Customer Reviews for

The Luckiest Lady in London

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sexy, provocative and simply delicious! If you¿re looking for a

Sexy, provocative and simply delicious! If you’re looking for a guilty pleasure read, look no further! Set in London 1888, Felix Ravendale, Marqess of Wenworth has perfected the persona of “The Ideal Gentleman”. To everyone in the Ton, he appears simply perfect, abov...
Sexy, provocative and simply delicious! If you’re looking for a guilty pleasure read, look no further! Set in London 1888, Felix Ravendale, Marqess of Wenworth has perfected the persona of “The Ideal Gentleman”. To everyone in the Ton, he appears simply perfect, above reproach and the standard to which all other bachelors are held. But Felix is far from the gentleman he appears to be. He shuts himself off from true relationships due to the horrible childhood he suffered at the hands of his own parents. After witnessing such spite and manipulation by his parents, he is certain he will never allow himself to fall victim to the clutches of love. Louisa Cantwell comes from questionable background and can barely claim that she is a true lady, and does so only due to her mother. She comes from a home that desperately needs a daughter who can marry well and support all of the other siblings, and she’s the one to do it. She’s practiced the art of being a lady and knows exactly which bachelors are within her reach. When she sets off to London to have her season, she knows she must marry and marry well. But little did she know she’d run into the “Ideal Gentleman”. Both Felix and Louisa are not the people they appear to be in public and even upon their first encounter, both seem to see through the public persona of the other. Drawn to each other by an extreme sexual desire, Felix and Louisa embark upon a wild, sexy, steamy, and scandalous love story that leaves both Felix and Louisa both madly in love and extremely vulnerable. Can these two lovers overcome all the obstacles thrown at them or are they willing to let fear and memories come between them? Can Louisa break through the wall that Felix is determined to keep erected around his heart?

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this book and I cannot wait to read more by Sherry Thomas! The hero and heroine in this story were funny, witty, passionate and risqué! The dialogue between Felix and Louisa was sexually charged and well written, leaving me dying to keep turning the pages! I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. The book seemed to be broken into two parts which worked well and made the story move along in a great way. The first part is the story about Felix and Louisa while Felix is trying to win Louisa over. You get to see Felix as a charming and persuasive yet manipulative man while Louisa struggles to resist the outcome of marriage to him. Once married, Felix seems to shut himself off from Louisa because he is afraid of repeating the mistakes of his parents. Louisa is left trying to figure out how to re-establish the passion and connection they shared before marriage. Unraveling the mysteries and secrets that seem to drive Felix’s actions becomes key to solving the marital problems between Felix and Louisa. Absolutely one of the best and sexiest Historical Romances I have read in quite some time. A Must Read!

Rating: 4.5

Heat Rating: Hot

Reviewed by AprilP

Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on November 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A long time to say nothing

I found this book to be very wordy. The author took forever to tell her story. For me, it was much ado about nothing. I would not recommend it.

posted by 7720452 on November 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy, provocative and simply delicious! If you¿re looking for a

    Sexy, provocative and simply delicious! If you’re looking for a guilty pleasure read, look no further! Set in London 1888, Felix Ravendale, Marqess of Wenworth has perfected the persona of “The Ideal Gentleman”. To everyone in the Ton, he appears simply perfect, above reproach and the standard to which all other bachelors are held. But Felix is far from the gentleman he appears to be. He shuts himself off from true relationships due to the horrible childhood he suffered at the hands of his own parents. After witnessing such spite and manipulation by his parents, he is certain he will never allow himself to fall victim to the clutches of love. Louisa Cantwell comes from questionable background and can barely claim that she is a true lady, and does so only due to her mother. She comes from a home that desperately needs a daughter who can marry well and support all of the other siblings, and she’s the one to do it. She’s practiced the art of being a lady and knows exactly which bachelors are within her reach. When she sets off to London to have her season, she knows she must marry and marry well. But little did she know she’d run into the “Ideal Gentleman”. Both Felix and Louisa are not the people they appear to be in public and even upon their first encounter, both seem to see through the public persona of the other. Drawn to each other by an extreme sexual desire, Felix and Louisa embark upon a wild, sexy, steamy, and scandalous love story that leaves both Felix and Louisa both madly in love and extremely vulnerable. Can these two lovers overcome all the obstacles thrown at them or are they willing to let fear and memories come between them? Can Louisa break through the wall that Felix is determined to keep erected around his heart?

