Customer Reviews for

The Man Without a Face: The Unlikely Rise of Vladimir Putin

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

This book does not appear to be objective or even try to be. Nonetheless it paints such a picture that if even halfway true it is alarming that such a man a such a system could be in charge of on of the most powerful countries in the world.

The book similarly make...
This book does not appear to be objective or even try to be. Nonetheless it paints such a picture that if even halfway true it is alarming that such a man a such a system could be in charge of on of the most powerful countries in the world.

The book similarly makes one think twice about how easy or difficult change and particularly political change can be.

The author was very brave to write this book given the description she gives. Maybe the notoriety she gets from this book will save her life.

posted by PeterRoeper on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dont Don't waste your time or $$$

Author clearly has an agenda. This should not be considered a bio of Putin. There are snippets of info about him amongst the author's lengthy diatribes but I could not even finish the read

posted by Anonymous on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Recommended

    This book does not appear to be objective or even try to be. Nonetheless it paints such a picture that if even halfway true it is alarming that such a man a such a system could be in charge of on of the most powerful countries in the world.

    The book similarly makes one think twice about how easy or difficult change and particularly political change can be.

    The author was very brave to write this book given the description she gives. Maybe the notoriety she gets from this book will save her life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Dont Don't waste your time or $$$

    Author clearly has an agenda. This should not be considered a bio of Putin. There are snippets of info about him amongst the author's lengthy diatribes but I could not even finish the read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    The Man Without a Face: The Unlikely Rise of Vladimir Putin by M

    The Man Without a Face: The Unlikely Rise of Vladimir Putin by Masha Gessen provides a look into the past of one of Russia’s most ruthless and powerful leaders. She sheds light on the circumstances surrounding the way in which he gained power, and even gives insight into Putin’s personality and life before he was in the spotlight. She is successful in humanizing him in a way that has never been attempted before, but that is completely appropriate considering the events occurring when this book was published. It was published in early 2012, right around the time that the Russian revolts were gaining momentum, and this book only added fire to the uprisings. Gessen’s writing is fluid and accessible, and her in depth research is exceedingly evident throughout the text. It was a reasonably fast read, considering the subject matter, and I would highly recommend picking it up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Putin is Corrput

    Who ever left the previous comment below stating "Putin is Love" is clearly drinking the Russian Koolaid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Truth about Russia

    It is a truthful account of the rise of Putin and of what happened since the breakdown of Soviet Union, quite exciting but at the same time, chilling story. With today's news of court verdict sentencing three young women for singing anti-Putin song to a lengthy prison term, quite believable.
    The author's narrative is easy to read and she has done thorough research on the subject.
    Surely, people who consider themselves pro-soviet or who are against democracy, would not enjoy.
    For others, hope will bring changes to Russia.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    RESPONCE TO RECOMMENDED 4/0/2012

    Every one is entitled to THERE OWN OPINION(at least for now that is)so agree or disagree, I'm not conserned about that.What I am conserned about is what"RECOMMENED"-one below4/01/2012(I corrected my mistake for the 01at the beginning)had commented on at the end of her review.The author is VERY COURAGEOUS for even publishing this book.I wonder how many people don't know how much danger they put themselves and their families,friends etc.in.Why do they take that sort of risk you might ask.To keep US informed on what is actually happening in this crazy mixed up world in hopes that we would all stand together and fight to get our nation,the good U.S.of A.back!!!THERE IS POWER IN NUMBERS folks!!The goverment has taken SO much away from us,we all know by now just how corrupt they are and very few could really give a damn.It feels like our spirits have been broken.At least that's how I feel.It's like we've become"detatched"from what really matters.Also we've let Obama get by with EVERYTHING!!(Heres where my spelling goes to pot,just so you get it is what matters)Bengazi,I.R.S.,Petraes,holding out for that one vote to change for hours and hours from the Supreme Court Justice to pass Obama Care,releasing five of the most ruthles members of the Talaban from Guantalamo Bay,making Snowden out to be such a God awful traitor but only what I would call a hero for exsposing the corruption of OUR government which we should be privey to,the real reasons for FAST AND FURIOUS and the innocent lives that came out of it etc.etc.All of these isuss that were run into the ground until the people,like it was planned,grew tired of hearing it-so what did we do?We became DETACHED!!! I swear when I started I never dreamed I would get into all of this.l just wanted to state that Obama makes Putin look like MR.ROGERS!!!OBAMA NEEDS TO BE IMPEACHED PEOPLE!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    ?

    Does putin hate america? I fear hes going to ty to be lik hitler. He just looks evil like look at his face does he smile a all ugh i hate him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    The book was interesting, but the deal breaker for the audiobook

    The book was interesting, but the deal breaker for the audiobook was the reader. I had to stop early because I couldn't stand it. She sounds like someone had told her, "OK, squint a little, turn your head so you can look straight out of the corners of your eyes, and sound like you're reading something filled with intrigue." Her Russian accent, used when reading quotes, is even worse. Skip the audiobook; buy the book instead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Not good

    Putin is love

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1