Customer Reviews for

The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan: Meal Plans and Low-Fat Recipes to Improve Heart Health

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    My kids are going to be hungry. They will not eat the Creamy Cau

    My kids are going to be hungry. They will not eat the Creamy Cauliflower and Red Pepper Soup or Roasted Eggplant Caponata. However, this cookbook is perfect for more mature palettes. And don’t skip the first four chapters. There is a wealth of easily digestible (no pun intended) material I found highly interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    Having read many well-conceived books treating health issues and

    Having read many well-conceived books treating health issues and treatment with diet, I give high marks here. The diet plan is based on the principle of “1 + 1 – 1.” Add more low cholesterol foods, eat more foods that increase good HDL cholesterol and reduce arterial inflammation, and subtract foods high in cholesterol and that add LDL. Revamping your diet may increase benefit from, or even better, eliminate need for cholesterol medications. Clarity and simplicity in page design and typography make the excellent recipes easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    The book¿s really well-thought-out. It starts with some key tips

    The book’s really well-thought-out. It starts with some key tips – namely, what you can eat! I was afraid to see what in my kitchen I’d have to throw away. This makes use of most of it. To find recipes that use goat cheese? Didn’t see that coming. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    A healthy heart is essential to a healthy life.  Our heart is t

    A healthy heart is essential to a healthy life.  Our heart is the machine that operates our arteries and veins, wires that stretch into every single part of our being.  Unfortunately for our hearts, cholesterol lurks in many foods, posing a dangerous health risk.  The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan is here to save the day though, providing tons of delicious recipes to keep your heart is tip-top shape.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    Reading this book made me want to know more, and how can I be su

    Reading this book made me want to know more, and how can I be sure I as well as my family live a long time. I am a health nut,
    but this book pointed out things that I had no clue were high in cholesterol like shrimp, crab, and lobster all my favorites.
    Choosing portions wisely is as important as food choices. The examples that were given had me on the internet looking for the
     supplements that will support lowering cholesterol. I never heard of free range chicken, but I’m going to find one if it will help my
    cholesterol levels. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    This is an excellent book for those who want to gain control of

    This is an excellent book for those who want to gain control of their cholestrol problems and maintain a healthier lifestyle. It explains the causes, problems and steps to resolve the issue. The book is filled with great information, meal plans and recipes to jumpstart the reader into a much healthier lifestyle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Genetically, I have high cholesterol, but my doctor says it is p

    Genetically, I have high cholesterol, but my doctor says it is possible to lower it regardless with the right diet, so I thought I would try this book. I really liked that it clearly stated what foods have “bad” cholesterol and “good”. It also gave lists of foods to make your good cholesterol higher-the recipes were very easy, but a little on the dull side because the same ingredients were used in a lot of the recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    This is a fabulous resource ¿ with tons of healthy, delicious re

    This is a fabulous resource – with tons of healthy, delicious recipes – whether you require a low cholesterol diet or not!  This cookbook offers a lot of healthy substitution ideas that make customizing the recipes (in the book or from your own repertoire) to suit your taste quick and simple… and heart healthy!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    Low Cholesterol Cookbook : Everything from full course entrees t

    Low Cholesterol Cookbook : Everything from full course entrees to snacks
    Most people love to snack between meals. If you're like me, there is a favorite snack: in my case, potato chips. Taste so good, but will send your cholesterol level off the (doctor's) chart.
    This is where the Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan comes in. Its' recipe for potato chips is a must have! First, you get some fresh sliced potatoes dipped in olive oil, seasoned with black pepper, placing potatoes on a flat cookie sheet to bake for 25 minutes. There is a definite health benefit because anytime you bake foods, as opposed to frying , much of the nutrients are still there which are lost when frying. Also, there is no excess fats or oils involved, thus lowering the cholesterol level in the foods. If you are a potato chip connoisseur you can eat as many of the delicious potato chips as you want without the worry of consuming too much bad cholesterol.
    The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan is an excellent choice for anyone who has high cholesterol, but still shows you how to prepare and enjoy many of your favorite dishes with more heart healthy ingredients (IE;
    whole wheat flour for white flour; maple syrup for white sugar; chicken or turkey in place of beef, etc.):

