Customer Reviews for

The Luckiest Lady in London

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sexy, provocative and simply delicious! If you¿re looking for a

Sexy, provocative and simply delicious! If you’re looking for a guilty pleasure read, look no further! Set in London 1888, Felix Ravendale, Marqess of Wenworth has perfected the persona of “The Ideal Gentleman”. To everyone in the Ton, he appears simply perfect, abov...
Sexy, provocative and simply delicious! If you’re looking for a guilty pleasure read, look no further! Set in London 1888, Felix Ravendale, Marqess of Wenworth has perfected the persona of “The Ideal Gentleman”. To everyone in the Ton, he appears simply perfect, above reproach and the standard to which all other bachelors are held. But Felix is far from the gentleman he appears to be. He shuts himself off from true relationships due to the horrible childhood he suffered at the hands of his own parents. After witnessing such spite and manipulation by his parents, he is certain he will never allow himself to fall victim to the clutches of love. Louisa Cantwell comes from questionable background and can barely claim that she is a true lady, and does so only due to her mother. She comes from a home that desperately needs a daughter who can marry well and support all of the other siblings, and she’s the one to do it. She’s practiced the art of being a lady and knows exactly which bachelors are within her reach. When she sets off to London to have her season, she knows she must marry and marry well. But little did she know she’d run into the “Ideal Gentleman”. Both Felix and Louisa are not the people they appear to be in public and even upon their first encounter, both seem to see through the public persona of the other. Drawn to each other by an extreme sexual desire, Felix and Louisa embark upon a wild, sexy, steamy, and scandalous love story that leaves both Felix and Louisa both madly in love and extremely vulnerable. Can these two lovers overcome all the obstacles thrown at them or are they willing to let fear and memories come between them? Can Louisa break through the wall that Felix is determined to keep erected around his heart?

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this book and I cannot wait to read more by Sherry Thomas! The hero and heroine in this story were funny, witty, passionate and risqué! The dialogue between Felix and Louisa was sexually charged and well written, leaving me dying to keep turning the pages! I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next. The book seemed to be broken into two parts which worked well and made the story move along in a great way. The first part is the story about Felix and Louisa while Felix is trying to win Louisa over. You get to see Felix as a charming and persuasive yet manipulative man while Louisa struggles to resist the outcome of marriage to him. Once married, Felix seems to shut himself off from Louisa because he is afraid of repeating the mistakes of his parents. Louisa is left trying to figure out how to re-establish the passion and connection they shared before marriage. Unraveling the mysteries and secrets that seem to drive Felix’s actions becomes key to solving the marital problems between Felix and Louisa. Absolutely one of the best and sexiest Historical Romances I have read in quite some time. A Must Read!

Rating: 4.5

Heat Rating: Hot

Reviewed by AprilP

Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on November 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A long time to say nothing

I found this book to be very wordy. The author took forever to tell her story. For me, it was much ado about nothing. I would not recommend it.

posted by 7720452 on November 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Felix Rivendale, the Marquess of Wrenworth, is the ideal gentlem

    Felix Rivendale, the Marquess of Wrenworth, is the ideal gentleman, a man all men want to be and all women want to possess. Even Felix himself almost believes this golden image. But underneath is a damaged soul soothed only by public adulation.

    Louisa Cantwell needs to marry well to support her sisters. She does not, however, want Lord Wrenworth—though he seems inexplicably interested in her. She mistrusts his outward perfection, and the praise he garners everywhere he goes. Still, when he is the only man to propose at the end of the London season, she reluctantly accepts.

    Louisa does not understand her husband’s mysterious purposes, but she cannot deny the pleasure her body takes in his touch. Nor can she deny the pull this magnetic man exerts upon her. But does she dare to fall in love with a man so full of dark secrets, any one of which could devastate her, if she were to get any closer?



    I really enjoyed this book. There were lots of twists and turns and it kept me on my feet and wanting more. This book was very well written and the story was told very well. I loved every page of it.



