Wow! loved it!

    I loved this book from the first page to the last and wish it would have kept going.....can hardly wait for the next one! This reminded me of "The Lord of the Flies" except in a school. High School students coming together to create their own gangs to survive...very interesting.
    Great story, great characters. Can hardly wait to find out what happens on the outside.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have such mixed feelings about this book that I hardly know w

    I have such mixed feelings about this book that I hardly know where to
    begin. The truth is, there is a lot wrong with it but I still kept right
    on reading, couldn’t make myself stop. What’s up with that? For one
    thing, for a post-disaster scenario, which is pretty nearly always
    completely unrealistic, this one is way out there in left field. Here
    you have a school full of teens that have been cordoned off from the
    outside world. So far, so good. Why this has happened is at first a
    mystery to the teens and I can buy that, too. What gives me serious
    pause is what happens within minutes of the teens first realizing
    something is wrong. Can you imagine our government quarantining an
    entire school so fast and so competently? Also, why do the adults on the
    outside cut off all communication with the kids and why do they fail to
    provide the necessities of life on a regular basis? Well, I suppose
    these questions are a large part of why I kept reading—I needed to know
    why even more than what. In some ways, Quarantine can be compared to
    Lord of the Flies and The Hunger Games, especially in the extreme
    violence and anarchy that develops and yet…it isn’t really anarchy. The
    gangs that these 1,000 teens form, based largely on their school
    hierarchy during normal times, rings true because teens tend to want to
    belong to groups. The violence is to be expected also when you
    understand just what they’re up against if they want to survive. The
    gangs are very distinct and this is one of the aspects of the story I
    really enjoyed. Each gang has a name and distinguishing colors, each has
    a leader, each has a responsibility for one or more aspects of life
    under quarantine, each is feared by the other gangs. There are a couple
    of gangs that are expectedly in the forefront, particularly the Varsity
    and the Pretty Ones, but the authors do a great job of building the
    reader’s empathy for all of them in one way or another. Another thing
    the authors do well is come up with details that make the reader really
    understand the perils these kids face and how they react, such as the
    way they dispose of bodies and the barter system they develop.
    Protagonists Will and David are much like most brothers, full of love
    and antagonism, and the obligatory love triangle with Lucy actually
    comes about more naturally than in many other young adult novels. I did
    feel, though, that the extreme hatred Sam has for David is a stretch and
    Will’s self-centeredness and unwillingness to do his part is a bit much
    but these elements do add a great deal to the premise. Character
    development outweighs plot and that is not necessarily a bad thing. I
    had issues with the way the government/military respond to the situation
    and with the behavior of the virus, especially how fast it kills and how
    it is spread, and these are the absurdities that most bothered me in the
    construction of the story, along with the difficulty I had tracking the
    passage of time. On the other hand, the pace of the book is breakneck
    and I can truly say I was never bored. What goes on with the kids is
    both disturbing and compelling and that is what made me have to finish.
    Despite its shortcomings, Quarantine is a thriller you don’t want to
    miss but, because of the violence and sheer darkness, I’d recommend it
    for older teens and up. I must admit I also couldn’t resist a story
    whose first line is “Someone must have bitten off her nose.” Now that’s
    a grabber if I ever saw one so I guess I’ll have to read the next book,
    especially if I want to find out where the cliffhanger in this one is
    going to take us next. And I most certainly do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    This book was fan-freaking-tastic! It pulled me in right at the beginning. I kept wanting to turn the pages to find out what happens.

    Imagine the first day of school there's an explosion, teachers dying right in front of you, and no way out. That's what these kids experienced. They had no idea for weeks to what's going on until one day the military set up a station. They explained how this virus came about and who is infected with it. So they're in quarantine until they get to a certain age and leave through the station. Things are pretty grim. Everyone splits off into gangs except for the unwanted, David, and Will.

    David does something heroic and people wanted him to be the leader of a new gang but he was hesitant at first. He was a good person to lead, he cared about other people's well being. His brother, Will, on the other hand was self-centered and obnoxious. I didn't like him for most of the book. He did come through near the end though but only after a brutal mishap. Sam was the villain in the story. He was psychotic and had a vendetta against David.

    I'm excited to read the next book with the way this one ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Oh my god!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS WOW

    There is one thing I hate most.... Waiting! I can not wait until the next book. Lex thomas I hope you start writing. This was a fantastic book and I cant wait until the next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Wademarcon yahoo aolbn'com"

    Read forever?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    no

    no

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Book three soon

    Jjujfxixkjjxjdjdjdd dat


    Nfjjdndjfk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    it is a little inappropriate for kids. i read it. they have a lo

    it is a little inappropriate for kids. i read it. they have a lot  of kissing in it a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Great

    Good book overall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Whiteash's story

