Customer Reviews for

The Man in the Cinder Clouds

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Sweet book

    This book was enjoyable read, it brought some magic of the Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Bring the Magic You Remember to your Kids this Christmas

    Just in time for the Christmas season, a fabulous re-imagining of the origins of Santa Claus. Kids will love it, and adults will enjoy reading it to them. Even though the language in The Man in the Cinder Clouds is simple enough for young readers, it almost feels like one of those stories that must be read out loud. For this forty-something father, it brought back the magic I remember as a child when I watched the Christmas specials on TV, except this story seemed more "real". I definitely think it could be a new classic, allowing modern kids to feel the same sense of wonder we all felt when we were young. If you have young kids, all the way up to fifth grade or so, this is a story you must have before the holiday season rolls around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    A Great Read

    A fun and unique take the origins of Santa. One to share with your kids, grandkids or anyone young at heart regardless of their age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fresh Take on Santa

    If middle grade e-books are the next big thing, Rick Daley is right on time.

    The Man in the Cinder Clouds, Rick Daley's delightful Christmas Tale, is a story within a story within a story. I love how Rick weaves these three plots together, each dependent on the other, nested like Christmas Dolls.

    In the first, we follow Jason to the North Pole where his father's scientific team is drilling for ice cores (go science! Points for arctic coolness here). Instead they find a magical book that tells the second tale, of one Kris Kringle before he was the chief bringer of gifts. Kris' search to find his true family and proof of human virtue leads us to the third tale, the story of Aaron and Alice, two orphaned children struggling to survive in a long-ago time when life wasn't easy for anyone, especially children dependent on nasty uncles trying to rob them of their inheritance. The three stories twist and turn together, bringing modern and ancient adventures together with a splash of magic and the wonder of Christmas in this completely fresh take on the story of Santa Claus.

    There is some peril of main characters in the book, so I wouldn't recommend The Man in the Cinder Clouds for the very young, but it makes a great Christmas read for readers age 7+.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    The Man In The Cinder Clouds

    This is a story within a story; Ten year old Jason has accompanied his father to the North Pole to collect ice core samples, where the excavation team rescues a magical book that is thousands of years old. The book, narrated by an unknown omniscient author, tells the story of the half-elf Kris Kringle, and his mission to prove to the Elf Elders of the Great Woodland Glen that human virtue does exist.

    The quest leads Kris and a band of loyal elves to the Great Northern Glen, near the human village of Oldenton, the only place Kris has been authorized to make limited human contact. If he fails in his mission or breaks any of the multitude of rules, Kris and all the elves that traveled with him will be banished forever, not just from their home in Woodland Glen, but from all Elven Glens.

    I read each chapter anxiously waiting how author Rick Daley would integrate all the elements that make up the well known Santa Claus myth. Through a blend of magic, coincidence, innate abilities, hard work, and dedication to a dream, The Man In The Cinder Clouds fulfills his destiny as the most loved Christmas character in history.

    Kris is a jolly, good natured character, even before his hair turned white and his middle became as round as a fat-bottomed faerie. The orphan children he rescues, 16 year old Aaron and his eight year old sister Alice, are heartwarming, unselfish, engaging personalities. And while the story premise itself is not original, Rick's version of the origins of Santa Claus and the adventure of the first Christmas Kris Kringle officiated is uniquely portrayed.

    A final appealing aspect of this story is the subtle moral imperative to children that doing the right thing is its own reward. Man In The Cinder Clouds is a highly entertaining, middle grade chapter book that also encourages children to be aware of others around them. The final lesson is expertly drawn by bringing the story back to the present, and the decision that Jason alone must act upon.

    This is a story I can feel good about reading to my grandchildren, and I'm sure my own adult daughter will find it as entertaining and charming to read with her young ones as I did.

    Well done debut author Rick Daley.

    .......dhole

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1