Customer Reviews for

The Lost Years

Average Rating 3.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This is one of her best. I had backed off some of her more recen

This is one of her best. I had backed off some of her more recent books because I thought they were getting a little predictable, but the historical and religious themes in this one interested me. I was not disappointed. This has everything a mystery should have, intrig...
This is one of her best. I had backed off some of her more recent books because I thought they were getting a little predictable, but the historical and religious themes in this one interested me. I was not disappointed. This has everything a mystery should have, intrigue, suspense and a good story. Very enjoyable read.

posted by Jordanreads on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Would not get to the point

Had some very intresting twista, but had so many details that it would take too long o get to the point

posted by 10146627 on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of her best. I had backed off some of her more recen

    This is one of her best. I had backed off some of her more recent books because I thought they were getting a little predictable, but the historical and religious themes in this one interested me. I was not disappointed. This has everything a mystery should have, intrigue, suspense and a good story. Very enjoyable read.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Would not get to the point

    Had some very intresting twista, but had so many details that it would take too long o get to the point

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Not really

    This book lacks the good stuff

    9 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dead Letter

    A good idea wrapped in a lot of superfluous schmaltz sums up this latest effort by Mary Higgins Clark. The plot involves the discovery by a Biblical scholar, Dr. Jonathan Lyons, of the only letter supposedly ever written by Jesus, and Lyons’ subsequent murder, presumably as a result. The mystery, of course, is which of his various friends and co-workers wants the manuscript to sell on the black market instead of it being returned to the Vatican library from which it was removed in the 1400’s.

    Instead of a straight police procedural, the story becomes bogged down in several side issues: Dr. Lyons’ daughter’s guilt over her alienation from her father over the issue of his mistress and her own “love life;” a couple of characters, Alvirah and Willy, who outwit the police and the perpetrator; and Lyons’ wife’s dementia, among other things.

    The author can still write smoothly, but the novel smacks of a manufactured outline, rather than a carefully developed plot, with each step carefully constructed to fit. It is unfortunate because the idea for the story is excellent, and if the characters were more deeply drawn, and the irrelevancies omitted, the novel could have been more intriguing.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome! Worth the money

    Awesome! Worth the money

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Disappointing

    I love this author amd was so looking forward to this book. Sadly I was very disappointed. Too many similar characters, boring book-- had to force myself to finish this. Hope her next one is better.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Just started

    I have just started reading and dont want to put it down! Another great mystery by MHC. She is my favorite author. I love all her stories and this one is no exception! It is worth the time and money. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!!!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Waste of time

    Have neve read Mary Higgins Clark and after this book? Will not make it a habit. It is extremely simplistic and juvenile writing. A mystery for the elementary crowd? I was shocked at how little suspense, drama, twists etc their were. This is NOT a page turner! Don't waste your time on this one.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    I thought this book would be about a parchment, which it was, bu

    I thought this book would be about a parchment, which it was, but to me placed as an "after-thought". Save your money on this one. The book was more about the subjects mother having dementia, stolen jewelry, to many characters. After reading the first 3-chapters I put the book down and have donated it to a book-reading club.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    This author is a favorite of mine and invariably turns out great

    This author is a favorite of mine and invariably turns out great mystery stories. I'm sure this book will not be a disappointment. I look forward to reading it.

    4 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    OK

    Typical MHC, so you get what you should expect...if you are looking for historical or controversial religious content (i.e. a Dan Brown style) then you will be disappointed. A lot of characters with similar background info...so a little hard to keep track of "who might have done it" leading up to the end. One of the blander ones I have read, and I consider myself a fan (pre ordered this with high hopes almost 2 months early).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Loved it

    I had a feeling that the killer was the person in the end.i don't want to spoil it for the people who read the reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    Unique storyline

    Mary Higgins Clark is one of my favorite authors, and this book does not disappoint. She always keeps you guessing at "whodunnit".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Mapleleaf

    Yeah.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Horrible

    I have read hundreds of mystery books and this is by far the worst one. I have tried numerous times to go back and read this but I just can't. It is so slow and corny and above all BORING!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Ninemile

    Predictable and boring.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great premis but it's just another murder mystery.

    Great premis but it's just another murder mystery.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Mary Higgins Clark's The Lost Years is thought provoking, and in

    Mary Higgins Clark's The Lost Years is thought provoking, and in my opinion, quite unlike anything else she has written. Dr. Jonathan Lyons, a Biblical scholar, thinks he has found the only letter Jesus Christ ever wrote while He lived on this earth - a letter written to Joseph of Arimethea. Since the Bible is silent about Jesus' life from age 12 (after He was found in the Temple by his mother and Joseph) to 30, I thought this premise was great. And even though Mariah was upset with her father for having an affair, she is determined to see that his murderer is brought to justice. I figured out who the culprit before I normally do with Mary's books, but hey, this was still an enjoyable read. I will recommend this book to anyone who asks me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Lacks the excitement of old Higgins Clark.

    Lacks the excitement of old Higgins Clark.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    Great read! Clark scores a hit again.

    Don't pass this one up. Another winner!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8