BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lost City

Average Rating 4
( 1113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(663)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(173)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

414 out of 537 people found this review helpful.

Great game

Beautifully done and very enjoyable. My only request to the developers would be an interactive map for games with this many locations. Not sure if that's possible in this format but with a sprawling game like this it would make things easier. Length is good, and puzzle...
Beautifully done and very enjoyable. My only request to the developers would be an interactive map for games with this many locations. Not sure if that's possible in this format but with a sprawling game like this it would make things easier. Length is good, and puzzles etc are well done.

posted by phoenix70 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

304 out of 363 people found this review helpful.

From the dev: Hello everyone!

Hi everybody!

I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to look at our new game!

The gameplay is very similar to our other Nook game, The Secret of Grisly Manor. The Lost City is about 5X longer than Grisly Manor, so if you liked that game, you'll LOVE this one!!...
Hi everybody!

I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to look at our new game!

The gameplay is very similar to our other Nook game, The Secret of Grisly Manor. The Lost City is about 5X longer than Grisly Manor, so if you liked that game, you'll LOVE this one!!!

Enjoy the game!
Joe

P.S. One of the puzzles later on in the game seems to tripping some people up. Here is a clue: pay close attention to the number of leaves each silver flower has...

posted by 8017212 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 56
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Loved the game!!

    Had a great time playing with the kids... need more games like this!

    30 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Pointless

    This game is really pointless.... u have to read the hints every 2 min just to follow whats going on and the game had no point.... Just didnt not understand the game and if you didnt read the hints you could never figure it out on ur own...
    Did not like at all

    26 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Dont get your hopes up

    I cant even give this game a try because it wont load!!!!!!!!

    23 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Amazing!

    Me and my Mom are hooked!

    23 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Rope problem?

    Tie the rope to the tree above the well.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Great game u should try

    I love this game buy it its worth .99

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Well, the graphics are very nice. However, the developers, spen

    Well, the graphics are very nice. However, the developers, spending so much time writing the game, apparently they forgot that new players need some directions on how to play. I do play a lot of electronic games, but this game is NOT intuitive in any way. There are NO directions or explanation of gameplay. If you can move a couple screens in, you can access 'hints' that really are useless, since most of them referred to places and items that you can't get to. If they would add some instructions it would maybe be better. This is being written in June 2012, so good luck waiting for instructions. I vote pass on this one until they look at it from the PLAYER point of view. What a shame.

    19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Amazing but troubing

    Im stuck on when the hint says use rope to desend i got the rope ive even tried to use the rope but it wont work. So im stuck at the begginning of chapter 5. Please help if you have the answer to my problem

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Cool

    When i got this game i was so excited. Very addicting. You might get frustrated but it is great get this game if you dont have it already

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Trouble instaling.

    Loved the game once I got it to install.

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Stupid!

    Ihated this game soo much i wish would have never bought it!

    18 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Hints

    Couldnt do without hints. Still enjoyable.

    17 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Installs eternally......

    WONT INSTALL

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Dont like it

    I dont like it! I thought it was like temple run! Can yal put an app for temple run pweas

    13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Be patient!

    I had played Grisley Manor so knew the basic idea, but it took awhile to catch on! Don't give up! Once you get going you won't want to stop. Love the graphics and the colorful, detailed scenes. I really liked the hints. A great game - sometimes frustrating but that is what is challenging. Just keep at it. If this grandma can do it, anyone can!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Absolutely captivating

    My 7 1/2 year old and I have been absolutely captivated by this game and have been talking , and doing it, for about 3 days now...we think differently and have been helping each other out...what a treat and worth every single penny!!!!!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Great Game!

    My girlfriend and I are huge fan of both games by this company. We had a blast solving this one together. The puzzles are great, and i really like the addition of the journal for note taking. My only complaint is the game ends with me wanting more! I can't wait for another game like this one from them.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Headline

    I love this game! Worth the buy, and trust me, it's not like other games where the screen freezes. Great graphics. It doesnt have the best ending, but the rest is enough to keep you hooked on it. I also would reccommend the other game, Grisly Manor. Cant wait for the next!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    I dont get how to play??!

    I Dont get how to play????!






    12 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Worth the Wait

    To everyone who is having difficulty with this App installing, try this trick it worked for me;

    *Archive the App.

    *Turn the Nook completely off and re-boot.

    *Once your Nook is re-booted, Archive any App's which you may not have used recently or plan use soon.

    *Now Unarchive 'The Lost City'. It should now install due to the "extra room" you've made by Archiving the other App's.

    Once you can play this game you will quickly realize it was well worth the wait. An entire different class than 'Grisly Manor'. Fire Maple has out-done themselves with this.

    **Hint** The flower puzzle is more about remembering the color/number-values than just colors or color sequence(s).**

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 56