BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

Average Rating 5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Quest continues in fine form...

    This is one of those film scores - and they don't come very often - when you feel like, oh I don't know, jumping up and beheading an Orc! Only kiddin'. In truth, Howard Shore goes 'The Fellowship of the Ring' score one better by delving deeper into the multi-textured realms of Middle-earth. "The Riders of Rohan" and "The King of the Golden Hall" have a very elegaic, Norse feel to them, thanks in part to the masterful use of the violin. "The Uruk-Hai" is a reprise of the 'Fellowship Heroes' theme, as well as the themes for Isengard and Mordor. "Evenstar" and "Breath of Life" have just such an all-round breathtaking feel to them; the singers' voices are enchanting. "The Hornburg" is an excellent use of percussion and builds up the tension to the start of the battle for the survival of Rohan at Helm's Deep. "Forth Eorlingas" and "Isengard Unleashed" have some beautiful vocal parts. And the final track - "Gollum's Song" - is a haunting song performed by Emiliana Torrini that'll reverberate inside your head for weeks on end. This is masterclass.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end

    i loved the music on this cd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome movie soundtrack!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    lovely

    This is for the ultimate LOTR fan... it brought me back to scenes from the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST MUSIC.....EVER!

    This is a masterful score by Howard Shore. If you don't like this music then the doctor is that way. Truly amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The God of Soundtracks

    Howard Shore is an amazingly talented man,and I do not think anyone else could have rightfully won that Academy Award. His music seems to tie all the movies together, and seamlessly meld the scenes together. The music has so much emotion that can be interperted in any form for any person. It is amazing how easily he can go from the music of hope, to the music of Isengard, and of the Orcs. His addition of music to the film would have made Tolkien proud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Neverending Journey

    The music created by Howard Shore is adored by many fans. The many orchestras and soloists and choirs were magnificently beautiful in helping to create the path. Its like the journey never ended. You can always look back onto a particular time by listening to a piece of this music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dramatic

    I loved it, it made me feel like I was watching the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nothing Short of Incredible

    This is an amazing CD, one that perfectly mirrors the world of Tolkien's Middle Earth. Mysterious, haunting, intense, and beautiful, Shore's work will resonate throughout your mind for days after, and you'll want to listen to it again and again. Any Lord of the Rings fan should enjoy this CD, and it is well worth the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Touches the Heart

    I really give this piece of work so much honor and appreciation, because they are so talented and they make the music touch your heart. It also goes with the movies right. It brought me to tears a couple times while watching the movie, and while just listening to it on cd. I LOVE this thanks very much indeed!!#1 fan of LOTR films and sountrack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweeping Epic Score

    Howard Shore may have defined his legacy with all of the Lord of Rings Scores. The Two Towers picked right up where Fellowship left off. This is my interpretation of Howard Shores masterpiece so far..Fellowship is about about magic, lifes change, and a hard decisions..Towers is mans struggles to fend of the past and inner demons that travel with the past..King is the "end of all things"..."the journeys end". Have said that The Two Towers doesn't relinquish any of its steam by accepting only the middle childs left overs. It possess you with its beginning tracks adn then defines itself with "The Riders of Rohan". Exposes the regal nature of characters in "The King of the Golden Hall"..Galdalfs impossible journey to find the Horse Lords is told to our senses through "The White Rider"..Of course the Two Towers is about the Battles namely the Battle of Helms Deep which is captured strongly in the "Helms Deep" track. You truley feel that 10,000 Orcs are about to attack you as you listen. Also a character that is starting to become very endearing to the fans is Gollum.All of Gollum's fans are rewarded with a moving piece called Gollum's song. Those of you who long to know more about Gollum are given this treat that paints Gollum as more of a tragic hero than a addicted ring-obsessed wretch. The Two Towers CD is a masterful sequel to an already legendary scoring by Howard Shore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IT WAS DANG AWESOME!!!

    This was a wonderful soundtrack! Howard Shore has done a wonderful job with the music! Like the violin music that plays at Edoras-THAT'S DANG AWESOME!!! And I love some of the things from the first movie they included!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie ever

    WOW, the greatest movie, i can watch it over and over again. I love it!!!! ORLANDO BLOOM, need i say more!!!! hahahaha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Close to Excellent

    Orchestral pieces in this incredible work were mostly centered around an all-alluring darkness, which is not what most like to hear on a daily basis. Although not entirely composed of loud, fear inducing material, it also contained a share of quiet, and thoughtful songs to ponder over. And, if one sets to thinking of the mood of these songs, a powerful, controlling sound is sensed, striking the listener with a certain awe-inspiring element. All together a wonderful selection of music, and worth the while of buying, this is a soundtrack should be added to your personal collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie, Great Soundtrack

    Wow! Howard Shore has shown once again that he deserves that Grammy he won for the first score in the trilogy. The only reason that I rate this soundtrack at 4 stars is the fact that it didn't quite live up to the majesity and wonder of the first. The first score fulfilled my expections as did the movie. And it also seemed that Enya fell off the face of the earth. She added a beautiful voice to the first score that would have helped in the second. Other than that, I would recommend this soundtrack to any LOTR fan as it captures every dark and light mood from the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing

    THE MOVIE REVALS THE MUSIC ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW IF YOU GET GCD LISTEN TO GOLLUM SONG THAT IS VERY SAD IF YOU HAVE READ THE FELLOWSHIP THEN YOU KNOW THE TRUE STORY OF GOLLUM HE WAS NEVER BORN EVIL AND IT KLIKE THE MUSIC TELLS YOU PREETY MUCH THAT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    When I recieved this CD as a gift, I was truly blown away by the songs. They are just as good as the soundtrack for "The Fellowship of the Ring," or even better. I especially liked the theme for Rohan, which appears numberous times throughout the CD, Evenstar, and Gollum's Song. The music is a bit darker than The Fellowship, but is still enjoyable to listen to. The one thing that bothers me is Enya didn't sing anything...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    another good soundtrack

    I loved this souhdtrack just like the other one!The music is very powerful! Good job Howard!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tolkein nut

    This score is awsome!! I highly recomend it. While not as grand and majestic as the first it's not supposed to be. It certainly is darker. I espescially like "Foundation of Stone", "Helm's Deep", and "The White Rider". "Gollum's Song" is disturbingly haunting. the singer even manages to mimic gollum's voice. All i have to say is good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Amazing

    Better than the first, if possible. Howard Shore composed each piece with such energy and emotion. One could feel as if he/she was in Mordor or Helms Deep. Superb! I am eagerly awaiting both the soundtrack and movie of "The Return of the King".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3