Customer Reviews for

The Loudest Voice in the Room: How the Brilliant, Bombastic Roger Ailes Built Fox News--and Divided a Country

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book does justice to Mr. Ailes and respects him at every step.

Fox News is one of the most powerful television networks in the U.S. Roger Ailes created that network. His concerns and his viewpoints shape the presentation of political issues. I was eager to get this book through pre-ordering and I avidly read it when it arrived.

...
Fox News is one of the most powerful television networks in the U.S. Roger Ailes created that network. His concerns and his viewpoints shape the presentation of political issues. I was eager to get this book through pre-ordering and I avidly read it when it arrived.

The endnotes of this book reveal the depth and breadth of research on Mr. Ailes. I was fascinated by the information about his childhood and impressed by his courage in living with hemophilia. His protective attitude about his own son also rang bells for me.

The information in the book about the interior of Fox News itself was supplied by the people who would know, that is, those who worked there. It revealed a prejudice in choices about the way to present the news. One anecdote in particular stood out for me. The author quotes a man who was told by Ailes that Obama planned a national police force. He asked Ailes what evidence he had. Ailes responded with a YouTube video of an Obama campaign speech. In that speech Obama called for a Peace Corps-related program for Americans going abroad to do humanitarian work. The person then says that was when he realized that Ailes believed what Fox News presented.

There is a lot of score-settling, rancor, and feuds in the story. It's not pretty. The behavior is not professional.

I commend the author on his research and on the fair way in which he presents it. This book does justice to Mr. Ailes and respects him as a person at every step of the way. To achieve that attitude while also keeping to a fact-based storyline is quite an achievement.

posted by Garamond on February 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This book is nothing more than a hatchet job by another  liberal

This book is nothing more than a hatchet job by another  liberal reporter that is jealous of Fox News' success.  It is really pathetic the way
the liberal media can't stand to have a monopoly on the news so they attack the one network and it's people that actually repor...
This book is nothing more than a hatchet job by another  liberal reporter that is jealous of Fox News' success.  It is really pathetic the way
the liberal media can't stand to have a monopoly on the news so they attack the one network and it's people that actually reports on the news.
Those that don't like the fact that Fox reports on stories that liberals rather we didn't hear never explain what exactly it is that Fox does wrong.
Just more personal attacks from liberal reporters that are green with envy.  Get a life Sherman.  This book is nonsense.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Recommended - information that is needed!

    The author has made this learning experience an easy read. Those that are very loyal to Fox News will probably not be convinced of the importance of the facts provided but they do need to be made aware of the destructive nature of what Roger Ailes and Rupert Murdock produced. It is frightening to realize how easily we can be manipulated. This book should be read!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    This book does justice to Mr. Ailes and respects him at every step.

    Fox News is one of the most powerful television networks in the U.S. Roger Ailes created that network. His concerns and his viewpoints shape the presentation of political issues. I was eager to get this book through pre-ordering and I avidly read it when it arrived.

    The endnotes of this book reveal the depth and breadth of research on Mr. Ailes. I was fascinated by the information about his childhood and impressed by his courage in living with hemophilia. His protective attitude about his own son also rang bells for me.

    The information in the book about the interior of Fox News itself was supplied by the people who would know, that is, those who worked there. It revealed a prejudice in choices about the way to present the news. One anecdote in particular stood out for me. The author quotes a man who was told by Ailes that Obama planned a national police force. He asked Ailes what evidence he had. Ailes responded with a YouTube video of an Obama campaign speech. In that speech Obama called for a Peace Corps-related program for Americans going abroad to do humanitarian work. The person then says that was when he realized that Ailes believed what Fox News presented.

    There is a lot of score-settling, rancor, and feuds in the story. It's not pretty. The behavior is not professional.

    I commend the author on his research and on the fair way in which he presents it. This book does justice to Mr. Ailes and respects him as a person at every step of the way. To achieve that attitude while also keeping to a fact-based storyline is quite an achievement.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    This book is nothing more than a hatchet job by another  liberal

    This book is nothing more than a hatchet job by another  liberal reporter that is jealous of Fox News' success.  It is really pathetic the way
    the liberal media can't stand to have a monopoly on the news so they attack the one network and it's people that actually reports on the news.
    Those that don't like the fact that Fox reports on stories that liberals rather we didn't hear never explain what exactly it is that Fox does wrong.
    Just more personal attacks from liberal reporters that are green with envy.  Get a life Sherman.  This book is nonsense.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    A fascinating read

    This well-crafted, riveting book provided insights into Roger Ailes, one of the most influential media figures of our times. Fox News adherents may find it slanted against him. However, as someone who watches Fox News, as part of my daily survey of TV, newspaper and Internet reporting, I found it provided valuable context for what we see and hear on the network. I also found intriguing many instructive details about Ailes' childhood and professional career path.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!

    Does connect dots about FOX NEWS and why the Republican party is the way it is!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Excellent Read

    I bought this book because I have always been fascinated by the phenomenon of Fox News. This biography clarified both why Fox is successful and why it has the "worldview" it has. It also underscores Ailes' brilliance in understanding and manipulating both an audience and national politics. You may or may not agree with Ailes/Fox - they are synonymous - but its impossible to deny his/its power and influence over the massive segment of the population fearful of today's changing social, cultural, and technological shifts.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Liberal jerks,

    I should have known this was a liberal author defending obama. Do not buy,,

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is more money than I have ever wasted on a book. I wa

    This book is more money than I have ever wasted on a book. I want my money back. If this a biography, I'll be sure to avoid them in the future.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    A must read book

    Very well written and researched book. Unvails the curtain of fox news and the man who runs it. Truly show how easy we are being manipulated under the guise of news. Really a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Roger Ailes bared naked for all to see. And what a sight he is.

    Roger Ailes bared naked for all to see. And what a sight he is.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Fascinating read. Very exhaustive account of the man running the

    Fascinating read. Very exhaustive account of the man running the Fox conglomerate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    A fair and balanced look at arguably the most influential man in

    A fair and balanced look at arguably the most influential man in media today. A fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1