Customer Reviews for

The Long-Distance Dispatch Between Lydia Goldblatt and Julie Graham-Chang (Popularity Papers Series #2) (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Popularity papers 3

It is the best book in the world it is just like the dork diares

posted by 11288564 on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Parent beware.  There is a subtle political message disguised i

 Parent beware.  There is a subtle political message disguised in the cute story about young girls trying to find their way in life. The story has merit at the expense of exploiting children's impressionable minds.   

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Popularity papers 3

    It is the best book in the world it is just like the dork diares

    24 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lauren Ashley for TeensReadToo

    Lydia's mom has gotten a great job opportunity and will be going off to England with her two daughters, much to their dislike. One of the good things is that it will only be for six months, but that's still six months of middle school away from her best friend, Julie. While in England, Lydia forms a group of friends consisting of some of the kids on the outer fringe of popularity. As for Julie, she makes her way into one of the most popular cliques at school known as the Bichons. Using some of what they observed in the first book, both girls try and become a bit more popular - and still learn as much as they can - in their respective corners of the world. I personally love anything that deals with England, so it was really fun to see Lydia's adventures there and the new words she learned. Lydia's particular crisis in this book is that she must learn to accept people as they are and sure, encourage your friends, but don't force them to do things. She also must deal with her mom possibly falling for a guy, and where does that leave her? Stuck in England? Julie, on the other hand, is doing pretty well for herself - or so you think. She soon realizes that the Bichons aren't that great of people, and she'll have to figure out just who her real friends are and how to stand up for herself. These are all pretty universal issues, and some of them can take place at even an older age, which goes with the idea that these aren't just for the middle grade crowd. I like that the girls are a bit clueless with things. I don't think they are too "dumb" or anything, just a bit naive. They are kind of dorky girls who really only had each other for awhile, and here they are in middle school with kids from various elementary schools and they have to survive. Well, at least Julie does. Lydia has to make do with everything being new. I loved that Ms. Ignatow plays with Lydia and Julie's friendship in various ways. They aren't always happy with each other - they argue, they write things about each other (for only their eyes), and they stop talking sometimes. It's a normal friendship that grows and changes. As for Julie's dads, you see them just as much in this installment as the previous one, and they are just as adorable! I think the author does a great job showcasing various parents and siblings (such as Lydia's sister, Melody). They are all very unique and their own people - but it works somehow, just like with most families!

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Awesome book

    I love this series this book rocks good for ages 9-13.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Really bood book

    I loved this book so much

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Must Buy

    I love this series

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I lOVE This series

    Its s o g o od

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    good

    Good series! Personally, there is not really a lot of excitement in this book. I still like this book, but I'm just saying that I recommend Book #1 of this series over the second book.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Popularity pags

    This book was one of the best books i have ever read the other best books that i have read are the other popularity pages books!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Awesome book

    Its about bulling and middle school. Also about two friends being split. One to England . Funny, how to survive in middle school and friendship. Totally worth it:)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    I saw the first page and irt was really good!

    My mom said if i can get 100 on my math i could get it!! i saw the first page and it was really good!!!

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Never gets old

    I read this book 5 times and it NEVER gets old

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Luv it

    I love Julies art!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Anomous

    I love the serise. I have the first book and it was amazing!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Duh

    Lalalalalllll

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

     Parent beware.  There is a subtle political message disguised i

     Parent beware.  There is a subtle political message disguised in the cute story about young girls trying to find their way in life. The story has merit at the expense of exploiting children's impressionable minds.   

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Hi

    My mom said i pass high school i will ethuntac get it a sa shuhattle

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Blah

    This book does not load!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Great

    This is a great book. I wouldn't recommend buying it if you cant read cursive. Most of the book is cursive. If you can read cursive you should defintley buy it. If you like drama defintlley this book is for you. Hope you enjoy. I know i did. ;)
    :) <3

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    I just love these seires

    Hi and im adictided to popularitly papers seires

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Should I...get it?

    I read the first book and it was good....I dont know if I should get the second! My mom says I need to get a BOOK book....should I get this one? Any suggestions?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2