Customer Reviews for

The Lord is My Shepherd: Healing Wisdom of the Twenty-Third Psalm

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    This line by line interpretation of this amazing psalm, read by the author, is the perfect companion for long drives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Loved It!

    Another awe inspiring book. I continue to read it over and over for everyday "pick me ups".

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Two Inspiring Books for the Thinking Person

    During the early summer, two of my best friends, both women in their 40's, died of breast cancer. I searched for books that would offer me help with my grieving, and a perspective on what I was going through. Most of the books I found were long on faith and hope, and short on thought. And then I discovered two books, both recently published, that saved my life. These were Harold Kushner's 'The Lord is My Shepherd' and Dennis Shulman's 'The Genius of Genesis.' I thank Harold Kushner and Dennis Shulman for giving me a way of understanding life and death in a broader context. Both of these books tenderly guided me through my own valley of the shadow of death toward understanding and healing; and, for this, I am grateful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A book of inspiration and one that nurtures the soul of those asking questions of this most familiar Psam.

    Rabbi Kushner, in writing this inspirational essay on the 23rd Psalm, offers unique unsights into the meanings of the phrases comprising this most beloved Psam. He shows how this Psam has the power to transform lives, and change attitudes of those who hear as well as read its words. In this Psalm, Rabbi Kushner exposes the mysteries of these words and their healing power on those who find themselves effected by them particularly when those who hear these words are engaged in terrible trials and tribulations. He demonstrates how this Psalm can affect our lives and our relationships, and influence our actions in all aspects of our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Inspiring

    Motivating

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Everyone should read this book

    This is a book that I have read many, many times and I keep turning to it. It offers me comfort; it offers me joy; and it offers me inspiration. I have lost track of how many copies I have given as gifts and the universal response from those who have received one is WOW! This is a great little book with a big impact. I cannot recommend it more highly. I would give it ten stars if that was available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Honored as one of fifty people who have made the world a better place, Rabbi Kushner offers meditation on the beloved Twenty Third Psalm.

    Unpacking the psalm line by line. Kushner probes its capacity to offer us guidance and consolation in the most uncertain world. For example, in the image of God leading us by still waters. Kushner reminds us that His presence can help us to master our emotions and build confidence. He also recalls the insights of others: for example, G. K. Chesterton's reading of "my cup runneth over," which acknowledges that just children delight when Santa puts toys in their Stockings, we should be grateful when God puts in our stockings the gift of wit and grace.
    Written while listening to Kushner read his book, somewhat of a synopsis can be seen:

    The Lord is my teacher, protector, and provider, I shall not need but shall aspire to Gods' will.
    The Lord gives me nourishing and refreshing surroundings to restore me to my whole,
    Showing me the correct path, for the sake of the glory of God, calmness and goodness is shared.
    In the deepest darkest depths of my life journey, there is nothing to fear because God is with me,
    The Lords' infinite wisdom and 'round about ways' give me the courage to continue on.
    The Lord prepares a peaceful lush feast in the midst of those which might try to harm me.
    The Lord enshrouds me in protection and abundance, with more than I could have imagine.
    Truly, only goodness and love pursue me all the moments of my existence.
    Thankfully, I dwell in the embrace of my mighty Lord for evermore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Lord is My Sheperd

    Harold Kushner writes wonderfully. The book is divided into chapters--with each chapter based on one of the lines of this wonderful psalm. It is hard to make a verse that is so well known, one that we have heard so often that we may have stopped really listening to, come back into fresh and contemporary focus. Kushner achieves this goal by reminding us both of the original Hebrew meanings of the words as well as the deeper ways that the metaphors work to reveal their spiritual meaning.

    Kushner's clear and honest approach never attempts to offer more than the words allow--but like a skilled restorer of old paintings that have lost their bright colors Kushner wields his analytic tools with precision to make those ancient words enter our ears as if we were listening to them for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1