Customer Reviews for

The Long Earth (Long Earth Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Hhh

With the discovery of seemingly infinite worlds parallell to our own and the potato-powered devices called 'steppers', humanity is moving out and into the Long Earth. Entirely new and uninhabited Earths are only a step away, and pioneers are quickly claiming the nearest...
With the discovery of seemingly infinite worlds parallell to our own and the potato-powered devices called 'steppers', humanity is moving out and into the Long Earth. Entirely new and uninhabited Earths are only a step away, and pioneers are quickly claiming the nearest worlds East and West of our own planet.
Joshua Valient¿, a natural stepper (a person who can step between Earths without using a Stepper Box) and a bit of a legend, is hired to go on a mission to the High Meggers--the earths more than a million steps away from our own. No pioneers have ever made it out that far and it is a challenge he looks forward to, until he discovers something that can consume all of the Long Earth and leave nothing but desolate silence in its wake.
Meanwhile, our own Datum Earth is having its own troubles. Opposite the natural steppers are people who cannot step at all, and they are speaking violently out about the steppers and the Long Earth. Political difficulty mires the Datum while an unknown threat moves slowly down the line of Earths towards humanity.
It's lucky Joshua has friends.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not his best

I own every single Pratchett book ever written, so I was excited to get this one! Several chapters in my excitement was diminished. He has co-written some wonderful, smart, engaging books with authors that will stand forever on my shelf to be reread and shared. This is ...
I own every single Pratchett book ever written, so I was excited to get this one! Several chapters in my excitement was diminished. He has co-written some wonderful, smart, engaging books with authors that will stand forever on my shelf to be reread and shared. This is not one of them. I don't recognise him in any part of this book. The book is smart and points out some interesting challenges to the reader about an "infinite earths" scenario, but it is written in a rather dry and disjointed style. The sad thing is I might have liked it if I wasn't waiting for it to turn into a Terry Pratchett book!

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Hhh

    With the discovery of seemingly infinite worlds parallell to our own and the potato-powered devices called 'steppers', humanity is moving out and into the Long Earth. Entirely new and uninhabited Earths are only a step away, and pioneers are quickly claiming the nearest worlds East and West of our own planet.
    Joshua Valient¿, a natural stepper (a person who can step between Earths without using a Stepper Box) and a bit of a legend, is hired to go on a mission to the High Meggers--the earths more than a million steps away from our own. No pioneers have ever made it out that far and it is a challenge he looks forward to, until he discovers something that can consume all of the Long Earth and leave nothing but desolate silence in its wake.
    Meanwhile, our own Datum Earth is having its own troubles. Opposite the natural steppers are people who cannot step at all, and they are speaking violently out about the steppers and the Long Earth. Political difficulty mires the Datum while an unknown threat moves slowly down the line of Earths towards humanity.
    It's lucky Joshua has friends.

    22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Sir Terry's Finest Yet!

    The teamwork of Baxter and Sir Terry is remarkable with a new take on the multiple realities theme in a truly stunning way. Without revealing anything, elements of Sir Terry are there in the form of fabulous, epic story telling and short vignettes showing life among the worlds along with the tight, hard sci-fi integration provided by Baxter with all the usual literary conflicts nicely laid out. I will definitely be signing on for the rest of this series. This is something new and different. Read it now!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Loved this! This mellow sci-fi is thought provoking and origina

    Loved this! This mellow sci-fi is thought provoking and original. The style isn't obviously "Terry" but it flowed and was a quick read. I couldn't put it down and hope that there will be some follow-up books to explore the Long Earth further. I think folks need to see this as a collaborative work - it's not another Discworld novel, which is great. A fresh idea is always a welcome addition.

    I was at the Convention in Madison and it was surprising to see this already published - what a lucky day when I stumbled upon it!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Not his best

    I own every single Pratchett book ever written, so I was excited to get this one! Several chapters in my excitement was diminished. He has co-written some wonderful, smart, engaging books with authors that will stand forever on my shelf to be reread and shared. This is not one of them. I don't recognise him in any part of this book. The book is smart and points out some interesting challenges to the reader about an "infinite earths" scenario, but it is written in a rather dry and disjointed style. The sad thing is I might have liked it if I wasn't waiting for it to turn into a Terry Pratchett book!

