Customer Reviews for

The Maid's Version: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

Like The Dollmaker & Hunter's Horn, this is dark & thought provoking story. If you want use your brain and read some beautifully written pages this is a must read. If a beach book is your speed, be warned this is not a light -hearted tale. & like this story, the trut...
Like The Dollmaker & Hunter's Horn, this is dark & thought provoking story. If you want use your brain and read some beautifully written pages this is a must read. If a beach book is your speed, be warned this is not a light -hearted tale. & like this story, the truth is always somewhere in the middle. All of our histories are littered with the pain of the broken who have walked before.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

164 pages for Nook book @ $11.04? I don't think so. But the st

164 pages for Nook book @ $11.04? I don't think so. But the story sounds like a good one.

posted by 2975832 on September 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Loved it

    Like The Dollmaker & Hunter's Horn, this is dark & thought provoking story. If you want use your brain and read some beautifully written pages this is a must read. If a beach book is your speed, be warned this is not a light -hearted tale. & like this story, the truth is always somewhere in the middle. All of our histories are littered with the pain of the broken who have walked before.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    This had to be the biggest waste of money!! When I read the sum

    This had to be the biggest waste of money!! When I read the summary I thought it was going to be a great read...however I found the story totally disjointed - I couldn't follow it at all - and quit only 1/4 of the way through. I was totally disappointed in this book - DO NOT BOTHER!!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    164 pages for Nook book @ $11.04? I don't think so. But the st

    164 pages for Nook book @ $11.04? I don't think so. But the story sounds like a good one.

    3 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    This is a wonderful book by the author of Winter's Bone. It's b

    This is a wonderful book by the author of Winter's Bone. It's beautifully written -- which means that, if all you want is a fast-paced popular shoot-em-up that mirrors the junk Hollywood slings at us in the summer, it is NOT for you. This is literature, people, not drivel. However, if you'd like to read a book for grown-ups about complicated, hurt, desperate, and real people written in earthy, beautiful prose that actually asks you to use your brain, you'll love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    very poor writing!

    very poor writing!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Loved it

    The unpredictability of the timeline and who was telling the story is what kept me interested. The mystery of "who done it" comes together quite nicely at the end. For those who gave up on it, I encourage you to jump back in and give it another try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Too chaotic.

    This story is incredibly hard to follow. The author jumps from character to character as well as timeline to timeline without a lot of clarification. I found it very hard to follow.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    Short but interesting read.  The story of obsessive love gone te

    Short but interesting read.  The story of obsessive love gone terribly wrong.  Interesting time period and it is a story of poverty.  Highly recommended.  Other great authors of this time period - just prior and during WW Two are:  Judith Lennox, William Jarvis, Barbara Mayhew, Duncan Barrett,  Melynda Jarrett, Soraya Lane, Iris Jones Simantel, Pamela Winfield, Eileen Townsend, and Anne DeCourcy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    Woodrell has several much better novels--pick them up instead.

    Woodrell has several much better novels--pick them up instead.

    Ever since I read The Death of Sweet Mister, a novel by Daniel Woodrell, I have been hooked on his work, his interesting style of writing and the poor Ozark mountain settings, and his sometimes disturbing story lines. This is the fourth or fifth of his novels that I read, and the only one I didn't much care for. Too many characters and people to keep track of and the person responsible at the end for the tragedy is just who you are led all along to think it was. Daniel Woodrell is a superb writer; but this is not his best work. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    F

    I will admit he is a good writer but this story is so disjointed. It jumps around and it is difficult to follow at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    This tightly woven tale provides background information in the f

    This tightly woven tale provides background information in the form of vignettes of different townspeople in rural Ozarks. It is succinctly put together but delineates each person and potential perpetrators of the crime which devastated the town. Well thought out characters, stories and conclusion in a few pages. Although short, not a beach read, but a book to savor and ponder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Not sure

    Actually, I could not finish this book. For me, it was hard to follow and I finally decided to just give up. It must be me, because many of the reviews I read were strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Extraordinary.

    Extraordinary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Don't Bother

    This book did not engage. It was too choppy. Would not recommended it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    I was very disappointed in this book.  It took me some time to f

    I was very disappointed in this book.  It took me some time to figure out who was telling this story.  The timeline went back and forth from 1929 to 1963 and hard to tell what was going on and when.  I could have read the first few chapters and skipped to the last and it would have made just as much sense. 

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2