BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Long War (Long Earth Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Highly recommend to sci-fi fans

posted by 17056477 on July 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If it would let me leave 3 1/2 stars I would.  To be honest, I w

If it would let me leave 3 1/2 stars I would.  To be honest, I was severely disappointed in this sequel to The Long Earth.  I remember after finishing the first one that it was all I could think about for weeks. All the possibilities of the idea of there being a long ea...
If it would let me leave 3 1/2 stars I would.  To be honest, I was severely disappointed in this sequel to The Long Earth.  I remember after finishing the first one that it was all I could think about for weeks. All the possibilities of the idea of there being a long earth was so exciting that the plot flaws of the first book didn't matter. I think that's the problem with this one, though some of the wonder of the Long Earth is still there, this book really is supposed to stand on the plot.  The best parts of this book are those few moments where you get to experience (for more than a paragraph) a new aspect of the the long earth.  I will say I was surprisingly satisfied with the actual long war concept in the book, though I have spoken to many people who were not. Anyway, if you loved the Long Earth, then I would suggest reading the next installment, just know that it is not as grand as the first. Also be aware that this book has significantly less influence of Pratchett and veers more into the drier no-nonsense tone of Baxter. However, I won't hesitate to pick up the next book in this series (if there is one) because I feel like these are two amazing authors who have to have some amazing plan to finish this series. That may be putting too much hope in them, but perhaps we’ll find out next year. 

posted by 3692277 on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    If it would let me leave 3 1/2 stars I would.  To be honest, I w

    If it would let me leave 3 1/2 stars I would.  To be honest, I was severely disappointed in this sequel to The Long Earth.  I remember after finishing the first one that it was all I could think about for weeks. All the possibilities of the idea of there being a long earth was so exciting that the plot flaws of the first book didn't matter. I think that's the problem with this one, though some of the wonder of the Long Earth is still there, this book really is supposed to stand on the plot.  The best parts of this book are those few moments where you get to experience (for more than a paragraph) a new aspect of the the long earth.  I will say I was surprisingly satisfied with the actual long war concept in the book, though I have spoken to many people who were not. Anyway, if you loved the Long Earth, then I would suggest reading the next installment, just know that it is not as grand as the first. Also be aware that this book has significantly less influence of Pratchett and veers more into the drier no-nonsense tone of Baxter. However, I won't hesitate to pick up the next book in this series (if there is one) because I feel like these are two amazing authors who have to have some amazing plan to finish this series. That may be putting too much hope in them, but perhaps we’ll find out next year. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Excellent

    Highly recommend to sci-fi fans

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Not as good as The Long Earth

    I agree with previous reviewers. Baxter clearly added some hard science, but it felt like Pratchett's characters got cut. Sorely lacking in the humor present in Long Earth. However, the concept of war in this context was interesting. If only today's wars were so mostly bloodless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Cover Artwork was better than the story that had been told

    I am not ashamed to admit that the book's cover caught my eye first, followed by my fond recollections of Terry Pratchett's work with Neil Gaiman (sp) in Good Omens. I learned after several hours of reading that the cover artwork was better than the story that had been told. I had high expectations for this novel, as I have enjoyed other work by Terry Pratchett. I was disappointed by the lack of depth or personality,sympathy or growth among most of the cast of characters. In addition, the plot seemed to "step" in many interesting directions without a solid beginning and without weaving the various narrative threads together into a cohesive story line. This book was intended to be a part of a continuing series (or should have been much longer). However, this should never become an excuse to skimp on plot and character development or to present a hasty and unsatisfying stopping point at the end of the novel. If the story merits more words then make the time and effort to finish the job - consider the works of Tad Williams as an example. This was not the best of SF collaborations. It had an interesting take on the theory of parallel development Earths, and defined a convenient mechanism to travel between worlds and a few good operational constraints. However, I finished The Long War irritated that my time had been wasted by an underdeveloped and unfinished work and saddened by the fact that a good technical SF premise by two established SF authors could result in such mediocre results.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Not the best sequel

    The Long Earth had me hooked so I had to read this one. Not as well written or imaginative as the first but still an ending to how it all began.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    If you wanted to know the otherside plus joshua and a little bit of lobsang then you will enjoy

    This book gives several different perspectives other than joshuas if you are okay with that. Then this book will be as good as the first one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    A good sequel but...

    The seoond story of the Long Earth has some interesting points (the Gap) but other than those few points it doesn't expand on the concept of stepping that much. The militarization of exploring the Long Earth seems almost trite, hello Cortez! And certainly the physics, the science of how the Long Earths came to be is ignored and, I suppose, to be taken with the same simple belief of the Discworld topology, riding on the back of a turtle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Undecided

    Not sure if I will purchase any more books in this series. It was entertaining but I am not sure why I feel so ambivalient about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2014

    I really enjoy Pratchett & Baxter's new take on the idea of

    I really enjoy Pratchett & Baxter's new take on the idea of parallel Earths. They've done a bang up job with this second tour through the Long Earth as humanity tries to make its way in this new age of seemingly (actually?) infinite copies of our planet just a "step" away.

