Customer Reviews for

The Lost World

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book deserves to be remembered as one of the archetypal pul

    This book deserves to be remembered as one of the archetypal pulp action adventures.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    This is the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is THE best book I have ever read. From the first page to the end I could not put it down. You should buy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    An oldie but goodie

    A recommended read by a friend, I started the book out of obligation. Wow, am I ever glad I got the nudge. This is the foundation for many of our modern day dinasaur stories/movies. It was quite slow to start, but when it hooked you, watch out. You see it, feel it, live it. Story telling at its best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    Not Modern but Applicable

    This book is the coolest old book I've ever read! It draws you in and you can't stop. Challenger is a great character! At times the conversation between Challenger and Malone struck me as very 'Holmes and Watson' like! You can tell who the author is when you read 'elementary fact'! It also happened to expand my vocabulary!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    Great Book

    I must say for a book that is older and less modern its great. the first few pages are a drag but the story picks up soon after. The adventure of the story is originally intended to impress the main charecters wife but soon after the exposition is started this means little to him. By the end of the story you almost forget what the true journy was intended for. If you want to learn more pick up a copy and READ!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    This is a good science fiction book that asks you to put aside '

    This is a good science fiction book that asks you to put aside 'common sense' in order to take up the adventure of wild proportions. The unlikeliness of the idea itself only makes the adventure more exciting and relatable. Fully recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure & Challanges at their best!

    I have always enjoyed Doyle¿s writing style and was pleased to find The Lost World is every bit as good as some of the authors other works. The development and personal insights into the main characters grew with each chapter leading to a brilliant ending. The descriptions of the plateau has the perfect combination of scientific mumbo-jumbo and everyday layman visuals which brought to life the flora and fauna the group was traveling through. The animals were fantastic and yet real in their appearance and the logical ways the animals should behave. However, the Indians and the Ape Men steal the show. It was sad to think the travelers would corrupt the natural progress of civilization and evolution so easily. Yet history could have happened in the way described in this book. The smallest thing can change the course of history and the largest can have no affect in the long term. I truly enjoyed this book and wish it would never stop. Then again, the short simplicity of it, is part of its appeal. Not many authors can pack so much into such a small quantity of pages and turn out a gem like this. A quick weekend read for anyone who likes adventure with multiple engaging challenges to be overcome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    First and still one of the best

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle created a classic dinosaur adventure story when he wrote The Lost World in 1912. The tale's narrator, Ned Malone is a newspaper reporter who joins an expedition to the wilds of the Amazon to impress his girlfriend. However, he scarcely anticipates the dangers he will confront when the expedition's leader, zoology professor George Challenger takes them to a plateau filled with dinosaurs and ape men. Doyle's human characters are described much more richly than Michael Crichton's minimally interesting protagonists in Jurassic Park (1990), so the story hinges as much on Challenger's eccentricities as it does on dinosaur attacks or Ned Malone's quest for validation of his masculine bravado. A weakness is the lack of female characters worthy of more than passing note. Ned's fickle and heartless girlfriend makes only brief and displeasing appearances at the beginning and end of the tale. Crichton does no better with females. Thomas Hopp's Dinosaur Wars, published in 2000, does a much better take on genders, giving equal weight to a young male/female pair who brave the dangers of dinosaurs loose in modern-day Montana. It seems that even dinosaur fiction has evolved over the years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    The Lost World: the tale of not just dinosaurs

    For those readers who have read multiple literary works by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, it can be said that this is one of, if not, the best book he has written. The book, simply put, is full of action and challenges many ideas relevant at the time of its publishment. Mr. Malone of the Gazette, has been sent on a life mission to put himself in danger for his love, Gladys. He, by fortune or chance, entangles himself with the dangerous but brillant Professor Challenger. Later, the expedition travels to a plateau in South America, here the group of four men and the Natives reach an isolated area that has maintained the life of lost species. Much to my surprise, the book wasn't just dinosaurs eat a bunch of men; it was the strugle between species. Watson of 'The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes' becomes Mr. Malone of 'The Lost World'. This book's diction isn't terribly difficult but might not be as enjoyable for the younger readers. However, anyone can read this book and get some entertainment out of it for this book has Science fiction and fantasy all in one. The descriptiveness of the book is perfect, not to many and just enough to create a climatic effect. The book undoubtly is exciting and would make a great passtime novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Gracie

    "Wow."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Alexis

    Sits down and starts crying"why cant he love me"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Jackson

    "Ive got to go i cant stay here"he walks to kitsuni res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Me wuz first!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    In your face me wuz here FIRST wow i cant beleave your still here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Help!

    I can't get this to downlod!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    :-))

    Dude i havent read the book but youer the only one on it!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    It's no place for a summer vacation!

    Doyle has succeeded in writing an exciting page-turner of a book. It is skillfully written with effective use of a broad range of vocabulary and creative style. It bears little resemblance to the Jurassic Park sequel of the same name (fortunately), and readers expecting a menagerie of invading dinosaurs may be disappointed. The characters are well-developed, and the tension created by their diversity adds to the drama. If one is able to overlook the predominant evolutionary theme, The Lost World will enthrall even the most reluctant reader. But, don't look for answers to questions of the universe here. Read it as simplistic entertainment that has the touch of class for which British writers are famous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2