Customer Reviews for

The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old Fashioned Recipes From New Yorks Sweetest Bakery

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Tasty treats

    I have baked about 5 or more cakes using the recipes and most of them came out really tasty. Some better the 2nd time around. The blueberry muffin recipe was tastless to me, I've tried other recipes & had better results, a lot better. The Vanilla Cake has become very popular among my family & friends. It's my daughter's fav, I love the Chocolate Buttermilk recipe w/Chocolate Buttercream! The recipes are simple & easy to follow steps. I've been baking for years & refer to this book, regularly. The only ingredient that was almost impossible to find(they use it often)the Vanilla Chips, I tried many, many websites. I just used a substitute. Also, they use lots of sugar so dieters beware!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    wannabe baker

    My daughters birthday was around the corner and I wanted to bake her cake so I was looking around for a bakers book. I read some of the reviews and decided on this book and boy was it a great buy. I haven't stopped baking. The recipes are easy to follow and the results are fabulous.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    Great Cakes

    I have had this cookbook for a few years now, and love the cake recipes I have tried.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    You'll LOVE this cookbook

    This book was recently given to me as a birthday present and already it has become a favorite cookbook. The cakes taste gourmet but are easy to make.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    A Must Buy!

    I bought this book based on the positive reviews from other customers. What a find! The recipies are so simple yet so sophisticated that I cannot wait to make each and everything in the book. It has quickly become my favorite book. If you are looking for a great book to learn how to bake or if you are looking for something to add to you collection, this book is it! I can't wait to start baking these recipies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Best Cakes EVER

    Even though I LOVE to bake, I don't have much experience. But every single time I back the Traditional Vanilla Birthday with Buttercream Icing people tell me I should sell them. It's THAT good. And super-easy too. I refuse to tell anyone my 'secret recipe' and when my mom (who collects cookbooks) came to visit I hid the book so she couldn't copy it down! It's the only thing I've made in the book but even just for that one recipe the book is definitely a must-buy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    Wonderful find!

    Made the Devils food cake and chocolate buttercream frosting. Delightfully good! Have 30 cookbooks and this is one of my all time favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    It will be the Hit of your Event

    It is true, this cookbook is fantastic. I made the Hummingbird Cake for my mother's bday and everyone flipped their wig! I have made four other recipes since then and they were all hits. This is my new favorite cookbook to give brides and fellow bakers. Buy it! It is outstanding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Magnolia Vs. Buttercup

    Most cake-loving New Yorkers know that Jennifer Appell co-founded Magnolia then left to found Buttercup Bake Shop, but beware. As is usually the case, the sequel never matches the caliber of the original. The Magnolia bakery and cookbook are true delights to any sweets lovers! Buttercup, on the other hand, features dry cakes with mounds of crusty icing, and the recipe book is filled with some real head scratchers (12 tbsp. of Crisco to top a coffee cake? Trust me, it's terrible!)If you can't decide between the Magnolia or Buttercup cookbooks, go for the original Magnolia recipes! I promise you won't be disappointed!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Perfect gift!

    I gave this to my friend's mom and she loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    A must buy!!

    I liked the simplicity of the recipes both in ingredients and procedure. I purchased it two weeks ago and have already tried four recipes with wonderful results. The Chocolate Chip Cookies are excellent and worked well with some of my substitutions. The Lemon Cake with Lemon Buttercream and Lemon Curd Filling is a lemon-lover's delight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    Remember what it was like to lick the frosting out of the bowl?

    Having just recently stumbled upon The Magnolia Bakery in New York City just last week, I was THRILLED to see that the owners had put out a cookbook. Simplicity is the key word, here. It is rare that a place can make you feel so happily 5 years old, again, and a blessing that a cookbook has been put out to share these simple, utterly wonderful concoctions. The price of the book is worth the recipe for buttercream frosting in and of itself ..... BUY IT !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    WOW!! What a book!!

    I only wish there were a higher rating than 5 stars as this book deserves it. The recipes are easy to follow with wonderful results. The Chocolate Layer Cake is fantastic. I might just have to make a special trip to New York to visit 'New York's Sweetest Bakery.' If the book is any preview of the bakery, then this place deserves a place in the bakery hall of fame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2