    Joshua is back, as is Lobsang, and Sally, Detective Jansson, and even Helen Green, who is now Helen Valiente. That's right she and Joshua are married and this story takes place ten years later and human emigration from Datum Earth continues and mankind continues to eff things up especially our relations with the other sapient beings is the stepwise worlds.

    Its up to our heroes to try and put things right, but as they try to accomplish this huge task, a huge natural disaster looms back on our home world, the Datum Earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Uo.tuvnuiip

    Yov,cm

    P,m,gk t fo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Artillery brigade

    Control the largest ground weapons in the military shooting tanks and driving jeeps etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    Solid follow up to The Long Earth. Characters are genuine and t

    Solid follow up to The Long Earth. Characters are genuine and the plot follows several threads throughout. There is no concluding resolution, as there will be more book(s) to follow, but it remains interesting to see how the authors extrapolate the science of multiverses into a dramatic, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Picks up where "The Long Earth" ended, leaving you han

    Picks up where "The Long Earth" ended, leaving you hanging ...which was rather abrupt. This one ended, not abruptly, but, there could be another in the series?  Well I can but hope! I believe there is physical
    evidence for the situation in Yellowstone National park, described at the end of this book to have happened at least once before, in our distant past, and warnings abound, even now, that it could happen again. So, please, Sir Terry, and Mr. Baxter, just one more? Please?
    There were places in this book that I found a bit long, a bit boring, but I'm hoping for a third installment, to really wrap it up!  If you've read this first book in this series and enjoyed your time there, you'll want to read this one. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    An amazing sequel to pratchetts rh An amazing An amazing sequel to Terrys The Long Earth

    This is agreat book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Been waiting for sequel

    Think I will get it from Amozon for Kindle and read it on my laptop. $1.99 vs $14.99 is no brainer

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    second book in the series

    this one picks up where the first book left off. all the major characters are back as well as a few new ones. the multi dimensions angle is handled quite nicely with some things that I've never seen addressed in other stories of this type. buy this book and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Starlines &starChapter Two&star "Bruised & Broken"

    <^>&starf I'm changing the age of Jacen & the "narrator" to 18 instead of 25.&starf I open my eyes. For a minute I wonder if the face I saw leering at me was a delusion because she is supposed to be dead. I hear Jaina splutter my name between dust-filled coughs. "Siralvia, are you okay?" I move......and nearly cry out as pain hits me like a wave, crushing me. When it subsides, I try moving my left leg & I'm promptly crushed by a second wave. "Well, my left leg hurts when i move it but other than that, everything's sunny on my side of the galaxy." I say dryly. Jain laughs softly. I hear her slowly get up. I use the Force to clear the dust. She gets the rubble of me & helps me up. Once I'm sitting in a surprisingly intact durasteel chair, I look at my leg & grimace at what I see. My ankle is twisted at an unnatural angle & I can see a little bit of bone sticking out. There is also a deep gash streching the whole length of my calf. Suddenly reality comes crashing in on me. "Jaina where's Han & Leia?" I exclaim, suddenly worried. She looks shocked. "I dont know." She starts clearing rubble from the spots where they were standing just before the bomb exploded while I concentrate on healing my left leg. When she has cleared it all away, she gasps. I can feel her grief blazing in the Force like a beacon. I have finished healing myself by this time. I get up & limp over. When I follow her line of sight, I also gasp. Han & Leia are lying motionless on the ground. Just then there is a knock. "Come in Master Skywalker." I say. The door opens & I hear him say, "is everything–" he passes a pile of rubble & stops dead in the middle of his sentence. "–alright?" He finishes softly, looking stunned. Jaina & I simultaneously speak one word. One name. We had all assumed she was dead. But now Han, Leia, Jaina & I know better. Because she just tried to kill us. "Alema Rar." We chorus. "I saw her grin at me leeringly just before I passed out." I say. "And I saw her clearly just before the bomb hit the window." Jaina added. Some Two Onebees carried Han & Leia to the closest med facility. THREE STANDARD HOURS LATER "I'm still going with you to look for Ben, Master Skywalker." I say stubbornly. He smiles. "Okay then." "See you tomorrow Master." I say. "Where are you going to stay?" "At Jaina's. We already moved my stuff there." "Okay. See you then." That night, I sneak onto the balcony for some air. Suddenly, I feel Jacen's Force presence. "You shouldn't be here Jacen." I say. He smiles & kisses me, wisely choosing not to argue with with me. I gently pull away & look in his eyes. "If Jaina sees us & finds out Melina is our daughter, we'll lose the support of the Jedi & the support of Tenel Ka & the Hapans. You'd never see Allana again." &starf Read & comment. Next chapter at 'star' res one&starf SA

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Arhg

    Unreadable. If I missed a prequel, sorry.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    #2 is just as great as #1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Hell yea

    Gafd

    0 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2