Customer Reviews for

The Lost Tales of Power, Volume I: The Enemy of an Enemy

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A really good read....

This book mixes space warfare in the future with elements of magic as they fight the clasic darkness of evil. There is a hint of romance, but not in a romance novel type of way. I would recomend this book to anyone who likes adventure and action. I plan to look up other...
This book mixes space warfare in the future with elements of magic as they fight the clasic darkness of evil. There is a hint of romance, but not in a romance novel type of way. I would recomend this book to anyone who likes adventure and action. I plan to look up other books by this author since I liked this book so much.

posted by zoyalynn on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pass

This was either written for children or by a child. The dialog is stiff and repetative.

posted by Deis on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    A really good read....

    This book mixes space warfare in the future with elements of magic as they fight the clasic darkness of evil. There is a hint of romance, but not in a romance novel type of way. I would recomend this book to anyone who likes adventure and action. I plan to look up other books by this author since I liked this book so much.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Nicely done

    I really enjoyed this adventure into this sci-fi/fantasy tale. The mixture if the two genres was well done and blended perfectly together. I happen to like fantasy more than sci-fi because many sci-fi stories tend to be technical with science emphasized more than fiction. Maybe this is why previous reviewers commented that this seemed a story written by a child. If they are hard-core sci-fi fans with all the quantum science and unpronouncable species and worlds it did seem so to them. Not once did I feel like this was written by or for children. I was really surprised at how much I liked this. The characters were interesting and fully developed and the story was action packed. Never once did I feel that the story lagged and it moved along at a quick pace. The world building was thorough and I could easily imagine this foreign place. The magical aspect was woven in very nicely and did not seemed contrived merely to "throw" somerhing else in the story. The suspense added to the urgency of turning the pages eagerly to see what happens next. All in all this tale was interesting, captivating and has me eagerly looking forward to the next in this series. This is merely but one of the great authors that I have found by having a Nook. It is easy to find these little known authors by hitting the "Related Topics" button while purusing the overview of books. So many of these treasures are free as well so you only have your time spent to lose. I have found so many really good books this way and many of those authors are now on my must read list. This is a great way to expand my library but still keep within my book budget.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Engaging

    This novel leads from a science fiction novel to a mystical novel in smooth transition. A previous reader had difficulty in following the plot, but i found no such issues. Easily readible with smooth transitions from scene to scene.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    EXCELLENT

    ENJOYED. never a dull moment. Even before I finished reading I spent an hour or more looking for the second and third books. Can't wait for more. Thank you for allowing this book to be free.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Very enjoyable read

    Well, I just finished the book..and I must say it was a very enjoyable read. I enjoy Vince Flynn and Tom Clancy, and like their books I couldn't put it down.
    I highly recommend the book, and I'm really looking forward to the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Great read

    Really enjoyed this opening book to a new series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    recommend this read

    very good book to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Needs an editor.

    This story reads like it was written by a twelve year old. Im sure it has a great plot but the writing was so horrendous that i couldnt get past the prologue.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Pass

    This was either written for children or by a child. The dialog is stiff and repetative.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Disappointing

    I liked the storyline, but I feel it was poorly written with unnatural dialogue. The writing style makes it difficult to truly recommend this book to others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Outstanding Book...

    I am amazed that this random book happened so be so mind-meltingly awesome, and free, as well!This is a great fantasy book, and definitely a new favorite series in my nook. ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    It was a great read, keep me turning in suspense every page!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3