Customer Reviews for

The Longest Ride

Average Rating 4.5
( 577 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(352)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Too good!

I've been a long time fan of Sparks and I believe this is his best book to-date. There was excellent character development and you couldn't help but to fall in love with the main characters. I usually don't like it when authors change the POV but Sparks made it work and...
I've been a long time fan of Sparks and I believe this is his best book to-date. There was excellent character development and you couldn't help but to fall in love with the main characters. I usually don't like it when authors change the POV but Sparks made it work and I enjoyed the different views and stories. I also like how no one was portrayed as a hunky male heroine or a damsel in distress, this was a believable book about love. Thank you for sharing this book with the world

posted by 8119985 on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

To "Please Barnes and Noble"

While I agree that the "jdusysgdh" type reviews should be removed, the bad reviews shouldn't be removed because those are opinions and that is what this section is for. Just because you don't agree with something doesn't mean we should get rid of it.

posted by 10420629 on September 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 577 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Too good!

    I've been a long time fan of Sparks and I believe this is his best book to-date. There was excellent character development and you couldn't help but to fall in love with the main characters. I usually don't like it when authors change the POV but Sparks made it work and I enjoyed the different views and stories. I also like how no one was portrayed as a hunky male heroine or a damsel in distress, this was a believable book about love. Thank you for sharing this book with the world

    36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    How disrespectful to Nicholas Sparks and all the readers who vie

    How disrespectful to Nicholas Sparks and all the readers who view these comments. Using this forum on Barnes and Noble? Really?
    Completely inappropriate. Barnes and Noble please preview these comments and don't post them if they could be hurtful or disrespectful. This is a book review site. Unbelieveable!

    31 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Great love story

    This is a great story about true long lasting love, and about whats really important in life...relationships. i would strongly reccommend this book! It captures your attention throughout and pulls at your heart strings. I cant wait for the movie!

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Good Reading

    I love Nicholas Sparks books and can't wait to get this in my nook . Have read some of the story. It is so good. Shelby McCard I give this book 5 stars

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    To "Please Barnes and Noble"

    While I agree that the "jdusysgdh" type reviews should be removed, the bad reviews shouldn't be removed because those are opinions and that is what this section is for. Just because you don't agree with something doesn't mean we should get rid of it.

    15 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    I absolutely love Nicholas Sparks and his style of writing. I d

    I absolutely love Nicholas Sparks and his style of writing. I didn't want to put the book down once I started reading. It had me laughing and crying at times. I feel like I have a connection with Luke & Sophia and I feel like Ira & Ruth were like the sweetest couple that anyone would have loved to have as grandparents. Such a sweet romantic love story.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Another great book!

    Another great book!

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    I need my "Sparks" more then once a year.

    Ruth and Sophia were very easy to fall in love with. Luke and Ira were amazing men. The format was a little difficult to follow but the story was beautiful. I read it in 2 days, now I have "Sparks" withdrawal.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Excellent read!

    I've been a Nicholas Sparks fan for a long time, and have read each of his books. His last couple of books didn't seem quite as good to me, and I was beginning to think I was getting tired of his work. However, this book - "The Longest Ride" - reinstated my faith and enjoyment in his ability to tell a story! I liked that he had two distinct lines/stories in this book, with interesting and likable characters. As usual, the importance of love and priorities tied things together, and was especially appropriate in this book. I liked how he was able to take the reader from one character's viewpoint to another, which made the book that much more interesting. The ending was somewhat predictable, but I would have been disappointed had it not ended the way it did. Overall, the story and characters were endearing, and a valuable 'life lesson' was intertwined throughout, leaving the reader feeling good at the end. Nicholas Sparks will remain one of my favorite authors.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    another great book

    another great book

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Just ok

    This book did not draw me in, but I continued to read. It seems some very good writers get stuck on the same story line, after it works the first time. I will not spoil it, but will say, it was too similar to Safe Haven.
    Not one of my favorites by Nicholas Sparks.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Please Barnes and Noble, review the posts and remove hateful and

    Please Barnes and Noble, review the posts and remove hateful and "hjgjhkgjg" type posts, otherwise this site does not seem reliable. Thank you.

    10 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Love love love

    Awesome book. Love Nicholas Sparks and can't wait for the next one.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Another great read

    Mr. Sparks just has the golden touch when it comes to story telling. He has not disapppointed in this poignant tale either. Would def recommend...sit back. Relax and enjoy the ride.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Excellent!

    What a great story! Luke's storyline kept me on the edge of my seat. I was priviledge to meet a world class bull rider several years ago after he had been trampled and paralyzed while performing. He became a good friend and an inspiration. I had a hard time seperating his story from Luke's knowing the extreme danger of the sport. Nicholas Sparks writes the greatest love stories and takes you on a ride filled with love,joy, passion, fear, anger and forgiveness. I couldn't put it down!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    A great book from start to finish! I agree that this is his best

    A great book from start to finish! I agree that this is his best work yet. It keeps you wondering how the characters become intertwined as their lives are so separate. Loved every page!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    I just can't read another one of his books. I feel like his last

    I just can't read another one of his books. I feel like his last great one was Dear John.

    This one was predictable, just like his last few. I was able to guess the ending before the book even began. Although there are some nice points he makes, his writing just isn't the same. It's just BAD. I've continued to read each new book that's come out out of habit since I've read them all, but now I have to stop. His books aren't interesting anymore. The love stories have been done over and over, he just changes the scenery, their names, and their dilemma. I won't give anything away, but if you read enough, nothing seems like a surprise anymore. I feel like he recycles the stories we've all heard.

    I would pass on this one unfortunately. You will find other thrilling, captivating books out there.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Not my favorite but still a great book!!!!!!!

    I have read ever Nicholas Sparks book and while this one wasn't my favorite it was a great story. I did find myself skipping through some of the pages because i was more interested in the younger couple's story. I loved how the end brought the stories together. Cant wait for the next one!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Another great one

    Loved it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    A good read - Sparks is great at creating romance.

    The Longest Ride was a very enjoyable read. Some parts reminded me
    of "The Notebook" but I still was entranced with the stories. I am
    looking forward to the picture coming out in February. Sparks doesn't
    fail to entertain.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 577 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29