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Amazing!

    A fascinating book. It got kind of tense for awhile. I suppose the sequels will be, too. An infinite number of earths a sideways step fron this one - and endless possibilities. And Joshua Valiente is tied to it from birth.
    Terry Pratchett toyed with this idea when he first began writing, but the Discworld took off and the idea was dropped.
    I'm looking forward to the next.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Terry Pratchett novel - NOT

    I am a fan of Terry Pratchett, I get his books on my Nook than get them in paperback for my bookshelf. If TP wrote any part of the Long Earth he had the flu, wasn't feeling good or just wasn't himself that day. I am up to page 78 and am struggling to get thru it. I probably won't and it'll just be put away. The book is boring, the writing is dull. The idea would make a great Terry Pratchett novel, but this isn't it. Save your money

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Fantastic read- until the end

    This book drew me in, fascinated me, I didn't want to put it down. The story and characters are wonderful. I just hope there's a sequel, because the ending was incredibly abrupt.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Disappointed

    Normally I love anything by Terry Pratchett, but this book was a major let down. It was so incredibly boring and dull. If you must read it check it out at the library and save your money.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Pratchett and Baxter offer us solid and meaningful science ficti

    Pratchett and Baxter offer us solid and meaningful science fiction. The Long Earth tells a story of what happens when humanity is no longer bound to one Earth but can "step" through infinite Earths. This is a science fiction tale populated by realistic, intelligently crafted characters and a believablity that is only broken by the premise of "stepping".
    The Jacket explains it is "the First Novel in an exciting collaboration..." and it definately feels like it is intended to be a first in a series. While a wonderfully interesting if not overly thrilling adventure it not only sets the stage for future exploration into the innumeral possible Earths but also into the human heart.
    I for one am looking forward to future entries into what I hope continues to be a rich and fullfilling look at what might happen if we are ever able to penetrate the barriers between worlds.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You will not be disappointed!

    This is not a Disc-world novel but it is still classic Terry Pratchett! Anything that I could say about the plot would be a spoiler so I won't say anything. The book description given here on B&N is sufficient. If you love Pratchett like I do and you don't mind that this is not a Disc-world story then run, do not walk, to your store and get it. NOW.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Boring

    Buy one of Terry's Disc World novels instead. Characters are flat, plot crawls and what should be deep questions instead stay in the kiddy pool. Such a pity because I could see many of the elements shining if they were in his other books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed this collaboration, though some of my friends who read

    I enjoyed this collaboration, though some of my friends who read did not. The ending was a little disappointing, but other than that this was a magical, fun read. Whenever a book is written by two authors, I'm never sure as to who did what. The world building doesn't seem as well-woven as Sir Terry's other books, but it was still a fascinating place nonetheless. The book is not as light-hearted as the Discworld series, so perhaps it's more serious tone is to Stephen Baxter's style of writing. This revolves around physics and parallel universes and string theories all set in a fantastic world, so make sure you are awake and alert when reading! Lots of backstory and multiple points of narrative, so it makes for a well-rounded tale.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    recommend

    love terry prachett, very good story and well written , a bit confusing at first but hang in and it is very thought provoking.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Interesting Topic

    The book topic was very interesting. However, it was such a long book and I feel like nothing truly ever happened. I didn't understand the ending and was a little disapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Best work since color of magic

    Terry brings a measure of his unique humor into this interesting story. The book itself reminds me of Good Omens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    .

    .

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book. It was amazing that I couldn't tell w

    Really enjoyed this book. It was amazing that I couldn't tell what was Pratchett and what was Baxter (you can kind of parse out Good Omens and tell which ideas came from which writer). There had better be a part 2, though. The ending was abrupt, and it would be very interesting to have the continuation of what is really a social commentary on how the human race keeps managing to do the same destructive things over and over again. Does anyone on Datum or any of the other Earths learn the lesson?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Good read

    I really enjoyed this one as the characters were well enough developed and the authors did a great job of providing some thought provoking points. The Sci-fi aspect was intriguing while politics, economies, and social aspects are discussed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Sam

    *eats a bowl of cereal*

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Raven

    *started to put out stuff for breakfeast tommorow*

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7