    I really liked the fact that Lord Wrenworth was looking out for his sister in marrying Louisa Cantwell, but shortly after fell madly in love with her. However Louisa took a little bit longer to admit that she was in love with him. I love the fact that after Louisa was mad at Lord Wrenworth that he tried everything to still make her happy. I will read this book again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Great writing!

    The author pulls you in from the very beginning and develops areal plot, real characters -- flaws and all. For a romance novel, this is ine of the best. It is not your typical romance. Just read it and go back in time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     Sherry Thomas once again pulls a character from the world of c


     Sherry Thomas once again pulls a character from the world of characters she has already presented to us.
    The current protagonist is Felix Rivendale, the Marquess of Wrenworth, styled "The Ideal Gentleman". Felix
    was first referenced in Private Arrangements by Lord Tremaine, as Lady Tremaine's first adulterous affair.
    Now, in this latest story, we learn about Felix, his history and from his own perspective, an explanation of why
     he thinks and acts as he does. Louisa Cantwell is the female protagonist who turns Felix's world chaotic,
    while at the same time turning Chaos upon herself. Sherry Thomas has written another poignant story which
     plays on human frailty, self delusions, and the fundamental hamartia of two flawed people who are their own
    worst enemies, and who cannot see the proverbial forest for the trees!

    Part of Sherry Thomas' brilliance as an author is her ability to bring characters to life, who are people the
    reader can understand and relate to in very human ways. She makes it easy, if not almost mandatory, that we
     form attachments to her characters in fundamental ways. Sometimes you want to slap them and ask
    "WHAT were you thinking [Felix or Louisa]?". Sometimes you find yourself with tears flowing because your
    heart has been touched with sorrow or joy.

    Felix and Louisa are the only two who see themselves and each other for exactly who they are. This is to their
     detriment and their great joy. These are serious characters though they have great humor and the story often
     breaks up deeply serious and emotional scenes with wonderful barbed and intelligent humor. This is a
    wonderful, love . . . hate . . . love story! It punches you in the gut, then pulls you up by your hair to
    metaphorically see and experience an incredible story of love and passion. There is an HEA basically in spite
     of the characters.
    This is another Sherry Thomas classic! Impeccably well written, words as art. I adore this author both as a
     person and as one of the best historical romantic fiction writers ever!

    Thank you for the tears and the belly laughs Sherry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Loved it!

    Sherry Thomas is one of my favorite writers. I don't know how she does it but there are so many scenes where my heart is in my throat and I ache for the characters. Also, I love how the character's are flawed in such a way that their humanity shines through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn't expecting this to be such a superb book. I thought it w

    I wasn't expecting this to be such a superb book. I thought it was just going to be another light historical romance. It turned out to be a description of two people who were believable and motivated by something beyond just sex. I plan to become a regular fan of her books. Just bought another. Good plot, believable characters, and beautifully written. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    I absolutely adore this book! It has everything I crave in a 5-

    I absolutely adore this book! It has everything I crave in a 5-star book: snappy dialogue, great characters, a fun plot, and of course a delightful HEA. As soon as I finished reading Luckiest Lady in London, I wanted to start it all over again!

    Louisa Cantwell is as pragmatic and ordinary as they come. Not a great beauty or terribly well-endowed in the bosom department, she is the epitome of average. Except when it comes to her near-ruthless pragmatism. Louisa comes from a mildly poor family. Her father was a failed fortune hunter and although her mother still enjoys a dower income that can support the household for now, once her mother dies, Louisa and her three sisters will be left with nothing. Each of her three sisters have issues that could prevent them from marrying, so it falls to Louisa to marry the richest man she can realistically convince, cajol, or connive into matrimony. Intelligent and determined, Louisa spends years perfecting her social graces so that when a generous Aunt agrees to put Louisa through a Season in London she is as prepared as possible to make a brilliant match.

    Like Louisa, Felix Marquess of Rivendale hides behind the persona he has built for London society - "The Ideal Gentleman." He is shrewd, wickedly intelligent, and is convinced love is a weakness that will destroy any relationship as it did to his parents. Growing up, Felix's mother despised Felix's father and as a result Felix's father grew cold to everyone around him. As a child, Felix was caught in the middle, forced to act as a pawn in his parents' game of mutual manipulation and deceit. As he grew up, Felix began learning how to play his parents' game and became a master manipulator in his own right. He learns to deduce exactly what people are thinking, guessing with startling accuracy what secrets the people of London society hide behind fluttering fans and cups of whiskey.

