Customer Reviews for

The Man Who Saved the Union: Ulysses Grant in War and Peace

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    one of the fines book on grant i ever read. great job mr.brands

    one of the fines book on grant i ever read. great job mr.brands

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Excellant bio

    Brilliantly written bio of a great man, great General, and great President. This book sets the record straight about this civil rights defender and humanitarian whose record has been unfairly tarnished for too long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Great Book! Mr. H.W. Brands created an except

    Great Book!
    Mr. H.W. Brands created an exceptional book by effectively revealing the true character and greatness of General, and later, President Ulysses S. Grant. This book provides a very insightful glimpse into how overwhelming the struggles were before, during and after the Civil War. The country went through an incredible period of testing and the times required men of character—Mr. Brands clearly presents Ulysses S. Grant as a man of great character who was capeable of facing great challenges. Those challenges included such things as planning and fighting military battles during the Civil War and a myriad of difficulties with communication, logistics, treatment of large numbers of injured soldiers and the sobering reality of war given the casualties suffered. General Grant was shown to be a highly effective leader as well as a compassionate conqueror by the way he treated General Robert E. Lee and the surrendering Confederate forces. His character again shined brightly in the days of uncertainty following the assassination of President Lincoln and his willingness to serve as President if the country so desired, to help heal and solidify the Union. The book also provides in-depth information about his years as President and a balance as it speaks to the scandals which caused some people to doubt his character.
    Following his Presidency, he and his wife Julia, were able to travel the world. He expressed his great love of country when he offered words of wisdom following those travels by stating the following; “We have seen the capitals and most of the principal towns, and the people of every country. I have not seen any to be jealous of. The fact is we are the most progressive, freest, and richest people on Earth, but don’t know it or appreciate it. Foreigners see this much plainer than we do.” His words almost seem prophetic as some believe this could be presented as an observation of our current day.

    As any man, President Ulysses S. Grant had flaws, but he demonstrated greatness in many areas when it was most needed. A good example of this was in the last days of his life, when he worked feverishly to finish his memoirs while dying of cancer in the hopes of leaving a very needed financial legacy for his wife Julia. For those who enjoy history, great biographies, or just gaining greater insight regarding the challenges of life, this is truly a book worth your time!!



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Probably the best book on US Grant

    Extremely readable and well research, this excellent book covers Grant's amazing roller coaster life. Grant saved the Union in war and then again during reconstructipn. His fight for civil rights is too often forgotten or minimized. In the end the writer proves that Grant was one the most important leaders of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    5 Stars

    This work by H W Brands is right up there in factual and anecdotal content with Team of Rivals. I always knew that Grant was a truly steadying force within his sphere of influence, but had no idea that he carried such sway in, not only, the Civil War, but in the subsequent political arena in which he was thrust. His ability to execute the office of the Executive Branch of our gov't in such an even handed manner facilitated the healing of a battered and divided country. His vision to enhance and foster reconstruction is nothing short of fascinating. Grant was a man of inarguable greatness and accomplishment, yet cloaked in the humility of a common man. I had to make a conscious effort to put this book down as I do have responsibilities in life to tend to. U.S. Grant is the most underappreciated man of significance in our nation's history. My highest recommendation goes to this fine read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Very Informative

    I learned so much about Grant in this book. It was so well written -- like reading a novel. The only things I knew about Grant before were that he helped win the Civil War and he was the President. I did not realize the struggle there was in the country after the war to keep the gains achieved in the war. Grant was a real hero. He sacrificed so much for this country.

    Thank you, Mr. Brands for such a wonderful book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    The Best

    this is a well written book, well researched and you become Grant. Congrats

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Totaly pacted with facts about his Presidency & the War

    This book is very well written and full of info about the Cival War, his Presidentcy and need to fulfill Lincoln's wishes for Reconstruction. His need to serve his Country in anyway he could. How unselfish he gave and his honesty. His personal life and the man he was. How lucky we were to have had a man give so much to his country and not ask what do I get. About having integrity and doing what is right. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1