Customer Reviews for

The Lost Girls: Three Friends. Four Continents. One Unconventional Detour Around the World.

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun read!

The Lost Girls will make you want to travel the world and see it for yourself. It is positive, enlightening, and clever. I would recommend it, for sure!

posted by 4696463 on September 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not a travel book!

This is not a travel book. Maybe it wasn't meant to be, I don't really know what the authors were thinking. This is a book about three girls clubbing their way around the world. I was ready to put the book down after chapter eight's 4:00AM romp. But than I saw the n...
This is not a travel book. Maybe it wasn't meant to be, I don't really know what the authors were thinking. This is a book about three girls clubbing their way around the world. I was ready to put the book down after chapter eight's 4:00AM romp. But than I saw the next chapter was Holly's. Holly is much more likeable than the other girls. Holly's chapter nine says what I had been thinking. These girls were turning their trip around the world into a "year long spring break". "Merely trading partying in Manhattan for partying on the road". (These are quotes right out of the book!) Holly should have ditched the other two girls and wrote her own book, she would have been much better off!

If you are looking for a book about party girls this book may not be that bad. If you are looking for an interesting book about world travel DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!

Try "A GOOD GIRLS GUIDE TO GETTING LOST" by Rachel Friedman, same idea but much more interesting!

posted by disliked on July 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Not a travel book!

    This is not a travel book. Maybe it wasn't meant to be, I don't really know what the authors were thinking. This is a book about three girls clubbing their way around the world. I was ready to put the book down after chapter eight's 4:00AM romp. But than I saw the next chapter was Holly's. Holly is much more likeable than the other girls. Holly's chapter nine says what I had been thinking. These girls were turning their trip around the world into a "year long spring break". "Merely trading partying in Manhattan for partying on the road". (These are quotes right out of the book!) Holly should have ditched the other two girls and wrote her own book, she would have been much better off!

    If you are looking for a book about party girls this book may not be that bad. If you are looking for an interesting book about world travel DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!

    Try "A GOOD GIRLS GUIDE TO GETTING LOST" by Rachel Friedman, same idea but much more interesting!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    Fun read!

    The Lost Girls will make you want to travel the world and see it for yourself. It is positive, enlightening, and clever. I would recommend it, for sure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wanderlust for Women!

    Three twenty-something girl friends decide to leave their respective media jobs in The Big Apple and take a year to travel the world. This globetrotting account is divided up into Jen, Holly & Amanda's accounts as they journey through South America, Africa, Asia & Australia and recount their adventures. For those who love to travel, those who dream of making it around the world or something bigger; this book is for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    I read this book while on vacation and I loved it! I wish I had

    I read this book while on vacation and I loved it! I wish I had taken a triip like that with girlfriends when I was younger. They went to interesting spots which made it all the more fun to read about; The Inca trail, Cambodia, Vietnam to name a few.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Great Travel Book!

    I just finished reading The Lost Girls and loved it! I am also in my late twenties...30 is less than three months away and am starting to wonder if my life is going in the direction I want it too. I can completly understand what these three women were facing and wish so much that I could also take a year off to travel and discover what makes me tick. This book was beautifully written and made me feel like I was the fourth "Lost Girl", right there with them for every adventure. My favorite part was when they visited Kenya. I felt all three girls were forever changed by that adventure, and I was truly touched by the love and emotion displayed on the pages of that section. I read to escape my daily life and get lost in the lives of characters in books. This book is perfect for getting lost in the characters' adventures. I highly reccommend this book for all those who enjoy books about travel and self discovery. And thank you, The Lost Girls for giving me the courage to take a chance and change my life in a way no one else could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Love!

    I lived vicariously through these girls...be aware the travel bug will get u

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Makes Me Wish I were carefree and 20 Something Again!

    Don't be fooled into thinking this is a travel book. There are parts that you can glean from the girls' travels, but it's more a book about the adventuresome spirit and friendships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    A MUST read, especially for any 20 something struggling with their path in life!

    Couldn't put this book down! It is entertaining, heartwarming, thought-provoking and inspiring. This book will make you examine your life- your goals, your relationships, and what you are really after!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Take me with you!!!

    Truly enjoyed this book!!! It was amazing that three friends could not only stay friends after a year on the road, but the friendships thrived! I felt like I was included in their journeys. The way that the ladies would describe each local and adventure made me feel like I was right beside them with my backpack. I would love to have that adventurous spirit, passion & opportunity to drop everything and go see the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Wish I hadn't picked it up

    "Girls" is right and they are certainly "lost" but not for the reason they think - this is no adventure. They lack the maturity and depth for an adventure like this. Little do they know it, but they haven't had the adventure of a lifetime, just the privilege of having a twenty-something life crisis in other countries. The other reviewer wraps it up accurately "there is way too much self absorbed writing about themselves." I wish I had read the Kirkus review - Kirkus calls it like it is every time. The writing is so affected and their pop culture references too obvious. The most disappointing part of the book is its repetitive recount of their interpersonal b.s. and the boyfriend or ex-boyfriend drama. Give me a break. They traveled the globe and they can't find it themselves or the experience to truly capture the cultures they "immersed" themselves in. Rather, they choose to gripe about the trivialities of their friendships and their lives in general. Plus, true adventurers don't take "breaks" and return to the comfort of the U.S. I am not at all inspired to visit one place they visited. Not sure what version of the book the other positive reviewers read, maybe the book of friendship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Highly Recommend --- Loved it!

    I absolutely recommend this book. I just finished it and really enjoyed it. It is a great combination of travel information and friendship. I hope the authors write another one soon. Great Book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well written

    As the three friends were making it up the Manhattan media ladder, each began to question whether this is what they want from life. With thirty beckoning, they quit their jobs and leave their boyfriends behind in New York to embark on an around the world in one year tour though they know the cost to their careers. The three writers rotate chapters as they travel in South America, Africa, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. The trek is not all kumbayah camaraderie though they depend on each other. Well written, the fascination in the memoir is the maturing from the early hedonistic fling in Brazil to the later poignancy of Kenya.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Loved it

    I loved every second of this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Vicarious travel pleasure

    I really enjoyed traveling around the world with the lost girls. A good time for anyone who has ever contemplated chucking it all and just taking off with your possessions on your back. Included is even some concrete travel advice as well- which are the best hostels, sites and destinations not to be missed. My only complaint would be that it's hard to believe four different people wrote this book- there is no change of voice between sections and I kept forgetting who was writing the section I was reading at the time. But definitely not to be missed if you long to travel the world seeking adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3