Customer Reviews for

The Lost Christmas Eve

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding finale to the trilogy

I've listened to The Lost Christmas Eve (TLCE) several times now, and I'm definitely impressed. This album is the finale to the Christmas trilogy by TSO. As with the previous albums, TSO presents an eclectic mix of styles ranging from hard-rock to classical to Broadwa...
I've listened to The Lost Christmas Eve (TLCE) several times now, and I'm definitely impressed. This album is the finale to the Christmas trilogy by TSO. As with the previous albums, TSO presents an eclectic mix of styles ranging from hard-rock to classical to Broadway to jazz and a whole lot in between. For most bands, it would be impossible to pull off such variety with conviction, but TSO manages it expertly by employing a large and diverse range of performers. A quick look at the album credits shows you that this is no ordinary band-- there are four guitarists, four bassists, multiple singers (male and female), a children's choir, an orchestra... you get the idea. Fans of TSO's first Christmas album, "Christmas Eve and Other Stories" will be glad to know that the agressive instrumentals are back in full force. As much as I enjoyed "The Christmas Attic" (TSO's second album), I felt some of the energy had been depleted. That's definitely not a problem this time. Actually, this is the most agressive TSO has ever been. "Wizards In Winter" is an incredible instrumental track with flying guitar and keyboard lines, and "Wish Liszt" is one of the best hard-rock covers of classical music I've ever heard... whoever thought anyone would feel the urge to mosh to Franz Liszt? "Christmas Jam" and "Siberian Sleigh Ride" are also both highly energized instrumentals. Overall, it feels like the musicians were allowed a bit more freedom on these instrumentals. On the previous Christmas album, I got the feeling that they felt restricted to playing the notes as written, whereas here it feels like they had more fun. On the quieter side, the title track "The Lost Christmas Eve" is a dark, haunting (yet somehow Broadway-esque) piece that features great lyrics and sets the scene for the story. "Christmas Dreams" is a moderately paced track, starting with a simple piano line, and building, eventually reaching a steady beat reminiscent of "Vienna" from "Beethoven's Last Night." There's also a really great version of "What Child is This." It starts with the familiar melody we all know (Greensleeves), but then drifts into something totally new serves as an optimistic and fitting closing to the main storyline of the album. "Christmas Canon Rock" is a reworked version of "Christmas Canon" from TSO's second Christmas album. At the moment, I prefer this version-- electric guitars and a piano replace the orchestra, and a solitary woman's voice replaces the children's choir. Drums were also added. "Back To A Reason Part 2" is odd because it's taken from the Savatage album "Poets and Madmen." Savatage, for those who don't know, is TSO's alter ego heavy-metal band, and "Back To A Reason" was one of their best ballads. In this rendition, it gets a slightly more Broadway feel, so it fits well with the other tracks, and the hard-driving middle section from the original song has been replaced with an all new part that's better suited for a Christmas album. I don't think it outdoes the original version, but it's nice to hear a new version of one of my favorites. There is one downside to this album. Near the beginning, there is a bit of a lull where a few skippable tracks are lumped together. "Remember" features a children's choir, and while it's not a bad song, it simply doesn't compare to "Promises To Keep," (the children's choir track from the first album.) "Anno Dominae" features an adult choir, and is also merely okay, but I could easily do without it. "Christmas Concerto" is rather pointless, lasting just about one minute and never really going anywhere. "Chrismtas Jazz" is listenable, but I'm not much of a jazz fan, so it wasn't my taste. (although I really enjoy "Christmas Nights In Blue," which is sort o

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

So...I can't figure out what the deal is with the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. A combination of eighties-sounding guitars, Queen-esque harmonies along with hair metal vocals, bells, keyboards, angel choirs, all of it chronicling a Christmas tale of redemption-it sounds li...
So...I can't figure out what the deal is with the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. A combination of eighties-sounding guitars, Queen-esque harmonies along with hair metal vocals, bells, keyboards, angel choirs, all of it chronicling a Christmas tale of redemption-it sounds like it should be a joke, right? But this is presented without any irony, despite it's over the top nature. What gives?

