Customer Reviews for

Lost Tales of Mercia

Average Rating 3.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Talk About Diverse!!

This is a collection of short stories, which you can download separately for free as well. Which I did and it looks great on my NookColor haha

Each story is about a different person all taking place during the years of an ongoing war. Royalty, Vikings, peasants, chil...
This is a collection of short stories, which you can download separately for free as well. Which I did and it looks great on my NookColor haha

Each story is about a different person all taking place during the years of an ongoing war. Royalty, Vikings, peasants, children- These stories cover all kinds of people and they are ALL interesting to read about, especially because they eventually tie in together. I want MORE!

posted by MissMonster on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Complete

This book is only a sample of the book, not the complete version.

posted by 5938142 on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Talk About Diverse!!

    This is a collection of short stories, which you can download separately for free as well. Which I did and it looks great on my NookColor haha

    Each story is about a different person all taking place during the years of an ongoing war. Royalty, Vikings, peasants, children- These stories cover all kinds of people and they are ALL interesting to read about, especially because they eventually tie in together. I want MORE!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Amazing Book 6 was my favorite

    If you enjoy historical fiction then this the series for you. These tales are wonderfully written and the characters are so vivid i feel as if i am watching a movie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    A tantalizing intro to an awesome series!

    The tales seem unconnected at first, and at the end of each I felt frustration at being left hanging. I began each new tale confused about where these new characters fit into the last tale, and read on, hoping for more about the last tale. By the end of the book, I saw a few connections between the tales and desperately wanted more! I was satisfied with more in Eadric the Grasper and Godric the Kingslayer - both wonderful full stories stemming from the tales and beginning the work of connecting the tales. I highly recommend the these tales, as well as the Sons of Mercia series that ties them together!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    Not Complete

    This book is only a sample of the book, not the complete version.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    great book

    i loved this it wass awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Interesting and gripping

    Love the short stories. I find that when I finish one I quickly go to the next. The stories are short enough to read easily but keep the interest up. Can't wait to Eadric the Grasper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Hghfhhfhffh

    Gghchchd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Gripping, Intricate narrative - a great read!

    These interwoven tales are quite enjoyable. I couldn't put it down. Although fictionalized, these true to history events come alive in all their glory. The political implications of dry historical facts brings Mercia to life. So good that I had to buy another in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Well written and interesting

    I highly recommend this book (and the follow-up Eric the Grasper) as "required reading" for dark ages reading buffs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    The Tales are related ¿ but just only

    These ten "Lost Tales" were interestingly written, though their very disjointed nature only loosely left me wanting something to tie them up with a ribbon. I haven't yet read the book these "Lost Tales" are supposed to introduce, and I have every hope that it succeeds where these rambling stories leave me dissatisfied.
    JiRoKi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Awsome

    It was extriemely good. It was just the 10 'lost' tales which are free but sill enjoyable. One quesiion is r these the real full tales? They seem too short to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    A good read. I enjoyed it.

    It was a very good read, if somewhat disjointed because it was just the '10 lost tales' put together in a book. Still.. I enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    All in one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4