Customer Reviews for

The Lutheran Ladies' Circle: Plucking One String

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Perfection!

    Fast paced but not chaotic, both funny and sad at the same time...and oh how all the traditions and rituals and church ladies and roles and pride and much more blended into such a sweet, sweet story.

    I have no experience at all with the Lutheran faith, but this "non-denominational" reader recognized in these women the love for the same God I worship and the danger all Christians face of getting so caught up in CHURCH that we sometimes forget what it's there for. Love this book! Review by CherishD

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I Laughed and Cried

    There were so many moments and so many people I could relate to. I laughed out loud, and even cried once. It should be required reading to all those people who have to fix everything.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Excellent

    As the daughter of a German Lutheran mom (and a Baptist dad) this just made me laugh AND homesick for that family now gone. Bravo!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Vera vs the Lutheran Church

    Anyone who has ever lead or been on a committee will tell you that this book it the honest truth. It doesn’t matter whether it’s a Church committee, PTA, whatever – you will know these ladies well. You probably ARE one of them but may not admit it!
    Vera has been a pastor’s daughter, pastor’s wife and is now a pastor’s widow. She has run the Shaded Valley Lutheran Church in Stillwater, Oklahoma her way for the past 25 years and now doesn’t know what to do with herself. So she continues on…..and on….. The other ladies in the Ladies Circle haven’t been happy with Vera for years but – she was the pastor’s wife and that was that. However, the “times they are a-changin’.”
    This book is hilarious, sad and wonderful. These ladies are their own worst enemies but strive to do Good Work for their church; sometimes in spite of themselves. There are such funny stories to be told! My favorite was the Christmas Pageant which Vera appoints the Church Organist to oversee. The kids are hysterical and I was laughing out loud in many places.
    Vera may be the husband appointed Manager of the Universe but this time the Universe seems to be trying to tell her something: LISTEN!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Excellent, I enjoyed this book!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The charactors were authenic and so true to life that you felt like you knew each one personally. Life in the lutheran Ladies Society and I'm sure in any womens group is humourously depicted. READ THIS FOR FUN!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    Loved it!!!

    Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    What a wonderful story. This was set in a church situation but h

    What a wonderful story. This was set in a church situation but has been played in many organizations. Not maliciously, but with good intent to lead people and be helpful. Funny and heart rending at the same time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    190 pages

    This 190 page book was pretty good. It was humorous and sometimes very sad. The situations wete very realistic. It is Christian fiction and most of the book takes place in the church. I know people just like most of the ones in this book. My favorite was Aunt Ule. There is a lot of preachiness in this novel, yet it is not the holier than thou type, it just the why the women are living their lives. I would have liked to have known if the pregnant character came to terms with her pregnancy and if she had a boy or girl baby, but this was the only unfinished thread. No adult topics.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Good Read

    Enjoyed the characters. I laughed and recognized some of them from people I have met.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Great read, Quirky characters

    We all know someone like these ladies in our church. It was easy to relate or even wonder which one we might be. Along the way of enjoying the story I managed to learn a bit @ the church year and symbols I had never picked up on before. I'm anxious to go on to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Cute but not what I expected

    The story would get going then get bogged down with too many details. The author jumped around with view points making it hard to determine who the story was supposed to be about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    I coulrela I could relate...

    This book had likeable characters and was dead on when it came to the dymanics of meetings, committees and church life. Good people trying to do good things but sometimes personalities and personal vision gets in the way. A fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Not my cup of tea

    ?..

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Great book.

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    Has a little bit of everything!

    Found this to be such an enjoyable read, had a little bit of everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Fantastic

    A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Cute

    Cute n different. Nice easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    VERY EJOYABLE READING

    FUNNY,YET VERY REALISTIC? WE DO ALL HAVE SO MUCH ROOM TO GROW? PRAISE GOD HE SURROUNDS US WITH OTHERS TO STRETCH AND GTOE WITH ! THANK YOU !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Made me laugh!   I know people that are exactly as those written

    Made me laugh!   I know people that are exactly as those written about.  And the love of Lutheran Jello! LOL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Good

    Good read looking forward to read orher boks in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2