Customer Reviews for

The Lucy Variations

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Katelyn Hensel for Readers' Favorite This is a wond

    Reviewed by Katelyn Hensel for Readers' Favorite

    This is a wonderful story. You can’t really help but be interested when the opening chapter is the death of a piano teacher on Lucy and Gus’s living room floor. What follows is a beautiful story of a girl growing up, and growing into the person that she is meant to be. Sara Zarr truly knows how to dive into the mind of a teenage girl. You may not like what exists in this particular teenager's heart or mind, but it is extremely realistic and shows off just what a wonderful writer Sara truly is. 

    The recording was excellent. I’m a big fan of when authors narrate their own stories. They know exactly how they want things pronounced and exactly what kind of flow or tone that they want to inject into each scene. Another thing that was absolutely wonderful was the use of background music. In a story that dances like fingers on a piano, it was almost necessary to include classical music throughout the book. The music added a greatness to an already wonderful work.

    The main story line revolves around Lucy, a piano prodigy at 15, who leaves the stage forever (?) after the death of her grandmother and the traumatic events surrounding it. Fast forward eight months. Lucy's family, once supporting her in her own musical endeavors, have moved focus to her younger brother Gus. Lucy doesn't care, that means less pressure for her and the freedom to start thinking for herself. But Lucy didn't realize that she was giving it up forever, and now Gus's new piano teacher is encouraging her to follow her heart. She chooses to do so, for better or worse, and that is what makes The Lucy Variations one of the most special and meaningful Young Adult books that I have come across in ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Good book

    Lucy is a character that you can easily relate to. The style of writing pulls you in. This is a really fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

        I liked Lucy Variations, but I will say that it is not quite

        I liked Lucy Variations, but I will say that it is not quite what I expected. I did like that there was depth to the secondary characters and I saw a lot of different ways the story could have went, that ultimately I probably would have liked better. 
        But I did like Lucy, I saw that she grew a lot and figured out how to stand up for herself, that her family couldn't dictate what she loves and what she can do. She went through some hard times to figure that out, but the journey was worth it in the end. Her best friend Reyna wasn't perfect, but I think it gives a good portrayal of what it really means to have a friend in high school, you will not always see eye to eye on every issue, and they might be annoying with their issues sometimes, but news flash, so are you. I also liked Carson. I think that there was a bit of build up there, and I wish that it would have went there romantically instead of going the bad choice route again, but I see the reasons why Ms. Zarr wrote it how she did. 
        Family is a big issue in this one, and it is one of the main focuses besides music of course. They are not ideal in some aspects, but they are together, and they are willing to (eventually) learn from their mistakes, and work things out together. My favorite was the relationship with Lucy and Gus, her little brother. The protectiveness, loyalty, understanding and playfulness all drew me in and I wanted another scene with them. They bicker and ultimately have a big argument, but they still love each other, and at the end of the day are bro and sis. I also liked their dad, he wasn't traditional to speak of, and he is the only non-musical in the family, but he can also see things in a way that the others can't because it wasn't always a way of life for him. 
        It was well paced and kept my attention, and although I did feel the ending was a little rushed, I liked where it ultimately went and the place it left Lucy in. The writing was powerful and it all tied together to make a beautifully crafted story. Even with my wishes for her to fall for a different character, I still can't deny the draw of the story as is, and how a romantic interest within reach could have really set her eyes of what she wants to do now with her life. 




    Bottom Line: Like the concept and most of the execution, do wish it would have taken another path romantically. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    &hearts this book

    Its amazing!!!! Touched my &hearts . I would give &infin &#9733 s if i could!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved it. I can kind of relate to Lucy since i play volleyball but i "quit" this past year and im gunna play next year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After reading How to Save a Life, I became a fan of Sara Zarr's

    After reading How to Save a Life, I became a fan of Sara Zarr's writing. Sara Zarr writes contemporary novels, but they are usually more on the "realistic fiction" side. Lucy is not your typical teenager. She had her future all planned out as a professional pianist. She was home-schooled, a full time pianist, and there was extreme pressure on her. There was a certain incident that made Lucy want to leave it all behind. Now that the pressure isn't on her anymore, it's all on her younger brother, Gus. Sara Zarr portrayed a perfectionist family spot on. This book was more about the family pressure that many teenagers go through, instead of the romance in most contemporary novels.Lucy was a very interesting character to read about. A lot of teenagers who go through that stuff would probably be able to relate to her very well. I liked that she wasn't the type who would just let other be in control of what she wants to do. I liked how she took matters into her own hands, and that she made her own decision despite the consequences. One day, Gus's tutor suffers a heart attack and dies. Lucy's grandfather starts searching for a new one piano teacher, and that's when they decide to hire Will. Lucy then starts developing a relationship with him, and not that type of relationship, but more of that teacher/friend relationship with a cute teacher. There's not much to say about the story without spoiling it, but it just revolves around family problems and the pressure that some parents put on their children.Overall, The Lucy Variations took a different direction into contemporary novels. It was refreshing to read a book that is talking about family, rather that the typical romance. Though I have to admit, maybe adding a little bit romance would have been nice. Anyhow, I really enjoyed reading this, and would recommend it to anyone who would look past the "no romance" aspect of the book. Once again, Sara Zarr did not disappoint me, and I will definitely be looking forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1