BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Madness Underneath (Shades of London Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Sequel

I am a fan of the author's work to begin with and really loved the first book. I think this book is a great sequel in that it takes the story on a turn that I did not see coming. I've read the editorial reviews where they think the beginning is slow because of the detai...
I am a fan of the author's work to begin with and really loved the first book. I think this book is a great sequel in that it takes the story on a turn that I did not see coming. I've read the editorial reviews where they think the beginning is slow because of the detail about Rory's therapy, but I think that, admittedly not having gone through the experience of a ghost nearly killing me, a person would be horribly traumatized and would not emerge from said experience being 'cool' with the world. I will say that the ending first goes in the direction I have been wanting, then turns abruptly into the ending I most feared after finishing Name of the Star. Overall, well worth reading and I can't wait for the next book!

posted by 7018418 on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed!!! Loved the first book but I feel cheated with thi

Disappointed!!! Loved the first book but I feel cheated with this one. This book contained no real "story" just a bunch of plot points for the future books. Slow start, no dialog with supporting characters a terrible ending sealed it's fate.Even the cover was ...
Disappointed!!! Loved the first book but I feel cheated with this one. This book contained no real "story" just a bunch of plot points for the future books. Slow start, no dialog with supporting characters a terrible ending sealed it's fate.Even the cover was a let down. I won't be looking for future books in this series. If i could get my money back i would

posted by regencyreaderCA on March 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley.)
    This is book 2 in the ‘Shades of London’ series, and picks up a couple of months after the end of book 1.
    **Warning – some unavoidable spoilers for book 1 ‘The Name of The Star’**
    Following Rory’s encounter with the ‘Jack the Ripper’ copycat in book 1, she’s been recovering at her parents rented home in Bristol, and seeing a therapist 3 times a week, even though she can’t tell her therapist what really happened in London.

    Rory’s discovery that she seems to now be a human Terminus means that she knows she has to go back to London though, and she has to try and find Stephen, Boo and Callum and explain to them what has happened.

    Finding herself sent back to ‘Wexford’ Boarding School in London, Rory finds herself concentrating less on her studies, and more on finding the spook squad, and busting some more murderous ghosts. How long can Rory continue neglecting her studies though? Can Charlotte’s strange therapist help her too? How long can the ghost busters continue without a working Terminus? And how does Rory feel about her possible future as part of their squad?


    This was a great sequel to ‘The Name of The Star’, I loved Rory, I loved the atmospheric nature of the story, and the ending was so sad it made me cry!

    Rory is quite damaged by her previous experiences in London, and it’s taking her a while to work through things, especially seeing as she now has no one that she can confide in. She knows that she needs to go back to London, but it’s more because she needs people she can talk to, rather than wanting to go back to school. It’s really easy to relate to Rory in this respect, because she really is doing her best to recover from her trauma, and she seems to know better than anyone what she needs, even if it’s not what everyone else thinks that she needs.

    It was good to go back to Wexford and catch up with all of Rory’s old friends though, especially when she managed to get back in contact with Stephen, Boo, and Callum. It was obvious how much they all needed each other, and even though Rory wasn’t ready to jump straight back into the job, she was able to focus on important things, and help when she was really needed. She even put extra effort into trying to solve a murder which wasn’t necessarily unsolved, and kept an eye out for things resembling what happened during her own attack.

    There was a small hint of romance in this book, but it was very, very slight. The main storyline was concerned with Rory’s recovery, and the new ghostly murders happening in London, and it flowed really well. I liked how it wasn’t the same storyline rehashed, and I liked how all the characters had been changed by what had happened in book 1.
    The ending to this book was a big shock though! Something totally unexpected and sad and shocking happened which I really wasn’t expecting, and it even made me cry! It’s obvious that there will be another book after this one, but how Rory will recover from this newest tragedy remains to be seem, I can only assume that she will be even more damaged in the next book than she was in this one which is really sad. I really want to read the next book now though!
    Overall; a great ghostly/paranormal YA murder mystery.
    8 out of 10.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    This book was absolutely maddening. I really enjoyed how great t

    This book was absolutely maddening. I really enjoyed how great the first book was, it was an original idea, and put a totally new twist on ghosts. I had to wait to actually write this review because I was super frustrated by the ending, and that severely tainted my view of the book.

