Customer Reviews for

The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan: Meal Plans and Low-Fat Recipes to Improve Heart Health

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My sister swears by this book, so I am going to give it a try fo

My sister swears by this book, so I am going to give it a try for recipes, particularly the Salmon Burgers and the Flourless Chocolate Cake. She made both last night for dinner and I loved both of them. I'd also recommend that you buy a copy of Simple, Healthy and Delic...
My sister swears by this book, so I am going to give it a try for recipes, particularly the Salmon Burgers and the Flourless Chocolate Cake. She made both last night for dinner and I loved both of them. I'd also recommend that you buy a copy of Simple, Healthy and Delicious from Chef Jai Scovers. Chef Jai wrote the weight loss book called The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution. That book helped me lose 12 pounds in the last couple of months and I couldn’t be happier. But, a girl has got to eat. I just want to do it healthier every chance that I get.

With, Simple, Healthy & Delicious, after a few days of using this cookbook, I have to admit that this is by far the best cookbook that I have ever used! It is just so well put together. The recipes are easy to follow with readily available ingredients often with a healthier twist, like Cauliflower Mac N’ Cheese. I am already getting rave reviews wherever I serve something from it. My favorites so far are the Lemon Shallot Scallops, the Ham & Herb Cheese and the Pound Cake French Toast. Talk about having your cake and eating it too! Well done! I look forward to more cookbooks from Chef Jai Scovers!

posted by BornToRead75 on April 18, 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Genetically, I have high cholesterol, but my doctor says it is p

Genetically, I have high cholesterol, but my doctor says it is possible to lower it regardless with the right diet, so I thought I would try this book. I really liked that it clearly stated what foods have “bad” cholesterol and “good”. It also gave lists of foods to mak...
Genetically, I have high cholesterol, but my doctor says it is possible to lower it regardless with the right diet, so I thought I would try this book. I really liked that it clearly stated what foods have “bad” cholesterol and “good”. It also gave lists of foods to make your good cholesterol higher-the recipes were very easy, but a little on the dull side because the same ingredients were used in a lot of the recipes.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    My sister swears by this book, so I am going to give it a try fo

    My sister swears by this book, so I am going to give it a try for recipes, particularly the Salmon Burgers and the Flourless Chocolate Cake. She made both last night for dinner and I loved both of them. I'd also recommend that you buy a copy of Simple, Healthy and Delicious from Chef Jai Scovers. Chef Jai wrote the weight loss book called The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution. That book helped me lose 12 pounds in the last couple of months and I couldn’t be happier. But, a girl has got to eat. I just want to do it healthier every chance that I get.

    With, Simple, Healthy & Delicious, after a few days of using this cookbook, I have to admit that this is by far the best cookbook that I have ever used! It is just so well put together. The recipes are easy to follow with readily available ingredients often with a healthier twist, like Cauliflower Mac N’ Cheese. I am already getting rave reviews wherever I serve something from it. My favorites so far are the Lemon Shallot Scallops, the Ham & Herb Cheese and the Pound Cake French Toast. Talk about having your cake and eating it too! Well done! I look forward to more cookbooks from Chef Jai Scovers!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    Having read many well-conceived books treating health issues and

    Having read many well-conceived books treating health issues and treatment with diet, I give high marks here. The diet plan is based on the principle of “1 + 1 – 1.” Add more low cholesterol foods, eat more foods that increase good HDL cholesterol and reduce arterial inflammation, and subtract foods high in cholesterol and that add LDL. Revamping your diet may increase benefit from, or even better, eliminate need for cholesterol medications. Clarity and simplicity in page design and typography make the excellent recipes easy to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    A healthy heart is essential to a healthy life.  Our heart is t

    A healthy heart is essential to a healthy life.  Our heart is the machine that operates our arteries and veins, wires that stretch into every single part of our being.  Unfortunately for our hearts, cholesterol lurks in many foods, posing a dangerous health risk.  The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan is here to save the day though, providing tons of delicious recipes to keep your heart is tip-top shape.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    This is an excellent book for those who want to gain control of

    This is an excellent book for those who want to gain control of their cholestrol problems and maintain a healthier lifestyle. It explains the causes, problems and steps to resolve the issue. The book is filled with great information, meal plans and recipes to jumpstart the reader into a much healthier lifestyle

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    What an easy and fun approach in one¿s march towards healthful l

    What an easy and fun approach in one’s march towards healthful living!  There isn’t time to be bored with the many eating choices detailed
    throughout “The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan: Meal Plans and Low-Fat Recipes to Improve Heart Health.”  What I appreciate
    above anything is the easy inclusion of food families such as herbs and spices typically bypassed in most government guidelines, given the
    slight inconvenience these often pose to an active, modern lifestyle.     