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    This cookbook was very informative.  I like the way it establish

    This cookbook was very informative.  I like the way it established a 1+1-1 plan for transitioning your diet to remove the “bad” cholesterol.  It includes important information about cholesterol and health. The conclusion contains thorough citations to back it up the information.  I am looking forward to making the Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes, Meatloaf with Ground Chicken, and Homemade Fudge Pops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    There¿s good cholesterol and bad cholesterol. There¿s trans-fat

    There’s good cholesterol and bad cholesterol. There’s trans-fat and saturated fat. The more we learn, the more confused we become. Wait. Thoroughly-researched and prestigious endorsements of low cholesterol diets and recipes’ to the rescue! The Low Cholesterol Cookbook is an excellent and timely path to healthy hearts and unclogged arteries. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    This low-cholesterol cookbook is exactly what it says in the tit

    This low-cholesterol cookbook is exactly what it says in the title, a "Health Plan." I really think anyone who is thoughtful about their health, especially heart health, could not only benefit, but would enjoy this book and it's recipes. It explains the differences between good and bad cholesterol and what you can do and eat to take advantage of the good, and get rid of the bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    What really impressed me about this book was how following the d

    What really impressed me about this book was how following the diet plan can actually rival the results you would get by just taking medications. The reason behind this is that certain food nutrients when combined produce phenomenal results. In effect you end up being able to protect against and lower the risk of heart disease and stroke without the side effects that many medications contain. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    High cholesterol people should definitely consider this book. It

    High cholesterol people should definitely consider this book. It has detailed explanation of cholesterol problems and how to fix them. It offers easy 1+1-1 approach to choosing your menu. I like that the book offers switching from taking cholesterol pills to eating certain healthy foods to lower cholesterol levels.
    Recipes are fairly easy though require some pricy ingredients. I pursue healthy diet and will cook from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook and Health Plan is simple to read a

    The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook and Health Plan is simple to read and understand. The health plan and recipes can be used by anyone, but is not for every budget. Some of the ingredients outlined are costly. The fourteen day meal plan is filled with dishes that can boost energy and lower cholesterol without leaving an individual feeling dissatisfied or hungry. I would recommend that the sodium levels in some of the recipes be lowered. Readers can use the resource list to further their knowledge on maintaining a heart healthy life style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    The Low Cholesterol Cookbook and Health Plan:Meal Plans and Low-

    The Low Cholesterol Cookbook and Health Plan:Meal Plans and Low-Fat Recipes to Improve Heart Health by Shasta Press
     has changed the way I look at my health.  Cholesterol is good and bad for the body and that is new news to me.  
    With the simple eating plan, lifestyle changes, and tons of recipes positive changes to my diet and not only possible but, easy and fun.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    With America being labeled the fattest nation in the world, The

    With America being labeled the fattest nation in the world, The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan will help put you on track to a healthier diet. With over 100 recipes and a 14-day meal plan, you will learn which foods have low to no cholesterol, which foods lower cholesterol and which foods to avoid all together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    This book is a great resource for low cholesterol cooking! It ad

    This book is a great resource for low cholesterol cooking! It adds lots of seasonings other than salt to add flavor to the recipes.....lots of food choices also, not just plain and boring recipes. This is a must have book for newly diagnosed low cholesterol patients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    "Served" as a nutritionist, iron chef, and party plann

    "Served" as a nutritionist, iron chef, and party planner all rolled into one. Easy to read, and more importantly, the recipes are simple and incredibly delightful to the pallet. Heathy food, especially low in cholesterol, should be fun and enjoyable, and ultimately a lifestyle.  This book allows anyone to accomplish that. So, whether your making food for yourself, your family, or entertaining around the holidays... There is a delightful dish for every occasion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    "The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan" is a

    "The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan" is a dieter's dream come true. This cookbook explains exactly what it takes to start and maintain a low-cholesterol diet. For those who are looking to lose weight or simply find healthy, low-cholesterol recipes they can make in minutes, check out "The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan" for a great read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2