Customer Reviews for

The Love of a Cowboy

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Need a sequel

    I need to see how their life goes from a wedding to more babies.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Loved it!

    I didn't want it to end!! Next up The Love of a Stranger starting now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    I love all Anna Jeffrey books, & of course the Dixie Cash series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Great read...

    Great read.... 1100+ pages.... will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Love of a Cowboy

    This was one of the best books I have ever read! Luke and Dahlia meet in Idaho in the summer after Dahlia and her best friend go there to work. Luke is a wealthy ranch owner, Dahlia has gone through a very rough patch in her life. Their chemistry is amazing. Luke wines and dines her falling in love but keeps her hidden from his family. At the end of the summer Dahlia goes back to Texas when her father falls ill. She discovers she is with child, but does not tell Luke. Piggy, Dahlia's best friend sends him a letter and picture and he makes his way to Texas to claim the love of his life and his son. The story is romantic and heart wrenching. I am in love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    cowboys

    I couldnt get enough of this book I fell in love with the people and the romance. I enjoyed reading it. I felt like I was in the book my self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Loved It

    I've been looking for a new author to read for a long time and I finally found one, this book was great, very passionate and kept me reading. I've read all three 'The Love of...' books and they all have a great plot and excellent characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Characters to love, and a story to read again and again.

    This book stirs every emotion. I read this book in two days and I have two small children! A treasure to be read again and again. The characters were rich and full of life and the setting discriptions were beautiful. It drew you in and kept you all the way. This book was amazing I expect to see more great things from this author, now on to ' The love of a stranger'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    Good reading here

    Dahlia Montgomery has had a lot of heart ache in her short life. When her adulterous husband is killed in a car wreck, with another woman, her world is shattered. Rebuilding, she takes work for the summer in Idaho. There she learns that cowboys don't only live in Texas. Luke McRae is as handsome and as macho as any cowboy back home. First connecting with Luke's handicapped son, it is not long before Dahlia finds her way into his heart and life. .............. Neither wants to fall in love, but somehow, they do. Then, it all falls apart. Luke could lose custody of his girls if he continues to see Dahlia, and her father is desperately ill. The affair ends, but not without consequences, the kind that show up nine months later. When Luke learns he has another child, one he never planned on or wanted, will that be enough to bring these two together, or will pride keep them worlds apart? ................ **** Fast paced, heated, and touching, this is a novel that plays across a wide panorama. It is a story that could easily play on one of the classic channels as a movie. Love has a high price but great rewards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    great summer reading

    I fell in love with Luke McRae!!! This beautifully written story held my attention and my heart. Piggy had me laughing and Dahlia and Luke had me crying. And the ending was more satisfying than any book I've read in years. This is a perfect book for summer reading, rainy day reading, vacation reading--well, it's just great reading. Hope everyone enjoys this story as much as I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Great story!

    I couldn¿t put this book down. Luke and Dahlia¿s passionate love story swept me into their world and kept me there, start to finish. Don¿t miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Great Book!!!

    This is a GREAT book! Once I started reading I could hardly set it down. I would highly recommend reading this one. Outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    Loved IT!!!!

    I can't tell you how much I loved this book. This is not your sterotypical romance novel. The author addresses real life issues with realistic responses from the lead characters. These characters are not perfect and frankly I'm tired of reading about the perfect couple. Kudos to the author for not coloring within the lines!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A winner

    In 1997 Texas, Dahlia Montgomery buries her husband who died in a violent car accident. To her embarrassment she learns that a family friend Bonnie Gibson also died in the crash. Both were under the influence and circumstantial evidence including Kenneth¿s history leads Dahlia to believe he cheated on her one last time.<P> Twenty eight months later, Dahlia rues the day she agreed to accompany her best friend Piggy Murphy and accept employment as interns in Callister, Idaho. Not only is the place they are staying in freezing, but Piggy¿s cousin fails to meet them. Worse, angry rancher Luke McRae accidentally knocks her over like a stampeding bull. As Luke and Dahlia become acquainted they begin to fall in love though they stereotype the other. She does not trust men especially cowboys; and he believes outsiders like this Texan belong in the Lone Star State. Then there are his needs to be there for his disabled son and two daughters as well as an unstable ex-wife.<P> THE LOVE OF A COWBOY is an engaging contemporary romance that displays rural Idaho in a strong light. The story line is loaded with action and the cast is a strong ensemble. Though the lead characters lug too much baggage, readers will like both of them and especially her best friend. The audience will want to travel just outside Boise for a warm (except in the temporary lodging of the Texans) romantic tale.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1