    Trish Wootten, CHHC, AADP
    DC Nutrition Examiner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    The book¿s really well-thought-out. It starts with some key tips

    The book’s really well-thought-out. It starts with some key tips – namely, what you can eat! I was afraid to see what in my kitchen I’d have to throw away. This makes use of most of it. To find recipes that use goat cheese? Didn’t see that coming. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    This cookbook was very informative.  I like the way it establish

    This cookbook was very informative.  I like the way it established a 1+1-1 plan for transitioning your diet to remove the “bad” cholesterol.  It includes important information about cholesterol and health. The conclusion contains thorough citations to back it up the information.  I am looking forward to making the Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes, Meatloaf with Ground Chicken, and Homemade Fudge Pops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    This book will help you better understand cholesterol, the diffe

    This book will help you better understand cholesterol, the difference between good and bad, and how to alter your diet to avoid food that may contain high levels of bad cholesterol with a long list of tasty recipes.  The Cholesterol Cookbook Heath Plan is a great guide to understanding what cholesterol does to your body and why it is important to be aware of the food can help increase only good cholesterol. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    There¿s good cholesterol and bad cholesterol. There¿s trans-fat

    There’s good cholesterol and bad cholesterol. There’s trans-fat and saturated fat. The more we learn, the more confused we become. Wait. Thoroughly-researched and prestigious endorsements of low cholesterol diets and recipes’ to the rescue! The Low Cholesterol Cookbook is an excellent and timely path to healthy hearts and unclogged arteries. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    I loved this cookbook! It has tons of information about good and

    I loved this cookbook! It has tons of information about good and bad cholesterol, and gives an eating plan called the 1+1-1, where you add foods low in cholesterol, add foods which increase good cholesterol and decrease inflammation, and subtract foods high in cholesterol or that increase bad cholesterol. The book then takes this plan and applies it to cooking, giving many healthy yet delicious recipes! I would definitely recommend the Beef Stir-Fry with mushrooms and Swiss Chard, and the White Beans with Rosemary and Garlic! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    I had no idea a low cholesterol diet could taste so good!   I no

    I had no idea a low cholesterol diet could taste so good!  
    I now feel like I know how to read food labels and make better choices for
    my health!  If I can do this, anyone can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    We all hear what the media tells us about cholesterol¿it¿s bad!

    We all hear what the media tells us about cholesterol…it’s bad! The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan is much more specific, differentiating between types of cholesterol and explaining which are actually essential to our health and which we can do without. It offers cooking tips, a meal plan, and pages upon pages of tantalizing recipes. The breakfasts, appetizers, entrées, side dishes, and desserts could keep you going for weeks without ever having to repeat, but you may find a favorite long before that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    I highly recommend The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Pla

    I highly recommend The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan for anyone who wants to eliminate cholesterol from his or her diet and live a healthier lifestyle. This book is split up in two parts. The first half gives the reader some information on cholesterol and some tips when shopping for foods. The second half of the book has a ton of recipes so you can stick to your low cholesterol diet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    The Low Cholesterol Cookbook is one of the best I have seen to d

    The Low Cholesterol Cookbook is one of the best I have seen to date. It not only gives you the recipes you need for your daily intake (in the form of a 14 day planner) but it also tells you how to incorporate it into your daily lifestyle from now on. Super simple and the recipes are delicious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    My cholesterol has been rising for years. I've been growing incr

    My cholesterol has been rising for years. I've been growing increasingly concerned but am resistant to suggestions on taking Lipitor. The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan showed me that I can get my cholesterol under control through proper diet. The eating plan the book describes helps me know exactly what foods to eat, and the two-week meal plan equips me with the knowledge I need to create daily menus that reduce my cholesterol and yet let me continue eating great-tasting food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    This low-cholesterol cookbook is exactly what it says in the tit

    This low-cholesterol cookbook is exactly what it says in the title, a "Health Plan." I really think anyone who is thoughtful about their health, especially heart health, could not only benefit, but would enjoy this book and it's recipes. It explains the differences between good and bad cholesterol and what you can do and eat to take advantage of the good, and get rid of the bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan is the perfect gu

    The Low-Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan is the perfect guide to lowering cholesterol through diet. The benefits of eating a low cholesterol diet as well as the differences between good and bad cholesterol are explained in detail. This book will have you understanding the importance of eating correctly in no time. It also provides a long list of wonderful heart-healthy recipes to help you on your way to lowering your cholesterol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    If you're like me, you have a lot of cookbooks around for differ

    If you're like me, you have a lot of cookbooks around for different types of entertaining, baking, or specialty meals.  As my friends get older, more of them are concerned about maintaining a healthy diet while not becoming obsessive about the foods we can't eat anymore.  This cookbook begins with lots of great, factual information about diet and cholesterol, then goes on to offer hints to stay our healthiest without feeling deprived.  The recipes were varied and outstanding—full of flavorful food choices that don't require a ton of specialty shopping.   I've never seen a healthy recipe book before that offered options for potato chips or tuna noodle casserole.  In here, you'll also find breakfast breads and muffins you won't have to choke down, wonderful party dips you can serve without apology, and even glorious meats like beef and bacon!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Great recipes and a two week meal plan to boot! The 1+1-1 appro

    Great recipes and a two week meal plan to boot! The 1+1-1 approach is innovative because it allows you to make easy substitutions that allow you to reduce your cholesterol without sacrificing some of the foods you love. I can't wait to try out the applesauce substitution in my favorite spice cake recipe. It's a great way to kickstart a new health plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan is a great book f

    The Low Cholesterol Cookbook & Health Plan is a great book for anyone who needs to reduce their cholesterol levels. It offers a wide variety of foods and recipes that will help the reader choose a healthier way of eating. It also reminds the reader that healthy food does not have to be bland. With such a wide variety of choices, it is easier to choose to food that are heart healthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3