BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Lover

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    not a light read. it is very dark and complex in both the charac

    not a light read. it is very dark and complex in both the characters and storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Very enjoyable read

    This was the first Robin Schone book I read - and it lead me to her others. This was a well written, erotic, romance. I enjoyed the suspense and found the characters to be likable and well suited to each other. Worth Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    Vividly Intriguing

    The Lover was an amazing and well written book. I enjoyed every word of it. I was sucked into the plot and the lives of the characters. This was the first book I have read from Robin Schone and I hope to read many more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    The Lover Sizzles

    This book features a well-written, very exciting tale, a strong heroine, and a hero that personifies the term, 'hubba, hubba. hubba!' Grab it now, Ladies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2000

    Thanks for pushing the boundries, Robin!

    I just finished The Lover. I loved it. It's a story about characters who are not 'perfect'. Sometimes even escaping into a novel to become the hero/heroine is impossible, because you cannot see yourself as the 'perfect' person inside the story. And I read to escape. I really enjoyed the dialogue. Throughout the whole story I was titillated at the questions they asked each other. And the timing of the questions was shocking AND perfect. They always carried the story into a deeper relationship between Michael and Anne. Their openness with each other was astounding, beautiful and an honor to behold. It was the hottest read of my life. I won't read erotica. I can't stand the coldness of sex when there is such beauty in making love. I guess my only complaint about the story is the history. Did their pasts need to be so dark? And then I answer my own question with a resounding - YES! Their finding each other wouldn't have been so beautiful without the past that brought them together and will help them better understand each other. I'm glad Robin was brave enough to see that and not compromise the story for the readers who will not recognize it. Thank you (eagerly awaiting the next one)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2000

    Beyond the Erotic Aspect--

    Once in a blue moon, there will come a book whose tormented, tortured hero reaches out and wrings my heart. Until The Lover, there had been 4: Harmon's Sam Bellemy (Pirate in My Arms), Gabaldon's Jamie (Outlander,etc.), Sutcliffe's Morgan Kane (Shadow Play) and Chance's Jonas Whitaker (The Portrait). I loved these books, and their heroes, for their ability to haunt me long after the covers had been shut and the books on my keeper shelf and Michael des Anges (The Lover) is no exception. He pretty much hung my heart out to dry and haunted my thoughts. By the time I'd gotten half-way through the book, I was ready to go out and slay dragons for Michael, *that* was how angry I was over what had happened in his past to bring him to this point in his life. <P>Yes, The Lover is erotic, very much so. But it also has a soul, because underneath the eroticism is the story of a man whose struggle to regain some semblance of normalcy in the face of all the inhuman crimes that have been perpetrated against him was enough to rip the emotion from me. At times, I physically hurt for him. <P>So, thank you Ms. Schone, for doing the erotic and the angst so well, and I hope that in the future we can look forward to Gabriel's story, also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    Dark and hot

    I don't think that 'erotic romance' is the correct description of this title. I would call it 'erotic horror', but obviosly I am not the publisher. The essential story is this: An old maid (36 years old to be precise) who lives in the 19th century England inherits a large amount of money after the death of her parents and decides to hire a gigolo called Michel des Angles to relieve her of her virginity. Unfortunately Michel has a few dark secrets of his own and a mere involvement with him puts our heroine in danger. If any of your read the first Schone's book 'The Lady's Tutor' you will find that 'The Lover' is much darker. The language is still lyrical and the sex scenes are still implicit. Still, I was mostly involved with one of the secondary characters. To tell you more would certainly spoil the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1