Customer Reviews for

The Lost

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Master of Thrills

    OMG! Its another one by the Master of Thrills. This had all the blood and slaughter that you could find.. His point of view writing puts you at the scene of the crime, from the murder's point. Readers beware you will read this one under the blankets with that flashlight.. Brings me back to my kid days... ooohhh the boogeyman!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    Have to say...i din't like it.

    I am surprised now how many great reviews this novel has received. I didn't enjoy this book very much. I didn't really care for most of the characters. I think it tried to hard. To hard to shock the reader. Is there really a movie based on this book? Not sure if i will be reading another Ketchum book anytime soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Addictive

    This is one of those books that you could read over and over again. Ketchum is the MASTER when it comes to writing and you really get the insiders prospective on violence. I am a huge fan of Ketchum and this book was awesome! Youll love the characters and hate them.. Read this novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    better then i thought

    i really thought this was gonna be this nasty gory books, cuz i heard that about this author.well, it wasent...it was actually the kinda book i didnt think i would like...WELL i read this in one day, i have to say its one of the best books iv ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Truly Chilling

    This is not an ordinary horror novel. The horrors here are simply human. Given the realistic premise, this story is more than frightening; this book has the power to disturb. The simplicity of the story and the setting is sharply punctuated by Ketchum's evocative and gruesome descriptions of violence. The way Ketchum draws seemingly disparate characters together has the overall affect of an oncoming train in which a collision is inevitable, and you can't take your eyes off the scene for even a second. The end is particularly unsettling. In Ketchum's world, as in real life, there are no easy answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS EVER WRITTEN!

    I picked this book up thinking it wouldn't keep my attention all the way through. But straight from the beginning I was hooked. One of the best books ever written. Simply Jack Ketchum's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2001

    Thanks for the chills

    I¿ve read Jack Ketchum before and looked forward to this new book, THE LOST. When I started it I couldn¿t put it down until it was finished. It¿s a tense and edgy ride with Ray and those attracted to and repulsed by his relentless hunger. Years after the opening Bad incident we travel through the town Ray lives in, drawn by his non-PC life, waiting for the next Bad thing to happen. Ketchum doesn¿t disappoint in THE LOST, there was always another layer of Bad things waiting to make me turn the page. In the end, the random everyday-ness of Ray¿s evil made me want to put extra locks on my door and windows and sleep with the lights on. LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    horror at the edge of reality

    A bored or angry Ray Pye is a dangerous person. In June 1965 in Sparta, New Jersey, Ray, accompanied by his girlfriend Jennifer and his best friend Tim, goes camping when he sees two girls touching and hugging one another. He concludes they are lesbians, a sexual preference he abhors. He shoots and kills one and leaves the other in a comatose state. Four years later, the second girl dies. <P>Neither Jennifer nor Tim snitch on Ray and no other evidence links the sociopathic killer to the crime. Tim and Jennifer fear Ray and do anything he demands of them. Jennifer continues to have sex with Ray though he openly cheats on her all the time. When Katherine enters his life, Ray falls in love his style. However, she dumps him leading to a rampage that makes his previous homicides seem like a night at the opera. <P> Jack Ketchum is a master of suspense and horror of the human variety. With each new novel he writes, Mr. Ketchum¿s plots seem to become scarier and scarier. THE LOST is horror at the edge of reality. The story line seems lifted from headlines making it even more frighteningly plausible. Readers so believe in what this Bram Stoker winner writes, there is probably a high correlation between installing new security systems and the release of a new Mr. Ketchum chiller. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1