Customer Reviews for

The Luckiest Girl in the World: A young skater battlres her self-destructive impulses

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Exelllent.

    As a cutter, I found that this book helped me understand myself and find hope. But if you're a cutter like me be forewarned, this book MAY BE TRIGGERING.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent

    I finished this book and I found it to be a moderate read. The same therapist is also in The Best Little Girl in the World, by the same author, and I found it refreshing that Katie did not whine as much as Kessa did. But, for some reason, I didn't find it as interesting as I thought it would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Very good book.

    This book is about a skater named Katie. She is pressured by her mom and also her coach to do really well because there is a scolarship on the line for her. she has a problem with cutting herself to keep herself from going into space. This book teaches people alittle bit about what happens when people cut themselves. I reccomend this book to anybody. It is a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Excellent! If you SI or know someone who does pick up this book!

    As a 'recovering' cutter this book hit home a lot but it also gave me an insight into part of why I cut. Although it might not be accurate for everyone it is still an amassing book. Ps: if you know a cutter doesn¿t force them into getting help. Tell them you think it¿s a good idea but don¿t force it. If they aren¿t ready to get help then it won¿t help. But I do encourage cutters to seek help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    i have read only have the book but its still asome

    well me being a rocovery cutter i know what shes dealing with i recommended this book to all people who si

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    OMG!!!!!

    this is such a awsome book! i loved it. the ending was very good dramatic but awsome! i would recomend this book to anyone on the planet!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    an amazing, relative book..

    this book was amazing. Katie goes through alot of stuff that teenagers go through today. most books are about un-realistic perfect lives and such.. but this book, many many people could relate to. I loved this book, because I could relate to it, as well as many other people my age. I would have to say, this is my all time favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Saw it coming the whole way...

    I'd read his other book 'The Best Little Girl In The World' a few years ago, it's interesting how simaliar the titles are, nearly exactly the same. So I had a feeling this book would be a lot like that one, and it was. It was very predictable. And sadly there was nothing quote worthy that I found from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    Wonderful!

    I loved this book! As a recovering anorexic I completely relate to the causes of Katie's 'disease'. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    AMAZING

    This book was AMAZING!!! it gets inside your head and makes you think twice about how to explain yourself to others. i think that this book was written for self-mutilators, someone with depression or someone wanting to know more about it. factual and straigh to the point about these types of problems. whoever said it was a bad book is wrong, they dont understand the true meaning of why people do these types of things, it isn't a petty subject. contact me if you would like to talk more about it (blondie78324@hotmail.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    listen

    one girl wrote that this was not a good book. well that's just her opinion. my opinion will tell you to read it, it truly is an outstanding book, but you should really try to connect with katie and seriously understand her trauma....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Unsucessful..?

    I did not think the issue was truthful portrayed what so ever. I think that the author tryed his best to bring such a drastic issue into play, but ended up disposing it. Yes, Katies mother was pushing her extremely hard, and she had this scholar ship that was slowly hanging her. But not all self mutilators have that. You read this book and you think theres no real reason for one to cut themselves. When a self mutiliator is diagnosed you usually find backround information about abuse or some sort ove childhood tramatic situations. Not because you are a teenager who is in this great school and has enormous talent. Needless to say, with out rambling, I did not like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    pretty good

    i think that this book would go a long way in helping people understand that self-mutilators are not crazy or sick that they just have emotional pain that needs dealing with. It was a very specific story that didn't include what the majority of the statistics say so sue him not every self-mutilators was abused in childhood but that does not mean it is not a good portrayal of the disease.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Amazing Book!

    I think this was a great book! I am an ice skater, so I know what she is going through. I highly recomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    ~*Great Book*~

    It's about a girl named Katie who cuts herself to make herself feel good. She's an ice skater and is really good and gets an enormous amount of pressure from her coach and her mom. I recomend this book because I really liked the book, i think the author did a good job on writing about Katie as a self-abuser and how much pressure she got from her coach and her mother. And it helps you understand more about the disease of cutting yourself and you know the struggles she went through and her emotions and how she coped with it. Overall its a great book and i hope everyone will have a chance and read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    Cutting away at the truth

    She's not so crazy once you know why she does the things she does. This book would probably help anyone understand the world of self-mutilation. Given Katie's situation, everything makes sense. Once you read this book, you will start to look at things with more of an open opinion on people, even those you think are perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    GREAT BOOK!!!!1

    This is an amazing book. Its not just about the writing...you can really feel it and picture it and this is so realistic and well written. Its th best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    AWSOME BOOK!

    this coming from a 15 yr old cutter, i thought this book was great, it explain many resons of why i cut, its helping me everyday to want to get better...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    One of the best books i have ever read

    I think that this book was extremely good. My friend had trouble with cutting in the past and this helped me to realize what happened. I like this book because it makes you feel the pain in Katie's life. This is one of the best books I have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Dark

    I really enjoyed this book because I felt part of her was me. Although I am not a skater, I am pressured by many other things such as weight and composure. This book is a muct read not only for the troubled, but for someone who is interested in helping someone with this disease.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2