    I really enjoyed getting back into Rory's world. One of the things that I loved about the first book was the totally unique set of characters and how they all interacted. I loved Stephen and Callum and Boo and Jazza, all the crazy named people that wandered in and out of Rory's life. I was glad that she was able to return and call back into the swing of things with everyone including back in with the Shades.

    Its actually been very hard for me to write this review. I read it back in February and was so angry when I finished it that I really needed to sit with it and think on how it made me feel, and now that time has indeed passed, I find that I still really enjoyed the book and I am looking forward to the third book in the series. This one had so many great twists and turns and even the new story line of the ghosts made it worth while.

    I did feel that the big bad in this particular book was a little too easy to pin point. It was obvious from the introduction that this character was up to no good and that added somewhat to my frustration at this book when I finished it, but I have to hand it to Johnson, she isn't catering to what her readers will what to read, she is writing for her characters even if it leads to things that they do not want to happen. Like Boo getting thrown in front of a car in the first book.

    Either way, I am eagerly awaiting the third book and cannot wait to get my hands on such a delicious book once again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    I love The Name of the Star. Maureen knows how to keep her audie

    I love The Name of the Star. Maureen knows how to keep her audience entranced and on the edge of their seats. Girl kept it up with The Madness Underneath, the only difference being that I wasn't freaking out until the last few chapters of this novel.




    The Madness Underneath has a slower plot than The Name of the Star, but it is no less engaging. With The Madness Underneath Rory is dealing with aftermath of being stabbed and almost killed by the Ripper. I got the feeling through her narrative, that Rory is (more or less) essentially mentally and physically able to handle the situation. One of the scenes I really enjoyed is when Jazza goes into the bathroom with Rory where it all happened and Rory states it's "just a bathroom." This scene alone speaks to the strength and courage of her character, that she is able to walk into the bathroom where she almost died and not be deeply affect.




    However, despite her desire to return to the pre-Ripper time in her life, Rory's school work is suffering. She had not kept up on assignments during the month she was gone, is unable to catch up, and must continue to lie to those she cares about. Unlike its predecessor, here we are dealing more with Rory's personal struggles more so than with a murdering ghost.




    I enjoy this look into Rory's personal struggle. Not that I'm glad she's struggling, but we get to know her more on a personal level. When she realizes that perhaps Wexford isn't the place for her, she has a hard time accepting that and becomes desperate to find somewhere she does belong. 




    It it not until the later half of The Madness Underneath that we truly get into the nitty gritty of the mystery at hand and we're back to the familiar suspense found in The Name of the Star. It was at this point that I found the novel impossible to put down. I'm talking, I was reading it while cooking dinner and, since it'd be rude to read during dinner, stared at it until everything was cleaned up and I could once again pick it up.




    As it stands, I should've listened to everybody who reviewed this novel and waited until we were closer to The Shadow Cabinet's release date. The ending - OMG! That is one of the best, or worst depending on how you look at it, cliffhangers I have ever read. I'm at a loss for words on how to respond to the ending.




    The Madess Underneath is a great follow up to The Name of the Star. Rory has become a favorite character of mine and Maureen is a wonderful author. She knows how to weave stories to keep you guessing, shocked, thrilled, and in the end, utterly destroyed. That last bit sounds like a bad thing, but it's not. I cannot wait to see how she concludes this wonderful trilogy and I cross my fingers that the release date isn't pushed back again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Spoiler

    WHY? WHY STEPHEN? HE WAS MY FAVIROTE AND SI SHE HAS TO KILL HIM? MUST HAVE BOOK 3!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    A cliff hanger!

    I can't wait to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    In The Madness Underneath, the second Shades of London installme

    In The Madness Underneath, the second Shades of London installment, the reader finds Rory in Bristol with her parents still recovering from the vicious attack which almost left her dead at the end of The Name of the Star. However,Rory now discovers she has been left with new powers, and when it is suggested she return to Wexford she agrees, unaware that Stephen, Callum and Boo need her help.
    I found The Madness Underneath slower than The Name of the Star as I felt Maureen Johnson develops her characters, particularly those of Stephen and Rory, and obviously the plot line is less gritty, though still shocking.
    Although the first book was about Jack the Ripper I felt this story was darker because of the intent of the group involved and Maureen Johnson has now left Rory in a difficult position at the book's end, so I very much look forward to reading Shades of London #3.
    This is a book for anyone who has read The Name of the Star!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Overall a great book!

    Amazing book! Story was a but weaker than the first book but it was still very good. Leads you on to the next book and makes you willing to wait! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1