Customer Reviews for

The Lost Warrior (Warriors Manga Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Warrior of RiverClan

I think this book was freakishly awsome!!! Im glad that Millie came to help Graystripe.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hmmmm............

At first, when I heard that Warriors was going to be turned into a manga series, I ran around the house excited. When I finally got my hands on it at the bookstore and looked inside, I was a bit dissappointed. It only took me about 10 minutes to read it, and the drawing...
At first, when I heard that Warriors was going to be turned into a manga series, I ran around the house excited. When I finally got my hands on it at the bookstore and looked inside, I was a bit dissappointed. It only took me about 10 minutes to read it, and the drawing styles weren't the best (but they still were pretty good). The fact was that Warriors manga just made normal Warriors books seem......babyish. I actually like the idea of Warriors manga, but I wanted it to be not so little kid like. I'm glad that Erin Hunter showed off the cover of 'The Rise of Scourge'. It seemed a lot more appealing and more grown up......... If you disagree with the manga idea, you don't have to read Warriors manga, but In a way I liked 'The Lost Warrior'.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    Insulting and Poor

    I take it this 'manga' reads from left to right, so thus I wouldn't really call it a manga. 'Disregard that if I am wrong'. Now, I've seen the art from inside the first few pages of the book, and it looks terrible. Graystripe does not look like anything I'd have imagined. I don't mind comics if the art is decent, but this is an official turn off. I really wish this had been written into a novel versus an attempt to make it an exciting comic. It's a pity, Erin's seemed to have lost her touch with the series by this book and The Sight.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Graphic Novel?

    Why a graphic Novel? Why can't it be a novel novel! I REALLY want to figure out what happens to Graystripe but I want it in WORDS! GOSH!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    How could you do this to us????

    MANGA????? That has got to be the WORST thing you could possibly do!!! I am a huge fan of Warriors. I've read them all countless times! I was jumpng for joy when I heard about this new book, but not anymore!!! How can you turn this great series into a Japanese cartoon? I am very dissapointed. I know everyone was excited to hear what happened to Graystripe, but this is NOT a story. It doesn't even have good pictures! Please don't make anymore mousebrained books. I can't believe you would do this to us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Rainstorm deputy of Leopard Clan

    Absolutly horrendous! NO more comics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Why the change?

    Erin Hunter how could you! The cover to Lost Warrior is aweful. Comic Books are made for super heros not your books. Why did you change it? I would love to read this book but not in a comic book style. Please change it to a regular reading style for those who don't like the comic style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    Windstar a loyal leader of Shadowclan

    MAGNA! Erin how could you do this! I love the Warriors series, but MAGNA! No way! I hate magna! The only reason I'll read this book is to find out what happens to Graystripe. This book will NEVER sell! I hope you don't write anymore books in magna!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    How COULD YOU ERIN!!!!!!

    Erin I cannot believe you would make this a comic japanese type styled book. I love the warriors and will read this one but,? what was wrong with your old books?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Cartoon Cats?!?

    I agree with all of you manga-haters! This has gone to far. I thought that the Warriors were novels, not cute cartoon characters! What's up with that? Erin Hunter, please don't make anymore manga stories. Wild killing cats don't mix with cute cartoon kitties! Now I'm thinking twice about Warriors... (But I am glad to hear the Grarystripe comes back!) Who agrees with me?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Silverclaw of Thunderclan, Manga, are you NUTS Erin

    HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO US!! I think I speak for a lot of people when I say this is outragous! How could you go and let this Manga thing get ahold of this wonderful series. I mean, how could you let these book wanabees get to you like that. I can already tell there is going to be some very upset fans here. Just don't do anything like this again. And my Mom says she might not let me get the book because she does not like Manga. Red flag here if my mom does not like it it could possilbley be bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    This is terrible!

    This is terrible! Terrible, terrible, terrible! How could you turn the great series of warriors into CARTOONS?? I assure you Erin, you are going to loose a lot of fans. Sure I want Graystripe to come back as much as the next person, but in Manga! How could you do this to a series everyone knows and loves! Jeez, why don't you just keep manga in Japan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    What in the world?

    Why does the dumb Manga have to destroy the best series? Manga is cartoons. Who would want the wildcats in a cute cartoon style? Graystripe as a cartoon just looks plain stupid.Cartoons have nothing to do with Warriors. Erin Hunter, please don't let them publish any more dumb cartoon Warriors books. How is that wild? Honestly, I hate Manga. I mean, what kind of idiot would love it? I am definitely not buying this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    Why magna this stuff will not sell..I hate stuff with big eyes and small heads...This book looks k-i-t-t-y-p-e-t!!!!!!erin dont let this magna junk make you go down hill..I hate magna..I hope this book fails...I only like it becuse its about graystripe...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    What was Erin thinking?

    First of all if I wrote a series, I would NEVER disappoint my readers by suddenly changing the format of a book in that series. I am throughouly disappointed with The Lost Warrior book. There is little detail in the writing because there is short choppy sentences almost three to a page. Secondly, even the pictures are a blowdown, there is certainly no detail in those either. I enjoyed the former illustrations that occupied the covers of the other books in the series. I dislike the manga form because you quickly lose track of what you are reading because of jumping from picture invaded box to picture invaded box. There is just to much going on. When this happens you cannot enjoy the twists and turns of the plot. Plus, wouldn't it be more fun to imagine the pictures the words make in your mind with your own vibrant detail instead of having an artist do it for you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    HEY! WHAT'S UP WITH THE CARTOONS?!

    Hey all you fellow warriors fans! I love the fact that Erin is doing another series, but seriously! Cartoons?! Manga and Warriors are two TOTALLY different worlds and it is SOOOO not right to combine them! I loved warriors the way they were, and I SOOO hate the idea of polluting a good thing by turning it into a cartoon! So there is my opinion if anyone is interested. lol, three cheers for non-cartoonified warriors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    betrayal

    ok they should not have made that into a manga. you shouldnt just sell out like that its really sad. i love the series but they are adding all this excess stuff like a warriors guide and firestars quest and now a manga! whatever happened to just writing it in the ACTUAL books????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Manga? You have got to be kidding me.

    I have been hooked on the Warriors series since I got the first three on my birthday. I ve read all the books and have bought the books the first day they came out in stores. I find it deeply dissappointing they would make great books into manga. The Warriors were written as books not cartoons. They should keep it that way. Erin Hunters' books are selling fine they do not need manga. This is very disappointing as all the good writers and such seem to strive to outstretched their work. It's just like when Harry Potter turned into movies. It sucks and they got bad attention (you know those little girls who think Draco Malfoy is hot). This will lead to no good. No wonder kids now-a-days don't get high scores in reading, they are looking at cartoons. Keep to the books please and away from manga... and movies and anything else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    Not worth it

    I'll probably read this book 'cause it's a warriors book, but I'm really disappointed that it's in Manga. This will totally ruin the tale of Graystripe's return. I like the other style. I'm saving my money for The Sight. It sounds much much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    wildfire, a ThunderClan warrior

    Noooooo erin hunter! how can you do this? warriors is not some japiness comic book its a novel! and the cover :( this is not one of your best works i am sorry. are all three of the lost warrior books going to be in comic book form? please say no.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    Why

    WHy is it in comic book style? Now I'm going to be embarassed by reading comic books instead of the long, exiting Warriors books. I could use to brag how long these were, and now I can't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Cartoon Cats?

    I agree with you, Wildstar. What's with the manga? I thought that Warriors weren't cartoons! Im really disappointed.I've loved the Warriors series ever since they came out. Now I'm not so sure... Wild cats that hunt and kill dont mix with cute cartoon characters!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2