BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Longest Date: Life as a Wife

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Loved it -- highly recommended!

    Smart, funny, poignant -- beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Life Lessons

    I'm not part of Ms. Chupack's demographic -- over 70, long divorced, retired. But I LOVED this book. It is funny & very well written. Most important, it reveals a personality that has successfully combined entertainment & wit with a degree of self-knowledge that is rare & at times painful. -- catwak

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings My first introd

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    My first introduction to Cindy Chupack.  I was completely unaware of her history, both personal and professional, when I was pitched this book and just was excited about this book due to the title.  She has written for fantastic comedy shows and this isn't her first foray in books, but this book was perfect for me to read at this time.

    I am over the year mark of marriage, so I guess the "newlywed" phase is over, so as her book suggests that marriage is one big long date that vows are to be renewed every year to make sure each party is contractually obligated for the next year I loved her comedic take on marriage that was still uplifting and not bahumbug!  Even though her and her husband endured quite a few hurdles in their marriage, she kept saying that having a person along for the ride called life was better than trying to go it alone.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    'The Longest Date: Life as a Wife' is a funny and heartwarming l

    'The Longest Date: Life as a Wife' is a funny and heartwarming look at one woman's life and experiences before and during marriage. The author tells stories from her dating life along with her marriage that are both laugh out loud funny and some that are deeply personal and serious. The topics range from her failed first marriage with a man who turned out to be gay, health scares, problems with getting pregnant, and dinner parties.

    I was immediately pulled into the memoir by the author's writing style along with her witty and sarcastic storytelling. She spoke in a conversational tone that makes it feel like you're talking with an old friend and reliving funny incidents or stories that have happened over the years. Although most of the book is told in a light tone, it deals with several very serious and painful topics. The author opens her life and her heart to us as readers in the hopes that we can take away something from her experiences - either as a wife, a fiance, a woman, or just living life. Some of the chapters dealt with emotional and painful subjects that really tore at my heart, but somehow the author kept an upbeat attitude while regaling them. I really admire her for being able to share these personal stories from her life with us and for being so honest about everything - whether it's wanting to wring your husband's neck or having problems with infertility - she gives them all the same respect and upbeat tone. Readers will immediately identify with the author and her stories - either by personal experience, through a friend or family member's experiences, or just by giving them insight into the life of being a wife and all it entails. Highly recommended for anyone wanting a fun memoir full of great tales and witty commentary, as well as those who wish for a down to earth book with heart!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Gobbled it up in one sitting. Worth a re-read in small bites. E

    Gobbled it up in one sitting. Worth a re-read in small bites.

    Extraordinary book.
    Offers a surprisingly open and revealing view of the author's first years of life-after-marriage in her late thirties,
    which keeps the polished writing fresh.
    Sex and the City fans will relate to Chupack's curiosity, capacity for self-observation and eye for the absurd.
    But this book does more, moving  beyond issues of how to get together and be together
    to address some of the most difficult parts of making a life and a family for the long haul.  
    In the strongest part of the book, Chupack and her husband each reflect on their long and arduous effort to have a child.
    This and other issues are addressed with honesty and rigor, but also humor, humanity and acceptance.
    They offer hope to all of us that sometimes, just sometimes, relationships can survive and strengthen and just get better and better. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1