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about this book and I cannot wait to read more by Sherry Thomas! The hero and heroine in this story were funny, witty, passionate and risqué! The dialogue between Felix and Louisa was sexually charged and well written, leaving me dying to keep turning the pages! I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. The book seemed to be broken into two parts which worked well and made the story move along in a great way. The first part is the story about Felix and Louisa while Felix is trying to win Louisa over. You get to see Felix as a charming and persuasive yet manipulative man while Louisa struggles to resist the outcome of marriage to him. Once married, Felix seems to shut himself off from Louisa because he is afraid of repeating the mistakes of his parents. Louisa is left trying to figure out how to re-establish the passion and connection they shared before marriage. Unraveling the mysteries and secrets that seem to drive Felix’s actions becomes key to solving the marital problems between Felix and Louisa. Absolutely one of the best and sexiest Historical Romances I have read in quite some time. A Must Read!

    Rating: 4.5

    Heat Rating: Hot

    Reviewed by AprilP

    Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    I am so tired of the same old romance. This was intelligent, wit

    I am so tired of the same old romance. This was intelligent, witty and human. Very, very glad I gave it a shot. FYI - if you like a romance that is about the depth of a relationship, this is a great pick. If you just want steamy sex, and brainless virginal heroines, this is not the book for you. For me, Louisa was a bit like Mary from Downton Abbey. Sharp, smart, proud - but this heroine loves her sisters!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Great

    A great read with indepth characters that I wasn't always happy with, but that is what makes them feel so real! Good love scenes, not skimmed over but not too graphic. Just over 200 pgs on my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Very interesting read

    Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    lucky

    This was an entertaining book, that kept me interested from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Good Read

    This was a good read. It starts of slow, so keep going. It takes a few chapters to get to know and like both main characters. Once you do, the book picks up and you like them enough that you want them to have their HEA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    This book was a bit wordy but I loved it.  I could not stop read

    This book was a bit wordy but I loved it.  I could not stop reading and
    finished the book in two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    This was so much fun! I wish all HR characters were written lik

    This was so much fun!
    I wish all HR characters were written like this: as rational, pragmatic people.

    Louisa has several unmarried sisters, and a widowed mother, therefore she must marry, and marry well if she wants to be able to assure they'll be cared for - especially her youngest sister, who suffers from epilepsy.
    She doesn't set her sights high, she merely needs a husband who can support them to live in comfort.

    So she makes a list of potential candidates and prepares herself by padding her breasts and pretending to be interested in everything gentlemen have to say.

    Enter Felix - The Ideal Gentleman. Everyone in society thinks him to be perfect and it's an image he works hard to maintain. Felix's parents hated each other and used him as a weapon in their marriage, so Felix is determined to choose some empty-headed young lady for a wife - but only when he's in his 40's (which are still some years away), so he won't be encumbered by that hassle that is being in love .

    But then he meets Louisa, who sees through the Ideal Gentleman façade and who doesn't bother to hide her distrust and her lust for him. No point to it, really, since he's not part of her plans.

    It's so refreshing to see a heroine in charge of her sexuality, with no hangups and shames - I'd say in HR, but at this point the baffling focus on naïve young virgin heroines with no say on the sexual facet of their relationships crosses all genres... and it's getting tiresome.

    Not here! Louisa knows what she wants, and has no problem wanting and getting it, and Felix finds this as refreshing as us readers.

    The drama may have dragged for a bit too long, but it was never annoying or forced. Their relationship and the way they grew as a couple and characters more than makes up for it. It was also charming the way they both shared an interest in astronomy and mathematics!

    If you're looking for a comfy HR to go with a warm cup of tea to pass these cold Autumn days, this should definitely be at the top of your list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1