    "I wasn't expecting company." <br>
    "I know you weren't."<br>
    "But why me?"<br>
    "Cause you you are the final piece." <br>"Piece of what? Do you want me de<_>ad? Well frankly, I won't come quietly!" <br>
    "No Snow, you are so very important, what use would you be de<_>ad?"<br>
    "Useless! I want no part in your plan!" <br>
    "Too bad."<br>
    "'Too bad?' TOO BAD?!? I WANT NO PART OF THIS!! YOU KIL<_>LED MY MOM, YOU KIL<_>LED MY DAD, YOU KILL<_>ED MY BROTHER, YOU KILLE<_>D MY SISTER!! I HATE MY LIFE! AND I. WON'T. DIE."<br>
    "Too bad." <p>
    •••••<br>
    A couple of months later, Snow was found. She was brainwashed and knew nothing, not even her own name. The only thing she said before going into the asylum, was three words: "I'm not dead."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great book!

    I got this book for chritmass and i finished it in 2 days! Once i picked it up i just couldnt put it down it grabed menand madenmenwantbto find out what would happen next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Amazing

    Thats all i have to say. Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    It was okay :/

    I would have enjoyed the book more if there was less cussing. But overall, it was an okay read. I would say 14+ because of the foul language though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿m pretty sure that the expression on my face while reading thi

    I’m pretty sure that the expression on my face while reading this book was pretty much mouth wide open with eyes bugged out.  Quarantine: The Loners by Lex Thomas was not at all what I had expected!  While I was expecting a story about infected students hunting down the survivors riddled all throughout the school and infecting them as well, what I found was something much worse, and in a way, even more frightening.

    David Thorpe thought that the worst thing about going back to school (senior year for David, and new high school student for Will) was facing a party incident gone wrong and facing the music.  Will Thorpe is just happy to be starting high school.  But when David’s teacher pretty much self-combusts in front of him, followed by an explosion that causes the school to crumble all around him, David, his brother, and the surviving students of McKinley high’s lives are forever changed…and not necessarily for the better.

    Turns out, the students are all infected with a virus that basically makes them very deadly to any adults.  Just being in the vicinity of one of them will cause them suffer a horrible death.  A virus so awful, that the students themselves are susceptible to it once they are of age.  The only light at the end of the tunnel is surviving until “graduation day”, where they are tested and if the virus is no longer found, they are granted their freedom to the outside world.  And so the military have quarantined them all in their high school, dropping off their food and rations via helicopter from atop the school into an open courtyard (very Hunger Games-esque).  The students are free to grab what they need and do what they need to survive.

    Unfortunately, a very real Lord of the Flies scenario plays out and the students start breaking apart into groups forming tribes of their very own.  Survival of the fittest really becomes important when it comes to staying alive.  The jocks have formed an uber strong tribe that pretty much rules the “land”, with the cheerleaders as their female counterpart.  Things slowly become less than perfect when the race for food turns into a deadly match.  Food and goods are bartered amongst the different tribes, and a new community is born.

    Unfortunately for David and Will, David’s violent outburst at a party makes him numero uno on the leader of the jocks’ (Sam) hit list.  And his brother, Will, is not safe, just by association.  With bounties being placed on his head, and his need to survive and protect his brother, David is constantly looking over his shoulder, and lurking in the shadows.  Questions of who to trust and who not to trust constantly in his head, it seems that David’s days are numbered, and when he’s gone, who will protect Will?

    Craziness!  This story was complete craziness.  I was surprised time and time again, and blown away by the violence and imagery found in the pages.  The author(s) did an amazing job in describing the chaos that happens inside the school.  They instilled fear while reading through the pages.  I was constantly worried for David and his brother, Will.  I wondered when Sam would finally get the vengeance he has been yearning for, time and time again.

    I couldn’t get over the fact that these every day students turned into these savage beasts that had a “who no mercy” mentally towards each other.  I can’t even begin to imagine how things would be if this type of incident really did happen.  And the twists and turns that came up time and time again were insane.  Once I thought that things just couldn’t get any worse for these kids, and o.m.g situation happens and I’m blown away once again.

    What did bother me was David’s little brother, Will.  I couldn’t stand his attitude at times, and I was annoyed with his hate for his brother.  I mean come on!  Can’t he see that his brother is doing all he can so that he’ll live!  Even if it means his own life! ARGHH!  You would think that in such a dire situation that having your brother…your blood…with you to try and survive this ordeal would bring you closer.  Nope, Will didn’t want to have anything to do with it, and that chip on his should only got bigger and bigger!

    All in all, Quarantine: The Loners by Lex Thomas was a very entertaining read that took me away to a savage and cruel world that only lived in my nightmares.  Fans of The Hunger Games and Lord of the Flies type reads will devour this read.  I for one, cannot wait to start reading book 2 in this series and see what craziness will ensue this time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Awsome.just pure awsome!

    This book is awsomee!! I love the mix of romance. Comedy.and action.almost as good as the hung. Games!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    So far so good

    This book is very interesting from what i read from sample.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    If you like to read than read this

    I loved this book, the story was original and kept me turning pages. Cant Waite for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2