BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Maelstrom (The Tapestry Series #4)

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    It seems a long time since Max McDaniels stood before an ancien

    It seems a long time since Max McDaniels stood before an ancient tapestry in a Chicago museum and was led into the world of Rowan Academy. The Maelstrom, the fourth and best volume in the addictive series that author Henry Neff has written and brilliantly illustrated, depicts a world at war with the future of humanity at stake. Max is a warrior with the forces of good, but one of the best things about the book is how the lines between good and evil blur. Max can never be sure whom to trust. In a society where humans live with ogres, vyes, wizards, and demons created out of the magical imagination of the author, we learn how treacherous the world of international intrigue is. The Maelstrom brings no final resolution to the struggles of those who live in Rowan, but it provides one of the most exciting depictions of a battle scene that a reader can find in any recent work of fiction. War is really hell, but sometimes there is no choice but to fight. At bottom, The Maelstrom is a moral tale and a highly instructive one. Larry Moore, Ithaca New York

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Wow!!!!

    This might be his best book yet! And after "The Fiend and the Forge", that's pretty hard to do. Max goes on another exciting adventure, and barely live through it. And I can barely believe what happens to Cooper! Henry H. Neff never ceases to amaze me. I can't wait for "The Red Winter" to come out next!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    The tapestry series are awesome!

    Thumbs up! I reccommend this for everyone 9+.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    As an avid fan of The Tapestry series, I eagerly awaited the arr

    As an avid fan of The Tapestry series, I eagerly awaited the arrival of The Maelstrom. It was more than I even hoped for! In this fourth installment, the series moves into epic territory. Some of my favorite elements: After being on separate adventures in The Fiend and the Forge, the duo are reunited. And, truly, it feels so good! I really enjoyed seeing them rekindle their friendship and spur each other on in matters from mystic and demonic to romantic and even silly. Yes, The Maelstrom covers some serious territory as Rowan races the clock in preparation for war with Prusias. But once again, Neff does an excellent job of peppering humor throughout--there are plenty of laugh-out-loud moments for comic relief (many thanks to Toby the Smee, an absolutely genius character). We also get reacquainted with the old gang: Cynthia, Lucia, Sarah, Yaya, Tweedy...even a cameo by an under-the-weather Kettlemouth! Along with old favorites, we learn more about newer characters like Elias Bram and little Mina, the mysterious girl Max saved from the farmhouse in Blys...and a mystic to rival David. Another welcome addition is Umbra, a refugee who seems to be as fierce as Max himself. And Nox, about whom I will say no more, but whose appearance may bring a tear your your eye and a smile to your heart. Incredible new creatures, creepy new demons, revealing backstories and sparks of young love. There is so much to enjoy throughout this book, and it all builds to a truly EPIC battle that will have you on the edge of your seat! With The Maelstrom, Neff is certainly hitting his stride as a writer and storyteller. I can't wait to see how he brings it all to a close in The Red Winter!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Harry Potter

    Series is just like harry potter but still awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    To below

    You probably know this already, but you can pre-order it, and it comes out this Novemer. If that was helpful, then cool! If you already knew that, then that's good for you too ^^ P.s. Do you read Skulduggery Pleasant? -RaisingCain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    The Tapestry: The Red Winter

    I have looked in the shop for the next book, but it's not there. I just found the name of it (The Red Winter). It says: coming Fall 2013. Well, it's March 2014, and there's no sign of the next book. Why??? And when WILL it come out, anyway??? If you provide an answer, I would be most grateful. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    J girl

    This is the best series I have ever read. And I have 400 plus books on my nook, and I am only 12. I've read books with more than a thousand pages. And this is one of the best books I jave ever read. It is a well thought out plot and if I could give it more stars, I would. Read the first book and then you'll be hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    N

    Ummmmm whens the next book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Avery, age 9, for City Book Review This book is abou

    Reviewed by Avery, age 9, for City Book Review
    This book is about the demons Astaroth and Prusias, who are fighting for power and the world is in danger. It is up to Max and David to work together with their magic to stop the dangerous war machine that Prusias intends to use to overthrow Astarath. To top it all off, Max has been marked for death!
    “Let’s paint it red, Lady Fortune!”
    I have already put the first three books on my wish list, because I liked this book so much. I have never read anything like it, and it really makes it a special book as it is so different. One of the nice things that were added was the artwork on the chapter pages and the “hand written” letters throughout the book, though some of it was hard to read since the font was smaller than the regular story. I would say if you liked Harry Potter, you will love The Maelstrom.
    *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review*
    *You can view the original review at City Book Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Fuck yay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Yay

    I love this series. Omg love beverly hills nannies so funny

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2