    One of the things I loved most about this book is that Louisa and Felix are a perfectly imperfect pair. Both hide their true emotions behind a wall - the mask they built for polite society - while underneath they both simmer with barely retrained passion. Louisa wants Felix and isn't afraid to let him know it. But she doesn't trust him and she isn't afraid to tell him that either. Felix is seven kinds of emotionally scarred thanks to his unloving, manipulative parents. Much of this book was about these characters and how they needed to grow together to make their marriage work, despite these issues lying between them. The dialogue is playful and teasing, but can be heart-wrenching and poignant too.

    A beautiful tale of learning to love others when you don't even love yourself. Of learning what it means to let go and trust someone with your heart and soul, knowing they can break you with only a single word.

    Originally posted on Plot Twist Reviews [dot] com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Very good

    I didnt expect it to be this good and I amglad I got the book. It was very emotional and sweet. I liked how a selfish hero is brought down by love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    So good

    The best book I've read in a long time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It is often said that those we love the most are the ones who ca

    It is often said that those we love the most are the ones who can hurt us the most deeply. Sherry Thomas' new book, The Luckiest Lady in London takes that theme and runs with it. Readers will be intrigued by the persona's both hero and heroine take on in order to keep others and love at bay. Felix has never known real love, even from his parents, while Louisa does not begin to feel worthy of love. Thomas does a fantastic job of drawing the reader in with flawed characters, desperate misunderstandings and a perfectly matched pair of lovers. If you are looking for an author who makes her couples work for their happy-ever-after, than Sherry Thomas is just what the doctor ordered.




    Sherry Thomas is one of those romance authors that thinks outside the box. Most historical romance is tied up with a neat bow that can sometimes seem predictable and repetitive. Same story, different characters. With Thomas nothing can be anticipated. She gives readers characters that aren't typical heroes and heroines. They are more human, more real. She doesn't stray away from the fact that men and women hurt each other, they do things to betray trust and even sometimes sabotage the very thing they want the most in life...love. That is very apparent in her latest novel, The Luckiest Lady in London.




    Louisa comes from a humble background and upbringing. She realizes that in order to take care of her family she must marry well. If something happens to her mother how will she support her epileptic sister? She knows she doesn't have a lot to work with but she takes what she has and uses it to the best her ability. She uses old wives tales and even some interesting inventions to make her look more beautiful. She essentially believes no one could love her like she is. She has to be something else to be worthy of love. I think Thomas has touched on an issues a lot of women have. They look at themselves and see the flaws, not the beauty that comes from within. I liked the fact that Felix is able to see through this persona that Louisa has taken on. He shes the real woman and finds her intriguing.




    Felix has secrets of his own. Used as a pawn in a game of chess between his controlling and unfeeling parents, Felix has never known real love. He sets about to make himself into the perfect gentleman. Someone everyone wants a piece of, but no one can have. It allows him the distance he needs. He doesn't want to get close to anyone. He can't take a chance he will be hurt again. I don't usually go for the spoiled rich boy character but Thomas makes him believable and gives him a backstory that would be hard for anyone to ignore. I liked the fact that Louisa can see through him easily. Mostly because she isn't exactly what she seems either. 




    The romance is tender, the heat is searing, but through it all there is a a thread of understanding. Learning to be comfortable in your own skin. To appreciate who you are and what you can offer. I thought Thomas did a fantastic job of allowing readers into a real relationship. Not the perfect on paper romance we sometimes get with historical romance novels. These characters have to work get their happy ending. They misunderstand each other often, they assume things about each other. They deceive themselves and each other, but through it all they find love and contentment. Typical real life scenario wrapped up in a Regency setting. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Another winner. Could not put it down. Well-drawn and interest

    Another winner. Could not put it down. Well-drawn and interesting characters, steamy scenes - all the things we like about Thomas. A worthy " keeper" from a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1