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding finale to the trilogy

    I've listened to The Lost Christmas Eve (TLCE) several times now, and I'm definitely impressed. This album is the finale to the Christmas trilogy by TSO. As with the previous albums, TSO presents an eclectic mix of styles ranging from hard-rock to classical to Broadway to jazz and a whole lot in between. For most bands, it would be impossible to pull off such variety with conviction, but TSO manages it expertly by employing a large and diverse range of performers. A quick look at the album credits shows you that this is no ordinary band-- there are four guitarists, four bassists, multiple singers (male and female), a children's choir, an orchestra... you get the idea. Fans of TSO's first Christmas album, "Christmas Eve and Other Stories" will be glad to know that the agressive instrumentals are back in full force. As much as I enjoyed "The Christmas Attic" (TSO's second album), I felt some of the energy had been depleted. That's definitely not a problem this time. Actually, this is the most agressive TSO has ever been. "Wizards In Winter" is an incredible instrumental track with flying guitar and keyboard lines, and "Wish Liszt" is one of the best hard-rock covers of classical music I've ever heard... whoever thought anyone would feel the urge to mosh to Franz Liszt? "Christmas Jam" and "Siberian Sleigh Ride" are also both highly energized instrumentals. Overall, it feels like the musicians were allowed a bit more freedom on these instrumentals. On the previous Christmas album, I got the feeling that they felt restricted to playing the notes as written, whereas here it feels like they had more fun. On the quieter side, the title track "The Lost Christmas Eve" is a dark, haunting (yet somehow Broadway-esque) piece that features great lyrics and sets the scene for the story. "Christmas Dreams" is a moderately paced track, starting with a simple piano line, and building, eventually reaching a steady beat reminiscent of "Vienna" from "Beethoven's Last Night." There's also a really great version of "What Child is This." It starts with the familiar melody we all know (Greensleeves), but then drifts into something totally new serves as an optimistic and fitting closing to the main storyline of the album. "Christmas Canon Rock" is a reworked version of "Christmas Canon" from TSO's second Christmas album. At the moment, I prefer this version-- electric guitars and a piano replace the orchestra, and a solitary woman's voice replaces the children's choir. Drums were also added. "Back To A Reason Part 2" is odd because it's taken from the Savatage album "Poets and Madmen." Savatage, for those who don't know, is TSO's alter ego heavy-metal band, and "Back To A Reason" was one of their best ballads. In this rendition, it gets a slightly more Broadway feel, so it fits well with the other tracks, and the hard-driving middle section from the original song has been replaced with an all new part that's better suited for a Christmas album. I don't think it outdoes the original version, but it's nice to hear a new version of one of my favorites. There is one downside to this album. Near the beginning, there is a bit of a lull where a few skippable tracks are lumped together. "Remember" features a children's choir, and while it's not a bad song, it simply doesn't compare to "Promises To Keep," (the children's choir track from the first album.) "Anno Dominae" features an adult choir, and is also merely okay, but I could easily do without it. "Christmas Concerto" is rather pointless, lasting just about one minute and never really going anywhere. "Chrismtas Jazz" is listenable, but I'm not much of a jazz fan, so it wasn't my taste. (although I really enjoy "Christmas Nights In Blue," which is sort o

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful alternative to the norm ...

    I love it! I've a LOT of Christmas music, classical, classic, big band, pop, etc., and this is one of my favorites. If you love rock and roll and want something different than everything that gets played during the holiday season than this album may be for you. I would also recommend a guitar instrumental Christmas album by Alturas "CHRISTMAS IN THE HEIGHTS", but, B&N doesn't carry it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TSO is the best!

    I have been in love with TSO for about four years. all of their stuff is amazing!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    almost as good as their concert

    this cd is absolutely amazing. i didn't think anyone could be THAT creative with blending styles of music. one of the first times i heard them was at their concert. i was completely blown away... AND i got to meet them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Now this MUSIC!!!!!!!!!

    AWESOME is the only word that is appropriate!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alex Skolnick

    I am a metal head and I like TOS. One main reason is because Alex Skolnick has been a part of the music. He is very talented, as well as the rest of the orchestra.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Return to top form

    The Christmas Attic was a big letdown for me. But with the conclusion of the Christmas trilogy, the TSO is back to their very best - and they'll be playing the entire album this winter (2012) instead of their usual set list. Another brilliant concept album featuring several styles of music. I can't wait until the TSO reaches Dallas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOST CHRISTMAS EVE

    I love this music. It is so cool. The Trans-Siberian Orchestra ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lost Christmas Eve

    I first heard about Trans Siberian Orchestra on the radio when I was like in 6th grade or something. That was when they completely transformed the song Carol of the Bells which boosted up their sales for that album. I of coarse fell in love w/ that song and wanted to hear some more of their stuff. This album came out about 2 years ago from now and its probably one of their, strange but good albums. A great compilation of Christmas music mixed into rock. These guys are amazing at what they do and you can see why their shows sell out every year.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely fabulous

    I have all the TSO CD's and play them for several months before and after Christmas. Christmas music can get so repetitive. TSO has a whole new sound. And, if you think this is good, you should see their peformances.!!!!Nothing like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious.

    I have never heard anything so utterly and completely hysterical in my entire life.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE

    I LOVE TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1